We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosmopolitan visit April 2015” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas to your Saves list
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cosmopolitan visit April 2015”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel but does not include wifi they charge $20 a day .... I got rash like little bites on my ankles and under my arms from the beds they didn't go until after 4 days of arriving home. Large rooms good view of bellagio fountains will visit again but not sure if I will stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,677
    2,282
    905
    447
    371
See reviews for
844
3,376
280
1,548
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a three night stay over fight weekend with two other couples, all in our 30's. We have visited her for food and drinks many times but this was our first stay at the property. We sprung for the fountain view terrace one-bedroom and it was worth every penny. We spent a couple of hours one evening enjoying drinks in the terrace. As many have said, the downside of the east tower is that there was definite noise from the strip coming through even on the 38th floor.
The property itself is high energy with a strong club presence on weekend evenings. Tables also fill up quite fast. Overall this property is hard to beat in terms of food selection and bar quality. My willingness to stay here again will depend on offers they provide.

Room Tip: East Tower room was loud on 38th floor. Room 3895. Fountain view was definitely superior to the We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notacritic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had booked a prepaid room and arrived at 2:55 p.m to a relatively empty lobby to be told that our room was not ready. Having travelled all day we were told that we could drop our luggage, that they had no idea when a room would be ready and that they'd text us. Not only was this not good enough but we couldn't hear the receptionist (1 of 53 reception areas) because the lobby is so loud that you can't hear anything at all. After cajoling and wheedling with "Erika" (and having her smirk at us), we asked for the Manager. She would not call him. Finally, a co-worker stepped in and found us a room (an upgrade) that was ready immediately. This hotel is incredibly noisy - even compared to Las Vegas, the hallways are already shabby and the Chandelier Bar highly over-rated. There are much nicer places with better customer service in Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a brilliant stay in the Cosmo 9th - 12th April, couldn't fault rooms, food etc. My only gripe would be the massive queue upon check-in, all those desks but only 3 people on?! A 30 minute wait to check in is not what you want after 20 hours travelling. No other complaints, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I visit Las Vegas every April to attend a major conference. We generally take a number of staff with us which limits our accommodation choice a little as we need to cater for ease of transport options to the convention centre, cost and individual preferences.

The last couple of years we've stayed at the Aria but this year we chose The Cosmopolitan, not just for the above reasons but because they have a balcony on some rooms which is really attractive in theory, especially on The Strip, where balcony options are pretty limited. We did book a balcony room but it was very expensive and really not worth it. I had visions of us sitting on the balcony each night having a drink but in reality that didn't happen as, after all, who actually wants to stay in their room in Vegas? Also the balcony furniture is bolted to the floor (for obvious reasons I guess) and was facing the back of another resort. The cushions were riddled with cigarette holes and stained which was disappointing.

Like all Vegas hotels I have stayed in, The Cosmopolitan is really big and really impersonal. No surprise there...you don't go to Vegas expecting boutique service after all.

I did like the layout of the room and the bathroom was huge and both were clean but after that I struggle to find too much to like when compared with other hotels, particularly the Aria.

The primary issues related more to the amenities and bars and restaurants. When compared to other hotels the pool spaces are pretty small and it's difficult to get a lounge. I only used the gym in the west wing and whilst nicely equipped, the staff were really unwelcoming (the really only need to smile when asking you to sign in - it can't be that hard) and there was no outlook.

The bars are ok but it's difficult to get table service (no matter how big you tipped the previous night) and overall, from my perspective the common areas felt really claustrophobic compared with other casinos. Generally speaking it's probably more of a party hotel than others of its calibre on the Strip, which is great if that's what you're looking for but, even by Vegas standards, there were a lot of drunk 20 somethings!

Unfortunately, when weighing up the whole experience and based on our particular needs there was more to dislike than there was to like about our stay. However, if you are in your 20s and looking for a Vegas hotel with above average rooms, it might be right up your alley.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Las Vegas, and we did not know exactly what to expect, especially with the hotel. It was fabulous. We had a large balcony room overlooking the Bellagio fountain, which was awesome! My husband and I went out a few days before he was going to attend a conference there, and we got an upgraded room. The room was well appointed and the bathroom was soooo nice! We enjoyed the restaurants and bars in the hotel, and the fun way it was decorated. It was centrally located on The Strip, and easy to get to the other destinations. It is right across the street from the Paris Hotel with two wonderful restaurants, and next to the Bellagio. And, the best part is that we got Marriott points!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hello! We stayed at The Cosmo from April 25th until May 1st, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

We are Tim (51) and Teresa (mid-30s) and are a married couple from Chicago, Illinois. We have been to Las Vegas twice before, staying at The Luxor (2003) and The Bellagio (2009). We feel The Cosmo was the best resort we stayed at, and could be in the running for one of the best resorts in Vegas.

