We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome to the future!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas to your Saves list
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pocatello
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“welcome to the future!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

i love this hotel it is so cool! and i love how they have it decorated in itself!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it is amazing with the black and other colors mixed in it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,670
    2,275
    902
    446
    370
See reviews for
843
3,366
280
1,545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

10 guys on a (shared 40th birthday) reunion - from 4 different continents....sharing 5 rooms at the cosmo.

Hotel met all our requirements. Nice rooms, clean, awesome beds and, pillows, linen etc. Nice big bathrooms. Hotel is basically an upmarket frat-house, with all the associated shenanigans. Very centrally located for all the 'in' fun spots. Nice pools and music as well. Marquee club housed on-site which was a bonus (hint - go to the day club rather than the night!).

Main lobby is just like every other Vegas cattle market. Impersonal, inattentive front desk service, ushering you skywards towards your rooms. Can't expect too much else when the place has 3000 rooms and has hundreds of new arrivals daily, at all hours.

Communal areas are really a bit of a let down once you go up from the lobby. (Floors 2/3/4). Bad choice of retro decor that just looks tired. Think the hotel from 'The Shining' and you'll have an idea of the carpets and colour schemes. A bit tatty and in need of investment in this area.

Place buzzes 24/7. Never sleeps and never has a quiet moment, though the rooms are private and quiet with great views on either side of Vegas.

I probably wouldn't recommend this to those with children and won't stay here my self when I come back to Vegas with the family - but it's a well priced, clean and central party hotel.

Room Tip: Not child friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very similar experience to many others on here - the hotel is great, but the service is terrible. Had a 4 night stay in a wrap-around suite and despite turning up at 9pm (and waiting for almost 20mins in line to get to the front desk) was told neither mine nor my friends suite were ready. Given check-out is 11am I'm not sure how this was possible! After almost 30mins of messing around (couldn't upgrade us as nothing hire, couldn't downgrade us as we'd paid in advance, etc.) we're told to expect a text when it was ready - this never happened but as I'd been out clubbing, and it was ready when I returned let this slide. The promised $200 food and drink credit promised never happened either.

After that debacle the rest of the stay was great - the room was amazing, 67th floor with great views, huge floor plan, great room service, etc. the hotel itself is built for the younger crowd and has a relatively small casino compared to others on the strip. The chandelier bar and Marquee nightclub are fantastic.

Pros:
Location on the strip is hard to beat
Lovely hotel and amenities
Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable
Eateries and drinking spots are good
Casino staff were great fun, very chatty and making jokes all the time

Cons:
Terribly understaffed for the number of rooms/guests
Reservation system (or policy) totally broken, especially for such a new hotel

In conclusion, I'm guessing that as they're new and hip they reckon they don't have to pay attention to service as closely as their rivals, as people will come anyway (when Hard Rock occupied that position, their service was still superb however) - but as soon as they're not to cool kid anymore, they're going to really struggle to get repeat business unless they up their game.

