We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoover Dam Bypass

Hoover Dam Bypass
U.S. Route 93, Las Vegas, NV
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$200*
and up
Vegas Strip and Hoover Dam Twilight Helicopter...
Ranked #15 of 267 Attractions in Las Vegas
Type: Bridges, Canyons, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sweet tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We just got back from sweet tours to hoover with nicholas(sp?) as our driver/tour guide.He was very knowledgeable & entertaining.He also stayed with us ay the lookout to take our photoes with our cameras.I would recommend him for anyone to take this tour.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    373
    88
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I am sure glad we stopped here. I walked across the bridge and what an experience! The view was great! I loved it!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you have 4 hours to spare at Las Vegas you need to see the view from the new bridge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011 via mobile

After a 40 mile trip from the strip at Las Vegas, the view of the Hoover Dam from the 900 feet high bridge is amazing!

A must do in Nevada. There is a US$ 29 helicopter tour that you take 2 miles before the bridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Engineers Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We enjoyed the short climb up stairs to walk the length of the new bypass bridge. Viewing the dam and spillway area from so high in the air was fun. There were interpretative signs and markers which were informative. I liked seeing the tilted rock beds that make up the canyon walls. Parking is a big issue in the dam area. No one seems to stay too long at the bridge though so parking spaces do open up.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, TN
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Breath-taking views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

The story behind construction of this bridge is fascinating and is told on the many interpretive plaques placed along the trail to the bridge and on the bridge itself. We had visited the Hoover Dam before but could not miss a chance to walk across the new bridge to get a different perspective of the dam and the river. We visited on the Sunday of the MLK Holiday weekend. Arriving around 10:30 am we found quite a crowd but were able to park in the main parking lot. When we left at noon, the lot was full and visitors were parking further down the hill in another lot. There were police officers in the area both on a Segway and in a car. They helped direct visitors to the parking. The trail comes to a dead end on the Arizona side. The state line is marked in the bridge as is the apex of the arch. The bridge trail is free and is handicap accessible. Don't miss it if you are anywhere in the area!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoover Dam Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoover Dam Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.