We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the Desert Rose from 14 Nov to 18 Nov 2012 with my family. We had a two bedroom and also a one bedroom apartment both of which were really good. The apartments have just been re carpeted. Both apartments had all the comforts you would require. Desert Rose is a short walk to the strip just behind Hooters and the MGM Grand. Staff are all very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,819
    973
    223
    79
    68
See reviews for
1,136
1,125
130
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed in a number of different timeshare properties in the Las Vegas area over the last 15 years. On occasion we have signed up for a property tour as we did this time - in this case the signup is part of the checkin process and requires a $20 deposit. On the 1st morning I began to experience flu-like symptoms which got progressively worse through the next day. It was clear I wouldn't be able to even stay awake for the 90 minute briefing/tour scheduled for our 3rd morning - hence I dragged myself to the concierge desk to see if our appointment could be delayed a day or two. Without even looking at her calendar, she simply frowned and said 'no'. Got a similar reaction when I asked for a refund of the $20. I was stunned by the complete lack of cooperation let alone any compassion for my situation. And if this is how prospective buyers are treated, I can only imagine what happens to the poor individuals who actually own units here. This experience was a complete turn-off basically ruining our week there and only served to make the other shortcomings of the property more evident - shaky and almost scary elevator, noisy sewer line work directly below our window in the early morning (the type of thing which frequently is reflected on the property website), a request to relocate our car to allow for parking lot resurfacing (with no alert about this at checkin).
There certainly were positives about the property - free breakfast delivered to the room for owners/exchangers, free wireless internet,etc, but the experience with the concierge completely outweighed all of the positives. We will certainly never return to the Desert Rose or any other Shell property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Desert Rose Resort from Nov 16 to 18, 2012. Rented a two bedroom suite as my mother-in-law was staying with us so a perfect place for us as the rooms were separate from each other and the room for my mother-in-law was perfect easy access to shower etc. Check in was smooth no huge line-ups like all the major hotels and the front staff were wonderful - in fact all of the personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. Nice to wake up in the morning and go down for breakfast and enough just to satisfy one needs first thing in the day. Was getting married in Vegas and Lisa the Congierge arranged for a limo - and our driver was amazing and she arrived on time and took us to and back from the wedding - well worth every penny and was so much fun. We had a small reception at the Resort in the back by the pool - even barbequed, brought in our own food and drinks and we all had a blast as we were able to move around and chat and enjoy all the amenities. My next trip to Vegas I will definitely stay at the Desert Resort.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with other people and sharing a room just state what you would like - lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Every year or so, I get together with some friends from college for a vacation/reunion. This year we decided on Vegas. The two bedroom suite at the Desert Rose was a great choice. The suite had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and three TVs. The suite allowed you to hang out and also to go to your own room when you wanted to.

The Desert Rose is within easy walking distance of MGM Grand, New York New York, The Tropicana and several other casinos. I only rented a car for one day, the rest of the trip I either walked, used the monorail or caught a taxi.

The Desert Rose has a concierge. This is a great idea. We decided to go the Hoover Dam on short notice, the concierge was able to get us a rental car and directions in no time flat. They were also able to book tickets for shows etc. While you can do this online yourself, the concierge can usually get it done faster and at a better price.

If you want a little more space than a standard hotel room, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Stay on the second or third floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We're members of Shell Vacation Club which owns this resort. We have stayed here 3 times and continue to enjoy this location. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The resort is just a few minutes from McCarren airport and located a block off the strip, behind the Tropicana and two blocks from the MGM. It has a very nice and heated pool with two hot tubs. Excellent place to bring family or just your loves one!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What value and this place had everything.Free laundry room,secure premises,wonderful apartment, large toilet and shower room ,large lounge room and kitchenette...did'nt want to leave the hotel.Breakfast was great,staff were great,location was great only 10 minutes walk to the strip.Arrived early by car which had to be returned to the airport and the staff put themselves out to find us a room straight away.Best value by far in Vegas would stay there again, definitely the place to stay nice and quiet location away from the other hotels on the overcrowded strip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

where to start? great resort for the price. yes the rooms are not as elegant as the venetian or mandarin but are you paying the same price? those resorts want to charge you at every turn, whereas with the D.R. everything is included. Breakfast, wifi, pool, parking etc and no pesky resort fee. The venetian front desk didnt want to know us and it took 6 hrs to get extra bedding for my mom and at the D.R. the front desk knew us by our first names. Customer service was exceptional and free beer and wine between 5 and 7pm. total for 10 days was $800, 2 nights at the mandarin $600 plus $53resort and $40 parking fees kind of annoying after the treatment we had at the Desert Rose.
thank you desert rose for an unforgettable wedding trip for us and our 20 guests, we will not be staying anywhere else in las vegas!

Room Tip: try get a room which has a balcony in the centre of the building block, these are quieter as they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.