We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Felt like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms free breakfast and beer in the afternoon full kitchen in the room with pots pans and dinnerware right behind hooters wink wink! I stayed in a 2 bed room 2 bath with a little balcony very nice room

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    999
    240
    80
    71
See reviews for
1,162
1,152
132
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Rose for 3 nights total with our 6 year old. We flew into Vegas stayed 2nights drove to see family for Christmas and spent another night before we flew back home. We had a 1 bedroom suite both times and found everything clean and plenty of space. Beds were comfortable as was the sofa bed! Our first visit we were over by E Reno and we could hear street noise. The second visit we were over towards hooters and while there was less street noise, but I could hear the helicopter tours more. Could hear noise from neighbor's shower but that is all we heard. None of it was so bad to keep us from sleeping. The unit over by E Reno did have a slightly larger living area, flat screen TV (other unit had older style TVs) and the bathtub was deeper - though the rest of the set up was the same. We were happy with both units. Free WiFi worked and is always nice. The breakfast was nothing special and crowded. Not near enough tables in lobby guessing they want guests to take it back to their room. Offered scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, a fruit (bananas one day, apples another) instant oatmeal and drinks. While nothing special, we took advantage of it every morning of our stay. We did the evening reception one night which was a nice little touch and snack - they had taquitos (not really good) and some kind of springrolls and free beer, wine and soft drinks for the kids.

Check in and out was super smooth and fast. All we encountered who worked there were very friendly. Location convenient both for walking and driving. Free parking and always found a spot easily. The hallways to the units are open air, but you have to have a key to get to them so it was secure. We did not use the pool or workout facilities - it was cold while we were there, but we saw people swim in heated pool. The pool area was clean.

We got a great last minute rate. We would definitely stay there again. Its clean, spacious, friendly and a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here over the new year, we arrived early morning (7.30/8.00 am) at check in we were asked if we would like an early check in at a cost of $28 which meant we could drop our luggage and have complimentary breakfast and have an extra day to enjoy Las Vegas,The one bedroom apartment was clean and comfy and had everything you could need, the staff were very pleasant and helpful very good value for money, would defiantly come back.

Crocker family Wales U.K.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family took a trip every year during the holiday season and are very pleased with the stay. All the staffs are very nice, helpful and ready to help us. The hotel is located in a very good location. We can walk out to the Strip without using our car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall the apartment was a great size in a great location and clean. The only issue we had was one morning when they started drilling to put some cables in at about 9am just outside our window. After being out until 4am it felt like they were drilling in my head. We rang the front desk to see if they could come back later. They didn't stop and the workmen started swearing outside our window. Other than that the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis Orchards, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Some of the rooms in the bldgs...must have been renovated. Ours certainly wasn't. Was right on Reno Ave. felt like we were sleeping on the center line. Old furnishings. Certainly ask where your room will be before checking in.

Room Tip: no room facing Reno ave is good..very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here Jan 1-4th. This is a non casino resort, well I wouldn't really call it a resort.
The room was immaculate with a beautiful furnished kitchen and new carpet.
Breakfast was ok, I grabbed some things and brought them up to the suite.
I woud recommend a third floor suite, we could hear footsteps and the shower above us from the second floor.
I was woken up at 5am each morning by housekeeping rolling their carts down the hall. Not alot of noise but enough to wake me. We had a corner room, this may be why. All doors have an outside entry, like a motel.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place if you want to be away from the casinos and the craziness of the strip.
We got a great Black Friday deal. However, I have learned that you can get great last minute deals at a fancy resort if you are willing to risk it and book something last minute. I am a big sissy and afraid I will be left on the street :) with no place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.