We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort - away from the chaos that is Vegas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great resort - away from the chaos that is Vegas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights at the end of April. Never been to Vegas before and after reading the reviews this seemed the ideal place. And it did not disappoint. Ideal location for the strip, opposite MGM Grand and behind Hooters, but just far away to escape the busy life of Vegas.

Arrived after travelling a 10 hour flight and was made to feel welcome straight away. There are reviews that mention problems with credit cards being copied, so we went prepared to offer cash as a deposit instead. Reception did not take any deposit at all or even ask for one. The room was a one bedroom apartment in the 4th block, 3rd floor. very quiet and peaceful. Room was great, comfortable and clean. After adjusting to the time difference, we slept soundly. Breakfast is complimentary. Simple stuff to eat - nothing fancy - just enough to start off the day. Coffee is available 24hours in the lobby.

The pool can get busy but we were coming back about 3pm and it was OK then.

So off we went for our first experience of Vegas. It is busy, crazy, over the top, tacky and I guess that is what makes it brilliant. Don't take it seriously just enjoy watching everyone else take it seriously. It is actually nice to return to the Desert Rose and walk into a hotel that does not have slot machines in the lobby. Must be the only hotel in Vegas that doesn't. Favourite hotels to visit - MGM Grand and the Venetian. How many hotels have a canal and gondelier running thorugh it? The buffet in the Bellagio is well worth it, great views from the Eiffel Tower.

We hired a car for 3 days and made our own way to the Grand Canyon via Route 66. Hubby loved this - we were in a convertible Mustang on Route 66 stopping at typical diners for breakfast and lunch. The last morning of the car we went out early and just drove up and down the strip with the roof down. How cool are we?

To sum up - this hotel is a great place to stay, very convenient location and ideal to come back to at the end of the day to escape the hussle and bussle that is Vegas.

Room Tip: the 3rd floor was peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,084 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,793
    944
    208
    77
    62
See reviews for
1120
1096
127
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed/2 bath unit on the third floor. Our room was clean and linens were readily available for the pool and room. There was plenty of room for sleeping four, a functional kitchen and a quiet atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool area does get busy and there is not much shade so plan ahead if you are planning a pool day. The breakfast has great variety and there is Starbucks coffee available all day. I was originally concerned from reading other reviews that we would be far from the strip but it is only a 10 minute walk and cabs are readily available. I felt safer walking from here than I did from the Platinum last December. This is a great choice for families, groups and those who do not want a noisy smoke filled place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I would like to say thank you to all of the staff, they were very nice.
the best qualities about this resort
- continental breakfast- eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee
all included
-after we checked out they held our luggage all day at no charge
- pool was nice, kind of small seating area, but everyone was thinking the same thing lay out early before it got to hot.
not to far from the Tropicana and Hooters Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRYieldManager, Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words about Desert Rose Resort! We strive to provide value and a wonderful experience for our guests. On behalf of all the staff at Desert Rose Resort - thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

on our second day in vegas my fiance fell and broke his leg in two places. so needless to say we spent the next two days sitting in our room waiting to fly home where he ended up having surgery. the employees there were so helpful we would have to order food and have it delivered to the front desk employees would actually bring it to our room for us (they didnt have to do that) most people have to pick up their orders in the lobby. they also allowed us a late check out so that he could stay off of his leg as much as possible. i appreciate what they did for us and will be staying there again. amazing customer service...thanks again for everything....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRYieldManager, Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Desert Rose Resort. I am very sorry that your stay was interrupted with a serious injury... hopefully you will be able to return in the future and have a more traditional Vegas experience! I am glad that our staff was able to make your stay more comfortable and will share your review with them.

Get well soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Desert Rose Resort is the best place to stay when you visit Las Vegas. It has everything you need. Away from small casino hotel rooms to spacious 1 or 2 bedroom apartments . They have everything in that you need. Kitchen, fridge,large livingroom and very comfortable bedroom. This was my 5th stay at this resort. Morning breakfast, afternoon manager's happy hour, gym and large clean and warm pool. I love the friendly team starting at the help desk to housekeeping. I will recommnend Desert Rose to everyone who wants to enjoy stay in Las Vegas. Nice walk about 10 min from the strip,outlet stores not far away just GREAT place to be. I am already looking into book my next visit in October. Thank you Jeff Tomczak and your crew for taking care of your guests. :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were a little worried about the credit card fraudulent charges comments, but after talking to their general manager, we've made our reservation online and upon arrival paid full in cash for our stay and also paid cash for the $100 deposit. We're so glad we stayed here! Great staff, rooms were very clean, quite, and the location was great!!! The only thing I didn't care about and mentioned it to them, was their pillows... a little lumpy for my comfort but not enough to ruin my stay; if we're ever in Las Vegas again, we're staying at the Desert Rose Resort for sure. Where else can you get breakfast and a happy hour for that price?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Pros:
* Friendly staff - everyone from front desk, to the housekeepers were great.
* Comfy bed!
* Lots of hot water for the shower, and great water pressure.
* Lots of room to spread out - great for stays longer than a few days. Loved having a seperate living room area for the hubby to watch news when he woke up early.
* No smoky casino to walk through to get to your room.
* Quiet...never heard any neighbors talking, fighting, having sex, or flushing toilets!
* Loved having Starbucks coffee available in the lobby 24/7!

There was nothing I would really consider a 'con', but I will add some 'be aware's:
* Yes, it is within walking distance from the strip (took us a good 7-10 minutes to get to the MGM) but I would highly recommend having a car. Wouldn't want to, and didn't, make the trek more than once. I love walking and enjoyed our 'stroll' (LOL) from the Venetian to the MGM, but didn't like the walk from the MGM to the Desert Rose, and am not sure that I'd feel safe making that walk without my husband. Note that the parking at the DR is FREE (yay!) and that valet parking around town is free - well, we tipped, but I'm not counting that (at least everywhere that we went).

* Can't say anything about the quality of the free breakfast/manager's reception, because we never managed to catch them. Unless you're an early bird, chances are, you'll never find out either...they close it down a little too early, in my opinion.

Overall, a great stay, and I highly recommend it to people who value comfort and great service over the appearance of glamour and luxury.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.