We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was an absolute gem of a place to stay. Far enough away from the strip for it to be quiet but close enough to walk to, Rooms were a great size, clean and very well equipped. There was no breakfast facilities on site but you were given coupons for the nearby Coco's. Could not fault this place at all

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the great review, many visitors comment on the convenience of the proximity to the strip. We are glad you enjoyed your room and its equipment. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    972
    221
    79
    68
See reviews for
1,136
1,122
130
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here as part of a package with the Arizona River Runner's Colorado River rapids rafting tour.

The room was spotless and included a well-appointed kitchen with coffee pot, blender, paper towels, dishes, etc.

It's just a short walk to Hooters and the MGM Grand and is convenient to the monorail.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you on future River Trips. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 16 nights all went without a hitch. The rooms were spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although housekeeping isn't daily there are always plenty of staff about so we just put our trash out by the door and it was dealt with immediately. Great location, far enough way from the casinos for a bit of peace but close enough to walk back and forth to the fun. Short walk to MGM Grand and the monorail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the extended stay words of kindness. It is always a pleasure to see our longer duration guests enjoy their stay. We welcome you back as soon as you can, and we will deliver the same hospitality you have come to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Haven, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here, the property was well maintained and manicured. Our room was comfortable and fairly clean. I definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The staff was very helpful and polite too. For those of you that are worried about it not being on the strip, we actually found that to be a big plus. It was not nearly as noisy or crowded. It was only a very short walk to the MGM and you were in the middle of craziness!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put in such a nice review. We love our location being one block from so many big name casino hotels. We are glad to see that you would book here again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked this place last year for our visit to Las Vegas at the end of April 2014.
Having read some very poor reviews in recent months we almost cancelled and it was with some trepidation that we arrived on 30th April 2014 for a 5 night stay.
The room was excellent, very clean and with brand new appliances in the kitchen and it looks as though it has recently been redecorated. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.
The breakfast advertised last year has been deleted from the services and the computer adjacent to the reception area is still not working. That apart we couldn't find any complaint and we had a great stay here.
It was explained that they are about to embark on a 2-year renovation, so that could affect future guests for the duration, but I'm sure it will be worth the wait.
First class!

Room Tip: A room off the ground floor might be better with less A/c noise? We didn't get a choice in any c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We value you as a guest and we appreciate your feedback. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay,what a shame the property is being changed to Timeshare. No breakfast(was available when booked). No daily room servicing anymore. The room we had was a 2 bedroom style apartment & was huge . Very we'll appointed cooking facilities, all cups & plates. Flat screen tv's. Would not hesitate in staying again, just wish it was hotel style. Just a warning, stay clear of concierge trying to upsell timeshare. On a down note lost power during the night of departure & had no emergency lighting in stairwell. Very dangerous. Front desk didn't seem to care.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am very sorry that your experience was not what you anticipated. The dynamic of the lobby is changed due to the renovations scheduled for 2014. We are very excited for the amenities that we will be able to offer once it is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Again wonderful stay at the Desert Rose, reception staff helpful and friendly. This property has recently been taken over by the Wyndam group and in my opinion for the better in some ways, Thomas Cook guests and other guests are now provided with a breakfast box or Coco's vouchers who prebooked the breakfast before the change. Before the breakfast set up was chaotic. The lobby area was cleaner and calmer with the absence of the breakfast and manager's specials. A bottle of wine was presented to us on arrival to replace the manager's specials, with a choice of wine, which was a nice touch. Starbucks coffee and hot water for tea is always available in the lobby. At check in we were told to ask for anything we required, we did so, a simple phone call or a list left at reception we requested extra bed changes, towel changes and toiletry supplies which were left with no problem when we returned to our room. As there is no longer the daily housekeeping service. We were not mithered with time share presentations at all. A special mention to Jason and Arty who made us most welcome. The location for us is excellent, just off the four corners strip, behind Hooters, you can cut through MGM and the Grand Canyon gift shop, which will take you right to the bus stop for the SDX and Deuce buses. The WAX bus stop is on the MGM side opposite Coco's, this will take you to the strip, then onto North Premium outlets, then onto Downtown. We will return again to this hotel.
Just one point for the Desert Rose is that the carpets and some of the furniture needs replacing in the rooms and hallways sooner rather than later. I believe that the rooms are due to be refurbished in 2015. We noticed a greater security presence around the complex and car parks, also exterior paintwork being freshened up, which is always good to see. On the whole a great holiday with Thomas Cooks reps available in the Luxor 6 days a week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for coming back year after year. We are very excited for all of the upgrades taking place at our resort. We value your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.