We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed (Overall) by the New Kid on the Strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Save Saved
You added The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% In Las Vegas
Ranked #38 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressed (Overall) by the New Kid on the Strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Cosmo over the weekend before New Year's Eve, and while there were quite a few positives, there are other hotels on the strip that I prefer.

Positives
- The service.  The front desk was fantastic, and while all of the rooms overlooking the fountain were sold, he got us a room with an amazing view of the strip (east tower).  All of our interactions with staff were impeccable (check in, room service, bell hop, taxi line, etc.)
- The view and location.  The Cosmo is next to the Bellagio and centrally located on the strip.  There is a Walgreens nearby for drinks, sundries, and other necessities. 
- Rooms are spacious and well laid out.  The bathing area (huge bath tub and walk in shower with windows) was chic and worked well with the room.

Considerations
-Young crowd.  I'm 29, and I had little patience for many of the people we encountered.  While not the case with everyone, many were loud, drunk, and didn't tip.  There were also kids playing in the main walkway of the casino.  Seriously. Who brings their kids to a casino?!
- Room cleanliness.  The couch in our suite had what looked like a puke stain.  One of our bath mats had a makeup stain on it.  
- No turndown service.

Other points and tips
- As with any hotel in the world, tipping will tend to provide you with a richer experience.
- Stay in the east tower.
- Order guacamole and margaritas at China Poblano.  You will thank me.
- E (hidden restaurant in Jaleo with limited nightly seating; you have to reserve by email in advance), Comme Ca, Scarpetta, and Jaleo are all delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,340
    1,683
    708
    383
    303
See reviews for
609
2521
213
1166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to Vegas this past holiday week for our friends wedding. They got married at the Cosmopolitan so that's where we stayed. The rooms were cheap and I do think that for Vegas that's probably how to choose a room especially if it's in the center of the strip and the location is perfect.

That being said...I would choose a different hotel next time if I could. The Cosmopolitan was a huge disappointment.

It started out bad and with the exception of Holsteins, the amazing burger joint, the wedding itself, and the dinner at Scarpetta, there was really no upside at all.

*Check in was unbearably slow. The lines for each check-in desk make no sense and are unorganized.
*Our room was nice LOOKING, but...the beds, sheets and pillows are terribly uncomfortable, the water pressure is HORRIBLE and the lighting is atrocious.
*The shower leaked all over the entire bathroom floor and we had to use all of our towels to clean it up.
*20 bucks to work out in the gym is RIDICULOUS.
*The boarding pass printout machine in the lobby is a great idea but was useless and frustrating.
*The hallways and elevators were filthy. There was a room cart out in the hallway at one point and I guess the guests had ordered crab legs. Those crab legs were left on the floor for a while...EVEN AFTER THE CART WAS TAKEN AWAY!

I will say that the staff at every turn was great, friendly and helpful.

I definitely wouldn't choose the Cosmo again...unless of course the rooms were free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, Ca
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Cosmopolitan for Christmas. We had a beautiful room on the 56th floor with a great view of the City Center to Mandalay Bay and beyond. The hotel is vibrant and alive. It is the most computerized hotel we have stayed in. The room was lovely and you could control everything from reservations to the room settings via the remote on the screen. The service was very good. We were amazed by all of the video screens everywhere and they changed all of the time with looks that included a wall of old library books to beautiful illustrations of flowers and just designs. The spa is beautiful but I have to say it was a bit masculine in design. Everyone was very helpful and the location is just great. It is really in the middle of everything. Of course I had to have a Cosmo for my first drink there (and it was a good one)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good Hotel shame that we had a full kitchen in our suite, but could not use it as there was no pans/plates/cups/cuttlery nothing, it dont make sense !
Beware when checking out as they said we had lots of laundry done and we had not used that service once and they said we had used $68 of drinks out of the fridge that also was a lie as they wanted $13 for a can of pepsi so we never went near it all, besides that it was a lovely suite would definetly use it again !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in an one bedroom terrace on our last trip and decided to stay at The Cosmopolitan again, in a Terrace suite.

The Terrace Suite was lovely as expected. We had great fountain views which we could see and enjoy from our comfortable bed. :)

The suite has a kitchen, with full fridge/mini bar and microwave. A washing machine and dryer is also in the room.

Definitely worth the splurge if you're looking at staying at somewhere like The Cosmopolitan and enjoying your balcony, depending on the roomtype, overlooking the fountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

COSMOPOLITAN HOTEL: Arrived at the valet on December 26, 2012 (departed on the 30th), friendly and prompt service. The Cosmopolitan’s lobby was only steps away with a short wait for Check-In (no need to walk through the casino). The clerk was friendly….offered “One Bedroom Suite” on the 29th Floor with a nice view of Bellagio Fountains for additional $30 per night ( we were comp the basic terrace suite & $100 food credit). The non-smoking suite had separate living area, desk area with a 50” HD Flat Screen, a separate area at the rear of the suite with an excellent king bed with another 50” HD Flat Screen, Wet Bar with a small fridge, modern European motif, clean, large shower with a separate “Japanese Soaking Tub”. A large combination safe for valuables was perfect for a couple laptops and tablets. The view from the balcony/bed/bathroom was well worth the additional $30 per night.


BTW, the main pool has been converted to Ice Rink….may I say, a very smart use of a hotel pool during the winter season. The hotel property overall was very impressive and a “Top 5 Las Vegas Hotel Property” favorite of ours…. however, the casino is not (more on that later).


DINING at THE COSMOPOLITAN: We enjoyed an excellent dinner at Scarpetta (modern interpretation of traditional Italian dishes). If, I recalled correctly (we did enjoyed a few drinks that evening) the yellowtail appetizer was scrumptious, braised beef ….. okay there were few more items we enjoyed, let’s just say it was well worth it.


