We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved this resort! Large and comfortable apartment style accommodations with kitchen. Satisfying warm breakfast included. Coffee and tea available all day long. A block off the strip so easy walking distance, and quieter. The front desk receptionists were extremely helpful and accommodating during our reservation process and our stay. Very reasonably priced. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRYieldManager, Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for posting such a great review on your recent stay with Desert Rose Resort! Our entire team of associates from our housekeepers, food & beverage, to our engineers and front desk associates, strive to provide a great experience for our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again!

Thank you,

Desert Rose Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,819
    973
    222
    79
    68
See reviews for
1,136
1,124
130
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because we had show tix at MGM and didn't want to drive or bother with a cab. It was a very short walk to the Strip and MGM. The room was like a small apartment, including a full kitchen, frige and dishwasher. The carpet was new and very clean. The bedroom had a comfy king bed, flat screen tv and walk in closet. The full bath was immaculate. It would be a great place for a family due to the space, kitchen and easy walking distance to the Strip. The pool looked nice, but we didn't use it, so I can't comment on it. The only drawback was the breakfast served in the main lobby...YUCK!! They did, however, serve great coffee (I think it was Starbucks), so my advice would be get a cup of coffee and go eat somewhere else. We definitly will stay here again if the rates are affordable, I shop rates a lot in Vegas, I like a nice room for a great price and I usually get it. Desert Rose was a winner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Desert Rose Resort always gave you the option to book directly with them however things have changed and now its all done through the central reservations system.Since ths was done rates have gone up.I always got a better deal booking directly with the hotel.They actually brought that to my attension.It appears that their popularity has been seen by the bean counters at Shell Vacations and now they will capitilize on this.This is an example of rates obtained by booking a one bedroom.I challenge you to find such good rates now :



We are pleased to confirm your reservation at Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas. Your suite reservation details are as follows:



Arrival Date:
10-22-12

Departure Date:
10-29-12

Number of Nights:
7

Room Details:

Desert Rose 1 Bedroom

Nightly Room Rate:


51.00 USD

Confirmation Number:xxxxxx

The following daily rate changes apply during your stay:


10-22-12 51.00 USD
10-23-12 51.00 USD
10-24-12 51.00 USD
10-25-12 51.00 USD
10-26-12 92.00 USD
10-27-12 92.00 USD
10-28-12 51.00 USD

If you find that you must cancel, please do so at least 48 hours prior to arrival date to avoid a no-show charge of one night's room rate.

Please note check in time is 4:00pm and check out time is 12:00pm.

As you know Las Vegas offers a large variety of activities including Night Life, Dining, Shows, and Special Events. The hotel offers a full service concierge that will be happy to set up reservations for you prior to your arrival.

The weather in Las Vegas can change quite quickly. To ensure that your stay in our magnificent city is pleasurable you will want to bring comfortable walking shoes and a light sweater for the chilly evenings.

We are looking forward to having you with us.

Enjoy your Vacation,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the building due to the garbage dumpsters being dumped in the morning.Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading all the great reviews for this place I went ahead and booked and we were not disappointed. It was our first time in Las Vegas and we were staying for 3 nights before moving on to San Francisco. 3 of us were in the party including my 76 year old disabled step dad. We arrived after a long flight from the UK at about 8pm after a $15 (10 minutes) taxi ride from the airport and were greeted by a lovely young guy who checked us in with no hassle and gave us all the information we needed. The reception area was gorgeous and immaculate. We went straight to our apartment which was on the ground floor next to the car park. Our apartment was a nice size and had a kitchen area, dining table, living area with sofas and tv, 1 double room, 1 queen room with en-suite, bathroom and balcony. Each bedroom had a massive tv. We went onto the balcony and we could see the top of the Luxor pyramid and the MGM was to the right of us. The first impression you get of the apartment is that this is great and could do with an update but for the price we were paying you can live without flat screen tv's! There was free wi-fi as well. The beds were very comfy and the air-con was great as it was in the 100's outside! Complimentary breakfast is included which is served from 6.30am so you can get an early start in. There were laundry facilites in our apartment block and your washing will dry quickly on the balcony. A small shop was located in reception with milk, bread, cereal, ice lollies, sweets etc. There is a small pool but we didn't use it. What I liked about this hotel the most was the location. It is situated at the bottom of the strip and is away from all the gambling and crowds. A 10 minute walk away is Hooters Casino and restaurant and just across from that is the MGM Grand from where you can catch the monorail if you want to explore the strip. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked this through Interval International. Overall, the stay was good. Just a couple of issues.

