We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoover Dam Bypass

Hoover Dam Bypass
U.S. Route 93, Las Vegas, NV
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hoover Dam Bypass like an insider
Special Offer
$195*
and up
Vegas Strip and Hoover Dam Twilight Helicopter...
Ranked #11 of 686 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

So, you've seen dams, sure. But, have you seen a world class dam up close and huge and high enough to induce vertigo in a War Eagle? No? Then you should definitely check out Hoover Dam (ie Boulder Dam). Look over the edge of this Bad Boy into the raging waters of the semi-controlled Colorado River and try not to void yourself in public. Moreover, remember this dam is set to continue producing electricity for hundreds of years after the last man, woman, and child are swept off this Earth. Wow. You can check out how by taking a tour deep into the metal guts of this lake-stopper.

I won't kid you. Hoover Dam is NOT as great as the most wondrous natural elements of the Las Vegas area. Hike the canyons surrounding Red Rock Canyon for a knock-out wonder. But, as a man-made issue...the Hoover Dam is pretty dam good. A dam sight finer than any plastic-trinket architecture you will find on the Lost Vegas Strip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    543
    130
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Got there by accident.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our bus spoiled onroute and we were stuck close enough (less than 1 KM away) and we walked over to wait for the replacement. And our guide gave us a quick tour. It's quite worth the time as we marvel at the wonderful engineering of the building.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not to be missed. Fun to walk across the top of the dam and enter another U S state, and then back again just as easily! Take the tour of the dame workings and history of the Dams construction.
This was a welcome change from the Vegas Strip and casinos. Amazing views down to the base of the dame.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a great place to stop, and it is close to Las Vegas. Lake Mead against the tan mountains is just pretty. I enjoyed walking the long, high bridge that looks over the water, too. It was so windy! But, the tour was really good, and the tour guide was super friendly. It was was neat, scenic, but really hot! Drink a lot of water if you go during the summer. And I think it would be worth it to park under a shelter close to the visitor's center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An engineering marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Been to Vegas several times amd finally got to go this time. The dam tour was already booked on the time we wanted so we just picked the plant tour. It was very informational and we were just in awe at this great feat. What an impressive work of mankind. We are proud to be part of this land of great inventors and innovators

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoover Dam Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoover Dam Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.