Room Tip: The side of he tower you get had a huge bearing on he quality of the view - 1 side is fantastic, 2 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Cosmo twice and I love Vegas!! (I love to gamble!) I have stayed at other hotels, but, if you can afford it, stay at the Cosmo at least once! It's huge with a bit more of a "ritzy" atmosphere, but all the glitz and glamour are what make it so fun! The balconies afford a fantastic view and there's Holly Madison's Peep Show accross the street (which is fun, but I would totally go with a big group, just fyi. If it's not a super crowded night, they may give you a free upgrade!) Anyway, just be aware, that if you want to use the pool, no matter who you are or how old you are, you have to have your ID on you at all times, otherwise you must go back to your room to get it (which sucks). However, just FYI, the rooms are SO COMFY, and there's so much to do there, you won't get bored. I will say though, expect to take awhile during check-in, as the lines are almost always long as they book lots of big groups there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We went to Vegas especially to see Steve Wonder who performed at Cosmopolitan. The hotel is luxurious and the beds are the best : biggest, softest with countless cushions !!!!!!! Restaurants especially breakfast are divine. A must stay if you are in Vegas ......... We had to change the rooms half way through our stay ( as we had two different bookings ) , but we were given the choice of rooms so we can see if we like them or not. I loved our room it was a little bit of heaven to relax in after tiring day x The rooms were beautiful and the house keeping staff were constantly making sure we had everything !!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have magnificent views !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed at The Cosmopolitan from Monday through Thursday as part of a conference. The hotel reception area is very impressive, beautiful video columns, gleaming floors and plenty of space. The lines for the reception area, that, I did not expect. It is good to note at this point that check in is at 3:00 p.m., if you come in early, and your room is not ready, they will check you in and will offer to send a text message to your phone when your room is ready for you. After around 20 minutes in line, my room was ready. I had a suite on the 15th floor, no view to speak off because it was located in the West Tower. The East Tower (ask for this tower when you check in) is the tower that faces Las Vegas Blvd. Also, ask for a high floor, the view from the 15th floor is obstructed by other hotel signs. As I enter my room, the tv is on, the screen has my name on it, as well as the phone screen. Very "technology friendly" this hotel, you can command the lights either from the front door - one small light switch says "hello" and another says "goodby", when you enter your room, you press the "hello" and the lights come on, when you leave, by pressing "goodby" the lights in the suite turn off.
My room had a full kitchen, and a full refrigerator, two bathrooms - full hall bathroom and a master bathroom that was huge and beautiful with a spa tub. A small kitchen seating area, a small living room with a big screen tv, a balcony, and one bedroom with the most comfortable bed I had ever slept in. This suite also has a washer and a dryer. You can control the lights, the sounds of your wake up call, all from your phone screen. The suite was tastefully decorated, and while I had almost no view due to the location of the 15th floor, I appreciated the balcony very much.
There are no coffee makers in the room because the hotel wants to "encourage" you to order room service, or to go down and enjoy their restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful, one pool faces the Las Vegas strip, very spacious, I did not try the spa, but I am sure it is just as beautiful.
The hotel seems to have a problem with cell phone reception, it seems to be a hit and miss problem.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the staff was incredibly nice, all the people I talked to were lovely and ready to help. I am looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room in the East Tower, and a high floor. You can use the refrigerator in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

So, Vegas is big, and glitzy, and generally has a lot of tacky places to stay. Even the "classy" casinos like Belagio and Wynn are pretty tacky in how OTT they are (IMO). OK, that's all part of the fun of Vegas, but it's nice to go to the different Casinos and see it, then retreat to somewhere glamorous, but not tacky. That's why we chose the Cosmopolitan.

It's still big. It's still OTT (think 3 story crystal chandelier with a bar inside). It's still full of slot machines downstairs... But it's doesn't feel tacky. It's actually pretty beautiful. Our room, a one bedroom terrace suite with Belagio view, was amazing... plenty big, and plenty chic. Fornasetti wallpaper in the closet, Jonathan Adler ceramics, and velvet couches add a quirky, retro-chic vibe. Room service was fast and tasty.

The view of Belagio fountain is AMAZING. The japanese soaking tub that overlooks that view, even better! One little note is that there is about a 3 or 4 inch gap between the wall of the balcony and the building, so it never feels as private as it should when your neighbours are on their balcony too.

Anyway, I'd definitely recommend The Cosmopolitan as a chic retreat that is just the right amount of "too much" on the strip.

Room Tip: One bed fountain view suite. It has a soaking tub you can relax in and watch the Belagio show from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Address: 3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 2995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas is a unique luxury resort offering a decidedly different perspective, situated in the heart of The Strip directly between CityCenter and Bellagio. The resort’s uniquely vertical multi-tower design offers spectacular views of the vibrant city. The new 2,995-room resort features oversized, residential-style living spaces with expansive, one-of-a-kind private terraces. The Cosmopolitan’s luxurious resort amenities include a 100,000-square-foot casino; Sahra Spa & Hammam; three unique pool experiences at The Pool District; Marquee Nightclub & Dayclub at The Cosmopolitan, a multi-level integrated nightclub; and 150,000 square feet of state-of-the-art convention and meeting space. An eclectic lineup of new-to-market retailers include AllSaints Spitalfields, Beckley, CRSVR Sneaker Boutique, DNA2050, Droog, Molly Brown's Swimwear, Retrospecs & Co, Skins 6|2 Cosmetics and STITCHED. Signature restaurants include Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar & Grill by restaurateurs Bruce and Eric Bromberg; Comme Ça by Los Angeles Chef David Myers; Estiatorio Milos, by international restaurateur Costas Spiliadis; Holsteins from Block 16 Hospitality; Jaleo and China Poblano restaurants by acclaimed Chef José Andrés; Scarpetta and D.O.C.G. by award-winning Chef Scott Conant; and popular steakhouse STK from The ONE Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cosmopolitan Of Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.