The Cosmo consists of two towers (west and east) and the casino and restaurants are on the floors connecting the two towers. The main entrance and main lobby is located in the west tower, which is further back from the strip. We arrived on a Saturday evening, around 9 PM, and check-in was a breeze. We had reserved a one-bedroom terrace suite and absolutely LOVED the room. Upon check-in, we were offered an upgrade to the same accommodation, with a fountain view for an additional $30 per night. Knowing that we wanted a nice view, we accepted the offer. While we loved the view, I’m not sure if the “fountain views” are quite worth the extra cost. We were on the 37th floor, and could not really hear the music, so simply watching the fountains left a bit to be desired. This could also be due to the fact that we have stayed in fountain view rooms at The Bellagio, and I think those are probably a bit “closer to the action”. That being said, we did love the view, but in the future, we may be willing to consider other views as well.

We thought the room was very well laid out. As you may know, these types of rooms tend to have a rather “open” bathroom. There is a glass wall between the shower and the bedroom, as well as an opening between the Japanese soaking tub and the bedroom. Since we are married, we actually thought this was pretty cool, and didn’t have any issues with this perceived lack of privacy. The bathroom was very spacious, and included a private water closet, a two sink vanity, and then a “wet room” which consisted of a tiled shower, a transition area with a towel rack and shelves for toiletries and then a two person Japanese soaking tub. Now, I’d never heard of this term until it was used at The Cosmo, but the tubs are pretty cool. They’re square, so you can’t really recline in them, but they are spacious, and have room for two people. They are quite deep so you can easily soak up to your neck, as you look out on the strip. A great thing about The Cosmo is how strong the water pressure is. The tubs actually filled up quite quickly!!!

The room had a lot of mirrors and also some unique artwork, including many coffee-table art books. The one thing that was missing was any real shelving for clothes. The closet was huge, with a lot of hangers, and there were a few shelves, but the room doesn’t have any type of a traditional bureau or armoire. We made due just fine, just something to consider. Also, we wish the minibar had a shelf for a few bottles of water of soda to be added. I realize they want you to purchase their products, but it was a bit annoying.

We were in the east tower and I think I preferred this over the west, since you are closer to the strip. We didn’t hear any significant noise from the street and slept with our curtains open to enjoy the lights of the strip as we fell asleep.

As you may know, The Cosmo isn’t inexpensive, and that goes for their restaurants and other amenities. We ate at Holstein’s, Jaleo, Wicked Spoon and The Henry, and enjoyed all of our meals. We felt the service at each restaurant was just about perfect. I also enjoyed the coffee shop each morning, which was right off the east tower elevator. An added bonus was they offered a free refill on their drip coffee, which actually made the price pretty reasonable.

We enjoyed a cabana at the Bamboo pool one day, and while it’s expensive for one couple, could be a fun afternoon, if you are a group of 4 or 6 or more. There’s no true “rental fee” for a cabana, you merely have to incur a set “minimum” for food and drink. Service at the pool was great, and the food and beverages offered were extensive.

Teresa enjoyed some spa treatments, and felt very satisfied with the quality and level of service she received.

We aren’t party people, so can’t comment on the clubs and lounges. However, The Marquee nightclub seemed very popular with the younger set, and both The Chandelier and The Vesper lounges seemed quite popular. The Vesper, in particular was packed every night beginning about 8 PM. The Vesper seemed to be a bit of a “pick up” spot, for what it’s worth, and seemed to focus on the “convention /business attendees”.

We enjoyed the casino, and thought it was big enough for our tastes. We aren’t extensive gamblers, so really can’t comment much on this.

We read a lot about how the resort is geared towards the “younger crowd”, and while this may be true, it didn’t seem to be very noticeable during the week.

Overall, we have nothing negative to say about The Cosmopolitan, and think it’s an excellent choice for a Vegas vacation!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Address: 3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 2995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas is a unique luxury resort offering a decidedly different perspective, situated in the heart of The Strip directly between CityCenter and Bellagio. The resort’s uniquely vertical multi-tower design offers spectacular views of the vibrant city. The new 2,995-room resort features oversized, residential-style living spaces with expansive, one-of-a-kind private terraces. The Cosmopolitan’s luxurious resort amenities include a 100,000-square-foot casino; Sahra Spa & Hammam; three unique pool experiences at The Pool District; Marquee Nightclub & Dayclub at The Cosmopolitan, a multi-level integrated nightclub; and 150,000 square feet of state-of-the-art convention and meeting space. An eclectic lineup of new-to-market retailers include AllSaints Spitalfields, Beckley, CRSVR Sneaker Boutique, DNA2050, Droog, Molly Brown's Swimwear, Retrospecs & Co, Skins 6|2 Cosmetics and STITCHED. Signature restaurants include Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar & Grill by restaurateurs Bruce and Eric Bromberg; Comme Ça by Los Angeles Chef David Myers; Estiatorio Milos, by international restaurateur Costas Spiliadis; Holsteins from Block 16 Hospitality; Jaleo and China Poblano restaurants by acclaimed Chef José Andrés; Scarpetta and D.O.C.G. by award-winning Chef Scott Conant; and popular steakhouse STK from The ONE Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cosmopolitan Of Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.