We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay a few days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
wyoming
1 review
“Great place to stay a few days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

This was a really nice place to stay, just off the strip, with family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    972
    222
    79
    68
See reviews for
1,136
1,122
130
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We booked into the Desert Rose for 4 nights from 18 April 2009 based on its reviews, proximity to the strip, kitchen and price. We were advised upon arrival at 9.40pm (I had emailed twice in advance advising of this) that the hotel had had a major plumbing problem that morning and many rooms were out of service and we would have to go to the Bluegreen resort ‘just around the corner’ for the night. Interestingly we phoned from LA airport at 6.30pm just before our flight to check someone would be there when we arrived and no one mentioned anything then. Suspecting a rat, but too tired to keep arguing (following a 21 hour flight the day before from our home with a 7 and 9 year old in tow), we hopped in the taxi paid for by the hotel and off it drove and drove and drove. When we asked where we were going the taxi driver (bless this gorgeous man) pointed to some far away lights and indicated that the hotel was about half an hour walk from the strip past a huge and dangerous vacant lot. So he took us back to the Desert Rose. We said we were happy to shift to another hotel but it had to be equal or better (ie with 2 young children strip proximity was paramount). Nup, they couldn’t do it. Their denial of my request to see the rooms with the plumbing problems confirmed what I suspected. After an hour of arguing - they picked the wrong jetlagged woman on the wrong night and I was ready to set up the lobby as our hotel room and put the kids to sleep on the couches – abracadabra there was suddenly a room available. Amazing. So when they try this low life trick on you I hope this story helps. Obviously we looked like total suckers – ie we paid a non-refundable rate in advance and being a busy weekend could there have been better offers on the table? We even handed back the $40 Hooters voucher we were given as I just felt sick looking at it.

My advice to the hotel – lift your game in the choice of front desk managers – I doubt that the guy working on the night of the 18 April was what any hotel would want representing them. You can do far better than this.

The room was nice, but we didn’t use the kitchen as we couldn’t figure out where a grocery store was (we didn’t have a car) and didn’t want to go near the front desk to ask during our stay. Vegas was great and the West Rim was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

If you have a choice, stay at this hotel! The breakfast is fanatasic, the cocktail reception is wonderful, the staff is friendly!!! Hardly spent money on food - just snacks and dinner. Easy access to and from the hotel from the airport - Airport shuttle is only $6 each way (buy both tokens at once - makes it much easier) It's a block away from the strip - MGM is across the street so there's easy access to the monorail. I'm not much of a gambler, so not having a casino at the hotel worked out great from me. You dont have to worry about smelling like smoke all the time and the noise levels are low. The 1-bedroom suite I had was spacious and clean! The private balcony was great too! Full size kitchen with appliances (blender, toaster, full-size microwave, frig & stove). A nice dinner table and chaise lounge. The bed was comfortable and big. The bathroom is a little small, but makes up for it by having a deep tub. I have been telling everyone since I've been back - this is the place to stay! I will never stay at a casino hotel again. The rooms are much cheaper for a better quality room! I have no complaints at all when it comes to the Desert Rose Resort

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently spent a week here. I recommend booking through them directly, as you might get a good deal (I checked other travel sites and felt booking through them was best and ended up paying almost half price for my room thanks to a special).

There is a pool, free continental breakfast, free WiFi and Mon-Fri they have a little get together for guests and invite people to come down for drinks and snacks. I found employees to be helpful, although to help find the place quicker, it's good to note that this place is directly behind Hooters on a side street.

We had a one bedroom with a fully equipped kitchen. How equipped? Go to a store nearby, buy some food and you can make meals right in your room. There's a dining area and living room area. The bedroom was nice with a big comfy bed, and the bathroom was nice too. Everything was wellstocked, clean and it made us feel like we were at home. I would stay here again in a heartbeat next time we take a trip to Las Vegas.

And if you feel like gambling, shopping, eating out, clubbing, etc, you may not be able to do it here but you're close enough to the strip that you only need to go about 5 min to get to all the big casino resorts.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

If you want to stay close to the Vegas Strip but also want a sanctuary away from the noise and madness of the big casino hotels, the Desert Rose is a real find. Just one block away from New York New York it's quiet and peaceful, has large, very clean apartment style suites and a pleasant outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. Friendly staff too. And very god value for money. No restaurant (rooms have kitchens) but continental breakfast included. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodi,ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

A place we have no problem recommending to our friends. All of are needs and desires were meet with a friendly staff waiting to please.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We just retuned from a week long trip to Las Vegas and stayed at the Desert Rose. We are owners of SVC in Barie, Canada, therefore exchnaged our week.
Arrived late at night 11:30pm, but in our rooms by 11:45pm. Complimentary Bfast, Internet, happy hour in the evening are pleasant surprises. Room matched most of the SVC properties we stayed, well appointed. We did not have any problems staying at this resort. Will stay here if we go again to Las Vegas.
Perfect location so close to the strip yet you could have your own peace and quiet if you choose.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.