We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but that dang mini-bar!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas to your Saves list
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but that dang mini-bar!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Step away from the mini-bar!!! It appears if you so much as open it, touch anything inside, move anything, the sensor on each item goes off and immediately onto your bill (even though you put it right back where it was). We were celebrating a friends 45th and 50th birthdays (yeah, we were the old fogies, by comparison...but were having fun) and 4 couples ended up in our room for cocktails and laughs before we went out. As someone opened it to look inside, one of the others told us to check our bill on the TV. Sure enough, there was a $28 charge for 'mini-bar' (it was the wine...$28 for a single size glass of house wine, really?). So I looked inside and thought I was just looking, but once again, another charge. A simple call via the "beck and call" button on the phone and the charge was quickly removed. If you don't check your bill, you are likely to be paying for your unused mini-bar. Someone told us we could pay $25 to have the entire contents removed. We didn’t see the suggestion from someone else here to have them bring you a separate fridge, that would have been a good idea. I’m certain a charge would apply there also. When we tried to check out, our folio wasn't available, so not sure all the wrong charges got off, but I'm sure they will make it right.

This is definitely one of the pricier hotels in Vegas, and everything is a charge (and not a small one at that) except differing from another poster, we didn't have to pay for pool lounges and we always could find 4 or 5 together. The pool cabanas are a charge and appear very nice, but again....$1,000 a day for the nicest one, really? This is definitely a "seen and be seen" place. We likely wouldn't return as there are so many options in Vegas, but it is definitely worth at least one check out. I'd not judge the place on the casino (again, high minimums most of the time) but definitely the rooms. They are awesome (we were told this was originally built to be used as condos and we can see why).

One more interesting observation: In the East Tower, other than the 4th floor, there are no room floors with a 4 in them. Jumps from 4th floor to 15, 16, 17....23,25, 26...32,33,35...39 to 51, no 54, 64. What is the superstition with the #4? If you know, email me. Thanks. The West Tower did have room floors with 4’s in them.

Room Tip: North side of East Tower is an excellent view of the Bellagio fountains. Worth the upgrade $
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,732
    2,313
    913
    449
    374
See reviews for
858
3,414
286
1,562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

So I guess theses were built to be sold as condo's and didn't sell well, so our gain. This is in heart of everything on strip and rooms have a balcony which is unheard of in Las Vegas, so sitting on the balcony of the 30th floor overlooking all was a HUGE PLUS, and inside the hotel, three pools on different rooftop levels, one overlooking strip with movies at night on big screen one night we were there, and then two other pools, thinking 14th, and 17th floor, and different themes, and age groups on each one. FOOD, everything can imagine, and if can find the secret pizza place, really hidden but good quick slice of pizza. Every place we ate at was amazing, and back to the room AMAZING, has separate living room, with huge couch and both bedroom and living room have flat screens, and on TV control everything from lights in bathroom, to temp in room.
Bathroom had huge whirlpool tube and glass shower.

LOVE this place, and usually stay at Trump, or Palazzo, and now this is going to be another hotel I visit often.

Room Tip: Bookit.com it was a mystery hotel i purchased, but look at descriptions of mystery hotel and can f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lots of young energy at this hotel. Great decor. Casino tables should offer lower minimums. Per reviews here, I requested high floor room on the "quiet side."
There were 2 concerts in the hotel on Saturday night of our arrival. One was outdoor, pool-side. We never heard a peep. 53rd floor with view of Bellagio fountains. We checked in early Sat. (10 a.m.) and were given a room right away. It was a "City" room with 2 queen beds; handicap equipped - - which is possibly why it was available immediately. The clerk said the only difference was the metal support bar and fold out seat in the shower. No biggie, though I was hoping to get one of the jumbo showers I'd heard about.

As for the weighted 'fridge items, call ahead of arrival and request a second room fridge for personal use. The desk clerk suggested this, though none were avbl for us, so an automatic credit was noted on our bill so we wouldn't have to deal with it on check-out.

Check out via TV or phone and bypass front desk. Comfy beds, quiet room, nice staff.

Room Tip: Request a second mini-fridge for personal use, ahead of time and again at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Really lovely hotel and would definitely stay again but NEVER EVER check out without agreeing the bill first. They have added so much on to mine and now they simply do not answer my emails and say they will come back to me when I call. WATCH OUT!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed for three nights on the 46th floor. We had a great balcony view of the Belagio fountain and The Strip. Everything was great about the room and facilities. We had a great king suite! Beautiful pools. The only thing I would have liked was a place to eat a small breakfast. The ONLY breakfast offerings is a small coffee shop with sweet rolls,(they did offer bananas) or a restaurant offering buffett style fare, for one expensive price.

I wouldn't hesitate to book there again, but I would go off premises for breakfast!

