We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Resort for the 18-20-year-old Traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Summer Sale
Ranked #32 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Resort for the 18-20-year-old Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being under 21 years of age, we were not able to check in to any of the famous casino-hotels on the strip. Luckily, the Desert Rose accepted us. The hotel is not on the strip but it is a short enough walk to still make everything easily accessible. The resort itself is very nice, with one- and two-bedroom suites with full kitchens. Members of the staff were all extremely nice and helpful throughout our stay. We had originally planned to just spend one night,on our way to national parks, but wound up staying two after seeing the room and the city. Admittedly, our room was not ready when we arrived to the resort as housekeeping was running late, but this was resolved within twenty minutes with no hard feelings. The ice machine in our building (one of four) was out of service for the duration of our stay, which was inconvenient but did not put a damper on it.There is a free breakfast in the morning (which we slept through both days) and free soft drinks each weeknight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,923
    1,008
    211
    77
    62
See reviews for
1100
1091
127
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Desert Rose Resort for three days and cannot truly express what a great place this is. We had rented the two bedroom suite and it was plenty large enough for the five of us. They have a nice pool...not large but still adequate for the family (3 kids). Also a real nice excercise room. It had no free weights but had plenty of cardio and pulley based machines. As mentioned they offer free wifi, which was fast enough to play computer games. The breakfast and late afternoon cocktails were a nice plus as well.
We didn't mind, but some other guests complained about the breakfast. Too be honest no one in my family complained. Maybe we were up early (from the cst) and got all the good items....I don't know. As a FYI of what they offered- always had cereal, bread, coffee and juice; rotated-bacon and scrambeled eggs, ham and hard boiled eggs, sausage and waffles. Additionally seating is limited. However as I mentioned we had no gripes about this mainly because we were their shortly after they opened for breakfast.
The location was ok, being close enough to the strip to gamble yet far enough away to not have to always deal with the noise and people. Overall we were very happy with the Desert Rose Resort and would definitely stay here again with the kids.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Strip. It is beside Hooters casino and The new Tropicana. It is also close to MGM Grand, Luxor, Excalibur, and New York2x ( if you are in to walking).
If you are staying in this hotel and wants a pool view room, forget it. This is a family oriented hotel and nothing cool to see in the pool except small kids and fat wives... What i suggest is ask for a room at the back - Hooters pool view or Tropicana pool view! This is were the action is!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is conveniently located just off south Las Vegas blvd (The Strip). We chose this low-rise hotel in order to have some peace and quiet in the evenings. Our overall impression was that it was a clean, friendly and family-type environment. Hotel staff was extremely pleasent, helpful and patient with our different requests. We stayed in a suite (two bedroom apartment) which was clean, well furnished and roomy. The free wifi was excellent. The room was tidy and reasonably roomy. The hotel had many amenities, including a nice pool, fitness room and a concierge service which was excellent. The service provided us with exactly the information we needed to make our stay in Vegas successful. The hotel also offers a welcome reception with free soft drinks, beer, wine and nachos. This was much appreciated after our long drive. If you don't want to stay in one of the big casinos (and don't mind a short walk or drive to The Strip) this place would be an excellent choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Las Vegas is not, repeat not a place for kids. However, if you have to have them with you, the Desert Rose is the best kind of place. No Casino, accessible pool with cookout facilities, and in room fridge for breakfasts at your leisure. Located right behind the tropicana and across the street from the MGM grand, if you want a big dinner or night out you can walk. Then you can walk back and get a good night's sleep with a balcony and some fresh air. Clean, good desk staff and known by tour guides and cab drivers, it's my place of choice from now on.

Room Tip: The two bedroom unit was really two bedrooms, two baths, with a living room, dining area and kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am preparing a tour around California and Nevada for my family. I was in Las Vegas and visited this hotel. It does not have a casino (a relief in Vegas!) and it is very quiet. It is a 10-min walk to Luxor, which at 45ºC might seem like a lot. I checked the rooms and they are absolutely great: clean, comfortable... If you're not looking to stay on one of the famous Strip hotels (which might make sense when travelling with young kids), this is definitely the perfect option. If you really want to see the Vegas from movies and the famous hotels (and if you're only once in Vegas, it's a reasonable option), this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a restful place to stay in an otherwise stressful city. Rooms were perfect and very clean, amenities good. Breakfast is a bit poor and conditions crowded. Also, it is difficult to use the pool for more than 30 minutes, as there is virtually no protection from the sun. Why not place sailcloth over the whole area?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.