We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem in the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a little gem in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at the Desert Rose Resort in September for a week with my husband. What a fab place. A real home from home. It was nice to go there to relax by the pool or in the lobby if too hot. Peace and quiet from the madness of all thoses casinos. A really big thank you to the best conceigner in the world - Lisa. Nothing was too much bother for her - your wish was her command. Thank you for helping us enjoy a wonderful week in Vegas. Only down side was that it would be nicer if apartments were painted a little bit lighter as the internal ones can be a little dark - but dont let this put you off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    999
    240
    80
    71
See reviews for
1,162
1,152
132
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our second year staying at this wonderful hotel. What is nice is it's close to the strip but without all the noise you get when staying at a strip hotel/casino. What impressed us both times is the complimentry breakfast, the spotlessly clean rooms and most importantly the staff. Everyone we met or spoke to greeted us in a friendly manner. The service staff were polite and cheerful greeting you with a good morning or afternoon. We are planning another trip for 2013 and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: In fairness, we didn't see any children activities but being without children we didn't seek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Second time stay for us at Desert rose, last time two years ago, still a great place to stay. helpful staff,( we can be a pain at times asking help for internet etc) Pool was fantastic, never more than 3 or 4 people in water and always room to pick which sun lounger to have. As a fussy eater I found breakfast a bit bland- just toast for me! last time there were bagels and cheese spread now and again. Some reviews on trip advisor moan about the location, we found it perfect, short walk to MGM grand, Hooters and Tropicana but just far enough away from the action for some peace and quiet. Would definately reccomend Desert rose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We started our road trip with three nights at the Desert Rose Resort and we could not have had a better starting point! We had 2 suites between 6 of us and both suites were delightful.
They were airy and spacious, spotlessly clean and equiped with everything you could need.

The resort is a short walk from the strip and all that Vegas has to offer but is quiet and friendly. The staff were very helpful and they even provided a small welcome pack.

The youngsters made the most of the gym and pool and there were always seats around the pool when required.

The breakfast changed daily but was always plentiful and provided a decent start to the day. We could not all sit together but this was not a problem for us and we always found somewhere to sit and eat.

The free evening drinks and buffet was an added bous that we thoroughly enjoyed before heading off out to the madness that is Las Vegas.

Would highly recommend this resort

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a wonderful place for the price. The rooms (suites) are very roomy, well appointed, and clean. The staff was all very friendly and helpful, above the call of duty in many instances. While we were there, they were in the process of making landscaping and infrastructure improvements, but none of the construction made any problems for us. It will be even more attractive within a few weeks. The wine and cheese happy hour was nice. I don't drink alcohol, but I noticed they have some kind of beer and white and red wine. There was also a nice selection of soda pop and some Starbucks coffee. The people who have written bad reviews of the happy hour wrote that it was a cramped atmosphere. I'm not at all sure what they are talking about. The area was spacious and there was plenty of seating, We are very happy we chose Desert Rose Resort.

Room Tip: You definitely want to ask for a pool view room. The view to the west is of Luxor and is pretty spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for a few days on a trip to Las Vegas. The room was very nice and modern. It had everything you needed. We even cooked a few meals in our room. Beds were very comfortable...felt like you were at home. The morning breakfast offered plenty to eat and changed daily. If you want to be directly on the strip, this is a little ways from it, although we did walk every day to gamble. Hotel is very quiet! (Note: you cannot gamble at this hotel.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a great hotel for those that prefer space, quiet and value for money. Its a 10 minute walk to the MGM, so not far from the strip but a completely different feel. Its an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the hectic LV strip. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and large. We had a two bedroom suite for 3 and it was perfect. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking the pool. Room 1308 is a two bedroom suite with two twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.