We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms/suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Summer Sale
Ranked #32 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great rooms/suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely resort hotel just off the Strip. Great rooms/suites with all you need for self catering. Fully equipped kitchen, large lounge with dining table, full suite and 2 flat screen televisions. Lovely bedroom and bathroom. Nice pool area with plenty of sunbeds and two barbecue areas. Downside was the breakfast which was a bit of a free for all with lots of queuing and limited selection. Staff friendly enough.Quiet. Good parking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,923
    1,008
    211
    77
    62
See reviews for
1100
1091
127
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Chose this resort as we were travelling on business rather than pleasure - it gave the freedom of a hotel but with self catering facilities if needed. Loads of room and excellent facility. Breakfast was free though basic. Hotel resort was not big with a nice swmming pool. Location is excellent right beside MGM and behind Hooters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been a Shell Vacations Club time share owner since 2006, and this was the first time that I was disappointed in a Shell Resort. Upon arrival we stood in line for at least forty five minutes, the clerks were clearly overwhelmed but very helpful. The room decor was uninviting, dark and drab. The furniture was well worn, sinks backed up and microwave turntable glass didn't fit on the mount. and the second night we discovered the Asian Cockroaches! Sitting on our patio the roaches would run across our feet and up our legs. The next morning we found a baby roach in our bed, then another ran under the bed and another my husband stepped on in the kitchen. I left them with the front desk shift supervisor when we left that morning. Worried that we may have hitchhikers in our suitcases and terrified that they would show up in my home...We left our bags in the garage until I vacuumed, sprayed and washed everything, including my car. Desert Rose needs some work immediately.

Room Tip: First floor rooms by exit doors are listening to the doors slamming day & night. Third floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at most of the stip Hotels over the years and this was a nice respite. Check in was fast and friendly, room was spacious, clean and quiet. I was fearful of a second floor unit with someone above but we hardly new anyone was up there. It is a fairly quiet place even though it is located just off the strip behind the Hooters Casino. The pools seems like a nice place to hang out, we did not as it was 102 degrees in the day. The breakfast is OK. Nothing to write home about. You do get Starbucks coffee which is available all day. Even though it was the weekend of the EDC we did not hear any excessive partying going on. Parking was easy no matter what time of the night or day. I would recommend a second floor facing to the interior.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor facing the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Intentionally booked a week's stay in a casino-free hotel. In town for a wedding and sought a family friendly resort. We were not disappointed. Walking distance to the strip. Security personnel visible and observed walking the perimeter of property which borders Hooters. Felt very safe as a mother traveling alone with child. Would recommend to others seeking a quiet hotel in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently spent two nights here because this is where we met our Colorado River rafting group. Rooms are very small and bathroom even smaller. Free breakfast is crowded and hard to find a place to sit. Everything is pretty worn and tired looking. When we returned from rafting trip to pick up stored luggage, the lobby was a zoo with people trying to do the same plus new check ins. They needed more staff for this time of day. Staff is friendly. Spend a bit more and say somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I first stayed here several years ago for a Jimmy Buffett concert at the MGM since the Desert Rose is only a block or so from that part of the Strip (but remember, a Vegas block can be about a mile long). The resort has a little more 'used' look to it than back then, but still is as advertised - a relaxing and refreshing hideaway dramatically different from the crush of people at the Vegas casino hotels. We refer to it as our Desert Oasis, quiet & safe. It has 24 hour reception and security staff. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Desert Rose consists of several buildings with one and two bedroom units,each with a full kitchen, dining area and livingroom. Our condo was clean and comfortable. There's a pool, lawn, free parking, wifi and a laundry. Each morning there's a complimentary continental breakfast buffet from 6 to 9:00AM. Monday through Thursday afternoon there's a complimentary manager’s reception with snacks and beverages (including beer & wine) from 5 to 7PM.

The resort is within walking distance to the strip. There was a bus stop near our building that travels up and down the strip and downtown to Fremont street. You can buy 24 hour $8 ticket and just hop on and off the bus wherever you want. Note - if touring around Fremont street later at night, be sure to board the bus/grab a seat where it originates at the downtown/busbarn stop because it gets very full very fast with tourists all heading back to the Strip hotel/casinos for the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.