We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING TOUR!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon by Red Rock Canyon Tours

Grand Canyon by Red Rock Canyon Tours
3655 South Las Vegas Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89109
+1 702-703-4426
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 4 hours at Grand Canyon, from $102 p/p, reclining seats, small groups. -----6:00 am: Departing Las Vegas - we depart on time!!! -----7:50 am - 8:05 (approximate): Kingman, AZ, Travel Center - rest stop - food and refreshments are available to purchase. -----10:40 am (approximate): Arriving at Grand Canyon - Maswik Lodge - food and refreshments are available to purchase (we arrive hours before most tours). -----3:00 pm: Departing Grand Canyon - Maswik Lodge - we depart on time!!! -----5:30 pm - 5:45 pm (approximate): Kingman, AZ, Travel Center - rest stop. -----7:30 pm (approximate): returning to Las Vegas.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING TOUR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went on an afternoon tour with Tom and he was amazing! Red Rock Canyon is beautiful, and Tom was so knowledgeable and very accomading to our needs. He asked if we wanted to hike more, or ride in the car and he always made sure we were comfortable before hiking further. He came prepared with water, suncreen, hand sanitizer, and he even brought a light snack for us. Its a great tour and a nice break from the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. If you love hiking and learning about where you are hiking, I definately suggest this tour!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    14
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went with Tom on an early morning tour on Thursday Sept. 27th (departed at 7:00 a.m.). Tom was right on time picking us up, exactly where it was arranged, and off we went. As it was an early morning tour (likely, most people were just getting back to their hotels after partying on the strip!), there were just my wife and I, and Tom. He gave us the option of driving from one point of interest to another, or going for a hike in the canyon.

We chose to hike, and it was fantastic! Even though it was "hiking", Tom chose trails that were easy to navigate - even for my wife who left her cane in the van in order to hike better

Tom is so knowledgeable about the canyon that not a single one of our questions went unanswered. He was a thoroughly gracious host, and a wonderful guide. We saw a great deal more of the canyon than you could ever see from the roads, including the incredibly diverse flora, fauna, and geology that can only be seen by getting off the beaten track.

Most of the organized "tours" we've gone on consisted of sitting in an air-conditioned vehicle, peering out windows at passing items of marginal interest.

Red Rock Canyon Tours is, on the other hand, is a genuine back-country trek (albeit, an easy one!) with an expert guide. Tom clearly loves the canyon, and knows all its nooks and crannies. To top it all off, he is a very nice, companionable person, to boot.

I would HEARTILY recommend Red Rock Canyon Tours!!

And, as if the above wasn't enough - the cost of their tours is lower than ANY of the others (many of which would have you believe that you must be on pavement in a three-wheeled scooter, or zooming along in a bus, to see the canyon...at 3-4 times the price).

If you really want to get know the canyon, call Tom and arrange a tour. It will be a high point of your trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just came back from our trip to Vegas and I would highly recommend Tom and his tour. You can tell he is really passionate about his job and very knowledgeable. From telling us about the rock formations, the different layers of sediment, vegetation, wildlife and the different types of trees Tom brings us away from the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. We even went to a small town where we got to see some free roaming donkey like creatures lol (excuse my non technical term). During our trip to Vegas we been to the Eiffiel tower restaurant and Cirque del Soleil and this ranks up there with our memorable experiences in Vegas. Now if only Tom would do a Grand Canyon Tour we would definitely do that the next time we are back! Keep up the good work Tom!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The trip was great! Not too long and not too short. It was just a few hours in the afternoon, so it didn’t take up your whole day if you had other plans. Tom was very nice and funny. He was more than happy to take pictures for you and pointed out lots of neat picture spots that we wouldn’t have found on our own. He provided lots of cold bottled water and even granola bars and dried fruit. He also had lots of hand sanitizer available. There were bathrooms at each stop, but they were pretty minimal, so the hand sanitizer came in handy. It was actually storming in the distance and he said he even had rain coats if we needed them (but luckily we didn’t).
And while I am sure this isn’t always the case, I was able to book last minute through email from my iphone the day before my trip. Tom was quick and responsive and if you have computer access or a smart phone, it was really easy to see what was available and to sign up.
The hiking itself was not strenuous at all unless you are really out of shape or have health problems. It was more like a nature walk at some points, but I enjoyed that and am glad it wasn’t too hard or exhausting, especially with the heat.
The scenery was beautiful and I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking to get off the strip and get some fresh air/peace and quiet/change of scenery.
Oh, and we even saw some wild burros near the end as we were leaving the area and Tom pulled over and gave us plenty of time to take pictures of them.
Overall it was a great trip!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Neat Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We took this tour while we were out in Vegas September 2nd-6th. This is something very cool to do and get out of the city for a while. There is walking and some climbing involved. Our tour guide Tom knew his stuff, he took us all around to areas you would not see if you just drive through on your own. We saw some wild donkey while on the tour but there is other wild life that lives out there. The first thing you notice when you step out of the tour van is how quiet it is, you can look back and see the strip way in the distance. Its only about 20 miles away from the strip so no long drives to get there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon by Red Rock Canyon Tours also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon by Red Rock Canyon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon by Red Rock Canyon Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.