We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's starting to look like a rundown Seaside Town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Las Vegas Downtown

Las Vegas Downtown
Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Las Vegas Downtown like an insider
Special Offer
$39*
and up
Big Bus Las Vegas Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #38 of 682 things to do in Las Vegas
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“It's starting to look like a rundown Seaside Town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Problem is there's no ocean to take your mind off it.
As the suburbs are suffering to recover from the ravages of 2008 so it goes with the main strip. Yes it's an amazing sight at night when all the fabulous LED displays are burning your eyes but during the day it's a tacky mess.
The traffic light system is like a real life pachenko game but I guess it's built for walking not driving.
I was last there 10 years ago and I have to say that I won't be going there again. You get ripped off at every turn with hidden fees and phony promos... nothing's for free, or even good value, with one notable exception... McDonalds... they're the only ones who keep their prices the same on the strip as they are everywhere else.
All of the others have fallen victim to the celebrity chef mentality and with a giant face of Gordon Ramsay ,or whoever , glowering down at you, they want $25 for a burger and fries ( by the time you count in all the extras.) Pretty soon they'll be charging you for ketchup in these places.
It's clear that the corporate mentality has taken over the place and even though they rake in millions from the gambling, that isn't enough . They want to turn you upside down and shake every single nickel out of you to support all of those empty rooms.
I notice that the latest trick is the "Resort Fee" but in the middle of the desert there ain't no private beach or "all you can eat" buffets and the swimming pools are closed so fot the wuck are they charging for? The slot machines and tables?
With just about every other city in North America offering a casino, the competition to attract the punters is fierce, so what do the geniuses in the executive offices do?
Jack up the prices on just about everything, and where there's no room to jack up the price whack them with a well hidden user fee.
10 years ago you could get a good buffet for around twenty bucks now it's $40, ten years ago all those flash hotels were marvellous ,now they're just kitschy and dated.
Wake up Las Vegas, you've got to give the people some value back other than a cheap room and flight.
You're still making big bucks from the gambling, why not spread some of that money to the other departments instead of having them submitting weekly reports on how much profit they've made.

In the good old days the food , entertainment and booze was just a cost of bringing in the customers. That was because the so called "bad guys" who ran it then felt they made enough from the casino, but now I see all the execs sitting 'round the boardroom table on a Monday morning, frightened of losing their jobs because the food and beverage lost money last week.

Of course Las Vegas doesn't need my opinion, but if only one of the big shots takes notice of this criticism then we might see them bring back some of the value that compensated for the money you lost in the Casino vacuum. But the bottom line is that the winners yell with delight and the losers don't talk about it...... and that's what keeps it going.

Me ? I see it looking like Tombstone if they don't make some radical changes

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    407
    134
    54
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Prepare for lots of walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The entire place is incredible, I love Las Vegas. Plan out your trip/events you want to go to and arrange them so you start at one end of the strip and end at the other. Otherwise you will need to bring a good pair of T shoes with you.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Top Contributor
681 reviews 681 reviews
445 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
603 helpful votes 603 helpful votes
“One Visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Downtown was once used to be gambling district prior to the Strip. It has old fashioned hotels, shopping, government buildings and residence as well. It also has a most famous street known as Fremont street. It has its own unique visual manner.
Do visit when in Vegas.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I guess check it out?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is nothing like the strip. The only interesting thing was the light show and video on the awning besides that it's a completely different world. I only would recommend going just to see for yourself. The people down there are a different breed from those on the strip. One good thing if you're on a budget or want too avoid strip prices, is everything is so cheap here. Don't adventure off the mini strip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallops Island, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downtown going down?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The "old" Vegas was downtown. Although they have the Freemont Street experience, no one goes downtown anymore. (Except the older generations) 50 years old and plus. I recommend the strip for fun, but the only good thing about downtown is its cheaper but not as nice as the strip).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Vegas Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Las Vegas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Vegas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.