Room Tip: Go to highest floor for grea views. The elevators are fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Myself and 7 firends went to the Cosmopolitan for 5 nights last week and i felt i needed to warn other travellers not to stay in this hotel. We chose this hotel as it was new and looked amazing on the website but when we got there we realised we made a mistake and should have stuck with Caesars Palace!
When we checked in we were advised that the rooms we booked in January 2011 did not exist and this was the fault of the website we booked with and our travel agent, luckly for us our travel agent was travelling with us. Eventually after an hour speaking with the check in guy and the manager and after first offering us a downgrade they put us in a wrap around suite. Now don't get me wrong the room was amazing and the view was spectacular we were on the 65th floor looking straight at the planet hollywood sign.
We were there for 5 nights and our room was cleaned twice, we found chewing gum at the side of the bed, there was still hairs in both showers, we ordered room service on the Saturday night and no one came to collect it and it was still in our room when we were checking out. Our friends other room had the same problem with hairs in the shower and they had the pleasure of finding a condom on there balcony aswell.
Throughout our stay it felt like everything was an effort when we asked staff in the hotel a question or enquired about anything.
With our package we were entitled to two free breakfasts each morning so two would pay each day and then the 8 of us with sit together, on the 5th morning we were told that if we all wanted to sit together that would be a charge of 8% charged to our room for a table of 8 or more!! We tried to explain we had sat together all the other days for breakfast and they said that was the charge when a manager came over we just knew there was no point in speaking with her as we were be told "were sorry you feel that way".
When we tired to go sit at any of the pools and sunbath we were shocked to find that you had to pay for a sun lounger nothing is free in this hotel. The sun loungers at the Boulevard pool are $100 and at the Marquee Dayclub probably looking at starting price of $200. All other hotels in Vegas u do not have to pay for a sun lounger.
There is no atmosphere in the hotels casino area compared to the likes of Caesars or MGM or New York New York.
There was more that happened but these are just some of our highlights! I would most definitly return to Vegas but i would never even return to the Cosmopolitan for a drink!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked a terrace studio and asked for a room with view to the Bellagio fountains at check-in. We got assigned a room at west tower, 27th floor and we were very impressed with the room. It was large and stylish, bedroom can be separated from living room by closing the sliding doors. 2 TV flat screens, a bath room with a kind of Jacuzzi overlooking the strip. We had direct view to Bellagio fountains and Hotel Paris Paris which was amazing. The further advantage was that the room was facing the North therefore we could really use the terrace as otherwise it would have been too hot during the day.

We were also happy about the west tower as the access was next to the main entrance (where taxis and tour busses are stopping) and opposite of the front desk.

Disappointing was the kitchenette as we had a sink, a microwave but NOT any plates, cups, spoons, forks, knifes... NOTHING! What's that? In another review I have read that the reason is that these things could be stolen. So I am wondering if in the future guests have to bring their own towels and toilet paper, this could be stolen too! ;-) Also no water boiler! This is really poor for a 5* hotel. Luckily we brought our own water boiler and 2 cups with us (incl. coffee) but when we asked for an adapter we were told "You can buy one at the hotel shop at US 30". That's really poor service! Finally we bought one outside of the hotel at US 7.99.

There was the Bamboo pool at west tower but this was really disappointing. Crowded and no free sun loungers. My boyfriend laid down on a free one and suddenly somebody showed up telling him that this one belongs to the cabanas. The pool itself was too warm, no real refreshment.

A bit annoying at this hotel was the incessant noise. It starts at the lobby where loud music is played the whole day and even in the room we heard the bass from the night & dayclub Marquee the whole clock round. But okay, when staying in Las Vegas you shouldn't plan getting much sleep anyway ;-)

The hotel staff were all friendly.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again as the location is really perfect, in the middle of the strip!

By the way, from/to the airport it's approx. 20 mins by taxi. The price for the arrival was US 26 (via motorway) but for the departure transfer (via city) we spent only US 16 (both +tip), so maybe the 1st driver added the tourist tax ;-)

Room Tip: Book a room with terrace and ask for a room facing Bellagio fountains at high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Address: 3708 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 2995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas is a unique luxury resort offering a decidedly different perspective, situated in the heart of The Strip directly between CityCenter and Bellagio. The resort’s uniquely vertical multi-tower design offers spectacular views of the vibrant city. The new 2,995-room resort features oversized, residential-style living spaces with expansive, one-of-a-kind private terraces. The Cosmopolitan’s luxurious resort amenities include a 100,000-square-foot casino; Sahra Spa & Hammam; three unique pool experiences at The Pool District; Marquee Nightclub & Dayclub at The Cosmopolitan, a multi-level integrated nightclub; and 150,000 square feet of state-of-the-art convention and meeting space. An eclectic lineup of new-to-market retailers include AllSaints Spitalfields, Beckley, CRSVR Sneaker Boutique, DNA2050, Droog, Molly Brown's Swimwear, Retrospecs & Co, Skins 6|2 Cosmetics and STITCHED. Signature restaurants include Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar & Grill by restaurateurs Bruce and Eric Bromberg; Comme Ça by Los Angeles Chef David Myers; Estiatorio Milos, by international restaurateur Costas Spiliadis; Holsteins from Block 16 Hospitality; Jaleo and China Poblano restaurants by acclaimed Chef José Andrés; Scarpetta and D.O.C.G. by award-winning Chef Scott Conant; and popular steakhouse STK from The ONE Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cosmopolitan Of Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.