We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Rose is.....average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elon College, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Desert Rose is.....average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nothing special about this resort. The folks are very friendly, but the accommodations are a bit outdated. At least in the building/units we stayed in (building 3). You see directly through the crack left when our door was closed. I requested one of the renovated rooms but I was told the elevator was broken so they didn't want me to stay there.
Overall, the grounds are nice, pool and hot tub were great and the grill area came in very handy. Just make sure that if you're staying here to get an inside room, even though you lose any sort of view possible, unless you are facing the pool. The noise from the constant police cars and ambulances was unbearable at times. And don't get me started about the tree trimming the resort decided to do.....at 7am!!!!!!!!
Would I stay here again....yes, but I'd be more adamant about which rooms I was placed in. The overall location is VERY convenient, short walk to Strip but be prepared for the 'Vegas smell'.
If I'm rating this resort on a scale of 1-10, where 10 blows your mind....I'd rate DR as 6.5 maybe 7.0. Once all renovations are completed, perhaps this could go up.

Room Tip: Stay away from building 3!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    972
    222
    79
    68
See reviews for
1,136
1,122
130
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here in November through our timeshare with Interval. Not what i expected from a timeshare, and supposedly as owners we had the best room. Just run down, old furniture, clean, but just not what you would expect. I was told at checkout that the whole place is starting renovations in January, so maybe things will improve. a little too far for me from the strip, but quiet if you like that.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked a couple of suites at Desert Rose Resort and I am trying to cancel the reservation 3 months in advance due to a change in plans. They will not allow me to cancel my reservation and made me pay for the hotel upfront. Staff was also very rude on the telephone. I would not recommend this hotel. Very dissatisfied already!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you don't want to stay in one of the busy, bulky, loud casino hotels gut still want to be "on" the Strip, this is the place to be. My wife chose this resort because it offered 2-bedroom suites at a fair price and it was a hit. Located just behind Tropicana and next to MGM, but still nicely away from all the stripnoise. Nice and clean suites with good bed and bathrooms. Full kitchen and spacious enough living for four adults. Balcony available with every suite, for the die-hard smokers. Swimming pool (non heated, so cold), fitness room and more on the resort, but we did not use most of that. We had one of the outside corner suites, ground floor, and could almost park (plenty of parking spaces) on our balcony, which was very convenient at the time, due to health conditions ( which are better now TG). Downside of that suite was the poor WiFi connection, being as far away as possible from the WiFi router. Hence the 4 instead of 5 stars in the rating.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be in such an ideal location from the strip and I am happy to hear you took advantage of that. It sounds like you were comfortable in your room, which is great! It is definitely what we strive for at our resort. Please accept my apologies for the issue you had with WiFi and we have notified our internet carrier to ensure this issue is fixed for out future guests. Thank you and we look forward to having you stay again, in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights here in mid-November 2014. This was our third stay at this place. It is an all suite motel type facility. This was our most disappointing stay. Our second day there we had a major water leak in our bathroom ceiling. We were on the 3rd floor and we were told it was a problem with the sprinkler system and effected several units. We were promptly moved to another room. While relocating was necessary, it's no small task in the midst of your holiday. We had all our belongings and our food to move. They sent up a cart, after we asked, but there was to offer to assist, and the most disappointing part....no apology for this inconvenience....none at all. Our second room had a water leak under the sink from the dishwasher. We informed the front desk staff upon our check out. Again no apology for either of these situations. We were told the facility is moving to a timeshare. Any buyer should beware of the costs owners will incurred to make these repairs/upgrades. This place is just plain tired and in need of some work and not just cosmetic attention. Also this place states itself to be a non-smoking facility. Not so, there were several units with smokers on the balconies. We do not smoke but had to go inside and shut our balcony door because smoke wafted up to our balcony. This was disappointing. When we checked out we were told upgrades would occur over 2015/2016, starting with the lobby. The lobby is not flashy but it's fine, and I would much rather go into a plain lobby, then onto an upgraded room...in that order. Our flight left Friday night and check out time is noon. When we checked in I asked about the possibility of a late check out. They said to call the morning of, which I did only to be told it would cost us the cost of an additional day. I get all these things happen, leaks etc. But what I don't get is how staff in the service industry can lack good service manners. A shame really. The most welcoming conversation I had was with the two different security staff in the parking lot. I don't want to leave the impression this is not a good place to stay, as that is not how we both feel. The suites, while old, were clean and the kitchens well supplied. It's a great location, and good waking distance from the Strip. There is ample free parking if you have a vehicle. The concierge was very welcoming and helpful. You will get housekeeping once per week. Also they were prompt in bringing supplies the two times we needed them. Front desk staff need some "upgrades" along with the building. We both will stay here again and hopefully at at time when upgrades have been made. In the meantime we will be looking for a different, quiet, friendly, non-smoking gem. Any suggestions?

Room Tip: Top floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Housekeeping will occur once per week which is great for the environment.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the perfect place to stay while in Las Vegas. It is a home away from home resort. Complete with all the comforts you deserve while traveling. It is one block from the "Strip". Quiet, family oriented. There are no slots here, no loud noises to keep you from your rest.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They use energy efficient light bulbs, recycles, saves water by recommending reusing towels.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although there are a lot of positives about the Desert Rose Resort, I can't agree that it deserves the high ratings by many of the previous reviewers.

Positives: great location, friendly staff, lots of parking and GREAT beds. The layout of the units was good with 2 full bathrooms and a full kitchen.

Negatives: carpet worn out, poor construction including doors that don't close, really noisy bathroom fans, incredibly loud external gates and noisy hvac system.

Having said that I would stay there again for the positives.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.