We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn the Dam Flooded!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Outdooor Adventures

Dean Outdooor Adventures
5355 S Decatur Blvd Ste 300, Las Vegas, NV 89148
702-895-7999
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dean Outdoor Adventures is a small group, personally guided tour company that offers tours to Hoover Dam, Grand Canyon National Park (south rim) and our all new Mountain Biking Tour. We take pride in our small group adventures so that you may enjoy the intimacy our tours provide. We take no more than 10 people per vehicle on any of our excursions so that your time is well spent! Our tours are about experiencing your destination, and not just about visiting them. Find out for yourself why Dean Outdoor is not just another tour company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Damn the Dam Flooded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

So there was a bit of a disaster on my tour, the visitor centre and dam were closed due to flooding.

Thankfully our guide managed to make up for it as best he could. We walked across the bridge and walked around the dam while being given some history of the place. We were also taken to a lookout to see Lake Mead.

I didn't get to see the inside of the dam, but this wasn't down to Dean Outdoor Adventures so can't blame them. When I'm next in town I'd happily book with them again and hopefully get inside!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    4
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth Your Time and Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Dean is a people-person, which is what sets him apart from other tour guides. He is enthusiastic, pleasant and knowledgeable.

We had taken an organized group tour of Hoover Dam, and Dean was chock-full of information. A friend commented that this was her third tour of the dam... and by far the best!

Give him a go. You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Personal service from a TRUE local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Dean took my group of ladies out on larger tour and it felt like we were a small group. He was AWESOME! His knowledge of the area was great and his interaction even better. As an event planner Dean was so easy to work with and the timing perfect. I saw other groups at the Dam tour being shuttled around like cattle by their guides and I felt bad for them. I would recommend Dean's Tours to anyone looking for a great tour of the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and extremely accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This experience was great from the beginning. I was not sure which day we wanted to go and the day we choose there was no one else booked but Dean was willing to take just the two of us since we couldn't go the day he had a group. He showed up when he said he would and made us feel comfortable and was really excited about sharing the history of his city and Hoover Dam. My father couldn't hear very well so he had him sit up front with him which made a huge difference in his enjoyment. Dean was very flexible during the day and you never felt dragged around. Honestly it felt like you were visiting family and they were showing you around. I would recommend Dean's tour to anyone visiting that area. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Tour, lots of info!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Found Dean here on trip advisor and so glad we did! Booked a Hoover Dam tour, Pick up was exactly on time, Dean was friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating. Terrific insight into the areas history on the trip to the Dam, out of Vegas and thru Boulder City visited the McCallum-Tillman bridge, again great information. Hoover Dam tour was interesting and fun. Dean dropped us off back on the strip wherever we wanted. Highly recommend Dean and his company, worth the money, way better than the large bus tours, hands down! See you next time Dean, and thanks again for a great day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean Outdooor Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Dean Outdooor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Outdooor Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.