1. We were traveling with a 3 1/2 year old.
2. I had broke my ankle, so we couldn't rent a car because I couldn't drive.

A couple of days before we left, I called and just asked if there was plenty to do in Vegas with a 3 year old. I was told, "Sure! Just talk to the concierge and they will have all of that information for you."

So we get there Friday evening and it was late due to the time zone change. We were starving and asked the concierge for a decent restaurant to go to. She said, "You can go to the MGM. There are plenty of places to eat there." It was a few blocks from there, so we set off. My ankle was hurting, so we walked around a bit and ended up going to the Rainforest Cafe. WAY too expensive, but we were starving, so we had dinner and went back to the resort.

The next day, we asked the concierge about how to get to certain areas. Chinatown (just a couple of strip malls with Chinese stores) - "You have to rent a car." Fremont street - "You have to rent a car." Every place we asked, if it wasn't within a couple of blocks, we were told that we had to rent a car. We were also told to not use the monorail because it had such few stops. Maybe it didn't stop everywhere, but it stopped close to where we needed to go, so why tell us not to use it?

After walking around a bit, we found that within walking distance were a plethora of places to eat, shop, etc..., but were never told that.

Every place that we couldn't walk to, we either took a cab, or used the monorail, and it was a heck of a lot cheaper than renting a car. I think they might be getting kickbacks from Dollar Car Rental, because that was their answer to everything.

The concierge was not very knowledgeable at all. I asked about the Mob Museum, and was told, "I've never been there, but I heard it is nice." I thought that a concierge was supposed to have some sort of rudimentary knowledge of the area. After staying there for a week, I seemed to know more about the area than the concierge!

We had our breakfasts delivered to our room every morning, and they were always cold. We just warmed them up on the microwave, so that wasn't a big deal.

It was my first time visiting Vegas, and I came to the conclusion that Vegas is no place for a kid or a cripple. It was very hard getting around not being able to drive with a broken ankle, and not a lot for a toddler to do either.

So, if you are going to be staying at the Desert Rose, make sure you have everythin planned out in advance. Don't expect the concierge to know what or how to do anything.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was recommended to us by friends with small children. It's a great choice if you want to be handy to the Strip but not in a casino hotel. Huge rooms (small apartments would be a more accurate description) which we agree could use an update but you can't beat the value. Great for families because you get a fully equipped kitchen and could save a bundle on restaurants. Easy and safe walk at night to NY NY, Luxor, Exacalibur, MGM. Short drive to Bellagio, Venetian, etc. Search their website for the 55+ rate - it's a good deal!

Room Tip: Pick a lower floor - elevators are slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

As usual our stay was awesone.The hot tub in its bubbling glory is open till 1100 pm so inviting for the weary feet after a long days stroll/Quiet off the strip but do ask for an inside room off the road front.Breakfast is always adequate hot porridge 3 dry cereals to bicuits and cold hard boiled eggs to hot scramled eggs .waffles toast,bacon or sausage some days and unlimited drinks as well.If you want value for your money book black friday awesome specials.will always stay here its a 5 min walk to the strip.If you are busing it the best thing to do is get on the bus for 2.00 for 2 hrs ride straight to the bonnyeville transfer station get off and go in and buy an all inclusive pass for 15 days as its 34.00 and you can explore all of vegas any on strip or off strip bus and go on groupon and have fun at low cost to you.Otherwise they no longer have the week pass as states on some web sites and a 3 day is 20.00..we had 4 days left on ours so we passed them on.Best comfy beds and they are upgrading tvs so maybe some furniture is in the future ?Kitchens are awesome i recommend going to the superwalmart on on russel and eastern a 10.00 cab ride and stocking up on your food liquor etc for your stay as other places arent as clean nor cheap.the newest mall past freemont is better than the old inside on near the airport so must go there.Have fun and stay safe......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.