The Henry is Cosmopolitan’s 24-hour café and we pretty decent breakfast before checking-out. I enjoyed a twist on Eggs Benedict using braised beef & potatoes and the better-half enjoyed…..okay, I think my drink memory is failing me again, sorry.



GAMBLING at THE COSMOPOLITAN: The better-half enjoyed limited success with her new favorite slots “Gold Fish”….how much success I will never know, however, prefers gambling at other properties.
I only played Blackjack, for only one evening and one for one good reason, too many 6:5 Double-Deck BJ tables and/or 6-8 Decks….both against traditional “BJ Rules”, in addition all table minimums were $25 (not a problem if the BJ rules are traditional . The one and only 3:2 Double-Deck BJ table was in the “High Limit Room” with a $300 table minimum btw, (not a one single deck BJ in the entire casino).
The “Sports book” was located on the 2nd level (for some odd reason), in case multiple extra larger flat screens, comfortable seating and nice bar area.


OVERALL PERSPECTIVE: The Cosmopolitan appeals to a diverse crowd, primarily between the ages of 24-44 crowd, until the weekends, when it drops down to over 21 crowds mainly due the hugely popular “Marque Nightclub(s)”.


Bottom-line, this would have been the perfect 4.5 Star Strip” Hotel & Casino; however, the huge negative is the casino, no significant wins; the vibe was just “okay” and overall a significant disappointment. I think the location in the middle of City Center (i.e. Aria/Vdara) and Bellagio, directly across the street from Planet Hollywood/Paris is very cool. BTW, beginning in January 2013 resort fees (i.e. internet access, pool access, etc.) of $25 per night will be enforced….that really sucks.

Room Tip: Request a Room with a Strip view of the Bellagio Fountains...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The checkin process was very smooth but we arrived on a tuesday. I booked the city view room but after reading the TA reviews on getting a Bellagio fountain view, I asked if I could have that view. He said it would cost about $60 a night to upgrade to the view but would try and give me something 'close' to it. When we got to our room, we did get the view. It was beautiful. It's very good seeing it from the room top down as opposed to being at street level.

The room itself was very big with 2 queen beds. It was very clean and looked very new. The bathroom is huge. Double vanity with a separate toilet. Toiletries provided included bar of body soap, facial soap, shower gel, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner and even mouth wash. They were lavender and peppermint scented. There is a light blind for 'privacy' between the shower and the bedroom and it is not very private so if you are sharing the room with friends, it might be a little awkward.

Ironing board and iron was provided. And there is a room safe. Couldn't find the hair dryer and called to get one. They came quickly.

The room is all automated. You can switch the lights on and off with a press on the phone or by the room door. It was very impressive and easy to use. Lots of power points available in the room.

We didn't use the mini bar and after reading all the reviews on the weight sensor, we tried to get them to clear the mini bar but apparently that would cost $25 to do?!

The bed was a lot softer than what we were used to but that's personal preference.

We didn't have to pay a resort fee but apparently this is coming into effect from January 2013. We used the Internet for free even though there was a sign on page to pay and we didn't register.

The location of the hotel was amazing. It was literally right in the middle of the strip which made it very convenient to get around.

The actual hotel itself didn't seem to be 'themed'. Afew bars and restaurants. There is a buffet which always seems to have a massive queue to get in.

Staff was not very helpful. The concierge was totally useless. Told us we should get a taxi to the Premium Outlet Mall North and there is no bus or shuttle. The bus stops right outside the Cosmopolitan and picks up right across the road. There are also shuttles available. She was totally disinterested and was keen to be as unhelpful as possible to all the guests. Several of us lining up were not impressed with her attitiude. Do your own research before you get there as you will not be able to get much help from this hotel.

Most hotels aslo have an airport checkin kiosk or counter. Although the Cosmo also has one, they only feature a few airlines. We eventually went to the Bellagio to get it done.

Housekeeping was also not very helpful. Sheets were due to be changed every 3rd day. We stayed there for 8 nights and not once was the sheets changed. Toiletries were also a hit and miss. Some days, we had to call to ask them to deliver additional toiletries as housekeeping didn't leave us with any. We did leave tips for them in the room but it didn't seem to improve things much.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bellagio fountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Also Known As:
The Cosmopolitan Of Las Vegas Hotel
The Cosmopolitan Of Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Address: 3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas is a unique luxury resort offering a decidedly different perspective, situated in the heart of The Strip directly between CityCenter and Bellagio. The resort’s uniquely vertical multi-tower design offers spectacular views of the vibrant city. The new 2,995-room resort features oversized, residential-style living spaces with expansive, one-of-a-kind private terraces. The Cosmopolitan’s luxurious resort amenities include a 100,000-square-foot casino; Sahra Spa & Hammam; three unique pool experiences at The Pool District; Marquee Nightclub & Dayclub at The Cosmopolitan, a multi-level integrated nightclub; and 150,000 square feet of state-of-the-art convention and meeting space. An eclectic lineup of new-to-market retailers include AllSaints Spitalfields, Beckley, CRSVR Sneaker Boutique, DNA2050, Droog, Molly Brown's Swimwear, Retrospecs & Co, Skins 6|2 Cosmetics and STITCHED. Signature restaurants include Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar & Grill by restaurateurs Bruce and Eric Bromberg; Comme Ça by Los Angeles Chef David Myers; Estiatorio Milos, by international restaurateur Costas Spiliadis; Holsteins from Block 16 Hospitality; Jaleo and China Poblano restaurants by acclaimed Chef José Andrés; Scarpetta and D.O.C.G. by award-winning Chef Scott Conant; and popular steakhouse STK from The ONE Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.