We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm set in well tended grounds not far from The Strip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm set in well tended grounds not far from The Strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really had a fantastic stay at this resort which consists of four buildings around a central area which has a pool and two jacuzzis. The entrance to the hotel is a very large open area. It really is an oasis of calm in very well tended gardens only a short walk from the MGM casino and therefore not difficult to walk to The Strip. The reception staff were really very friendly from the moment of our arrival to our departure and nothing was too much trouble. They have been trained extremely well and we felt completely at ease from the moment we arrived. We have to say a very special thank you to the concierge Dainette who is absolutely charming, knowledgeable and helpful. She made our stay very special in what was already an excellent resort. She is a great asset to the hotel. We had what is described as a room but really it was an apartment. Good kitchen area, dining table, sitting area bedroom separate toilet and bathroom. We also had a small balcony where you could sit out if you wanted to. The kitchen was extremely well stocked with all utensils and crockery as well as a large fridge. Even tea towels had been provided as well as a sink cloth. It has been really well thought out. There were towels provided for use at the pool as well as additional towels in the bathroom cupboard as well is the towels in the bathroom itself. The bedroom was large. There were two televisions in the room. Our enthusiastic comments could go on for a very long time. We would certainly advise a stay at this resort. We had a marvellous time. If you are looking for somewhere that is very close to all the casinos and amenities but you do not necessarily want to stay in a casino hotel and would like a little quiet then this hotel is perfect. It was also rather nice that you are invited to join all the other guests for a glass of wine and nibbles in the evening each day which is rather good fun. Breakfast is described as being continental but it goes much further. On every day of our stay there were sausages and scrambled egg as well as pastries etc. Breakfast is very popular so you have to be patient sometimes depending on the hour that you go down, but it is well worth it. Parking is very safe and is distributed around the four apartment buildings so taking your luggage from the car to the lift using your security cards is very easy regardless of where you are located in the resort. This hotel comes highly recommended by us and we cannot speak highly enough of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,880
    1,025
    246
    83
    72
See reviews for
1,177
1,175
133
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We didn't want to stay at a casino hotel so we opted for this property about 2 blocks from the MGM Grand end of the strip. Decent property...quiet and nicely equipped. No flat screen tv but do you really go to Vegas to watch tv? Complimentary continental breakfast was ok...not great, but ok. Eggs, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, etc....but it was free. The best part is the 2 room suite with a full kitchen! Plenty of room to spread out in. Worst part...tiny bathroom area. The area is separated into 2 rooms....one is the very large sink area. One sink with ample counter space but the commode and bathtub are in a very small area. Also, the tub is super tall. If you're short good luck getting into the shower. The shower head in our unit needed upgrading as well...not a lot of pressure and narrow spray. All in all...a decent place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful...would stay here again.

Room Tip: A little tricky to find. Exit Tropicana from I-15 and turn on Koval which turns into Reno and then m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great hotel, very competitive, well placed off the strip but not too far (MGM 3mins away), quiet, secure, and the bonus of a free breakfast, beer and nibbles in the evening and a heated pool and hot tub. The biggest pro are the staff, from reception, through to cleaners and utility everyone made you feel well looked after, fantastic people.

The only con, the rooms are a little dated, but not so as to effect the stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located within walking distance to the Vegas strip, the Desert Rose provides a clean, well serviced and friendly home while vacationing in Las Vegas. A full kitchen allows you to eat in or eat those dinners you couldn't finish at those high end hotel restaurants you inevitably visit. A full breakfast is available every day free of charge to get you energized to do all those things people do in Vegas.
The staff is most friendly and always ready to help. A concierge is in the lobby to help find those special shows or activities. All in all the Desert Rose is a wonderful place to stay in Vegas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

To start off I just want to say the place is fantastic, free breakfast in the morning, free beer and wine on select afternoons, no gambling on site.

We had a couple choices with places to stay thru Interval International and took this one because of the reviews. As I mentioned the place is fantastic except that one needs to either have a car (that would be a headache) or walk / take the bus.

If you are fit the walk is not bad, if you not fit...... It was a 15-20 minute walk each way to catch a bus and that was hard on my wife as we were in Vegas for 5 days and all our shows were on the other end of the Strip.

We will go back but will probably stay off the Strip and stay at a Complex that runs a shuttle.

BTW, the concierge's were fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the Side of the MGM as it is a lot closer to bus stops
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The desert rose hotel was a gem! Rooms are lovely, food is fabulous..breakfast is included. We enjoyed the pool and the strip was a bit of a walk, but do-able. Taxi's arrive pretty quick and our tour bus picked us up at the lobby. We even got to eat breakfsat before we left, since the buffet was open early.

The option belowdoes not permit us to go back before dec 2011, hence the discrepancy in the dates. We visited in May 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bdrm unit. The staff were all very friendly. You were always spoken to if they walked past you and staff always held the lift door open for you given the opportunity. The units were well equipped. Bedding clean and comfortable. It was an easy 15 min walk to the strip through the back of the MGM hotel. The walls/roofing seemed to be very thin as we could hear people/children running around early every morning. A buffet breakfast was available each morning which satisfied our needs.There was also a fair amount of air traffic as well but after the first day we were less aware of it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor it may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#34 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#72 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
#8 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,351 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#22 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.