We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy,clean air,family friendly hotel on the strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip to your Saves list
Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   80 E. Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Junior Suite Upgrade
Ranked #32 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
San Francisco CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trendy,clean air,family friendly hotel on the strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Can't beat the location.. Yes no casino but just 2minute walk to the Hollywood planet. No smoking hotel with great views. Perfect for families that want to be close to all the action. The hotels rooms are big modern and clean.if you are looking for the large crowds at pool and recycled smoked air this is not the place for you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    909
    290
    142
    89
See reviews for
583
1,199
106
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We liked the Elara time share hotel if you don't mind not being right on the strip. It was very clean and all the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our view was overlooking the Planet Hollywood Mile Shopping center. Not very appealing but we did have a small view of the balloon from Paris. We did like having a Starbucks in the lobby and also to get to the strip, we could walk through the Mile Shopping Center instead of going outside which was very nice. Our room had a microwave, small fridge, and a sink which was wonderful to have.
I would recommend staying here if you don't have to spend 4 hours listening to the time share selling meeting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Property was beautiful. Front desk staff very knowledgeable and friendly . Accommodations were excellent. Great first Vegas experience. We would plan a trip with family next time. 1 Bedroom Suite would be ideal for family of 4 as room has fridge and stove. Mile of restaurants and stores with Plant Hollywood adjoining.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel provided a stress free arrival & we stayed on the 51st floor. WoW what a fantastic view!!! No shuttle but taxi is less than $15 was very convenient and prompt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I have no complaints about our stay here. Very friendly staff and great service. They have a wonderful pool with a great bar staff that will bring you drinks and food. They also have someone who stands in front of the elevators to scan your key cards to verify you are a guest so that only guests get on the elevator. It's the same with the pool which is nice to know that it is only used by hotel guests. There is a Starbucks in the lobby where you can get 10 percent off if you are staying at the Hilton. The resort is also attached to the miracle mile mall with tons of shopping and restaurants! Rooms are nice, comfortable, and clean. Not attached to a casino which was great for us but may be a downfall if you want to gamble a lot. However, planet Hollywood is attached through the mall.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located just off the strip, with the Miracle Mile shopping mall and Planet Hollywood right on the doorstep. Rooms are large and, with floor to ceiling windows, have excellent views. Unfortunately the rooms have extremely poor sound insulation, such that you can hear the slightest noise from adjacent rooms - and even rooms down the corridor when occupants are in 'party' mood - at all hours of the day and night. A shame as the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever attempted to sleep in. My room overlooked the pool, which blasts out loud music from around 8am every day and could clearly be heard on the 12th floor.

Room Tip: Don't accept an 'upgrade' to a room overlooking the pool, due to the noise. Rooms on hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014


We visited Elara from 3/4-3/7. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our friends who were celebrating their 10yr wedding anniversary in Vegas. We arrived at the hotel very late on the 4th.
So, after a long day of traveling we just went to bed without turning on all the lights and inspecting the room. (Which my husband always does and I call it OCD, but from this point on I will call it NE CES SARY)

The next morning our friends discovered the most disgusting thing in their room. A woman's used sanitary product rolled up and left on the couch!
We were all totally disgusted by the fact that our room was not cleaned thoroughly that this garbage was overlooked by housekeeping.

We immediately spoke with the front desk manager, regarding the issue. He promised to have the room cleaned immediately.

When we returned to our room a few hours later, it was evident that the room had NOT been cleaned. However, the sanitary product was removed.(Or so we thought.)
The Front desk manager left a message that he would like to accommodate us for the HUGE inconvenience. He extended a $100 credit to our room to use for the remainder of our stay and allowed us to check out two hours later. We accepted it as sufficient for this MAJOR, UNACCEPTABLE yet forgivable oversight!
IF the story stopped here, I would have given this place FOUR stars.

BUT IT GETS WORSE.

Here's where it turns vile!!
When we returned home and our friends were unpacking they discovered that the sanitary product that was found in the hotel was put into their luggage!

This is the most revolting thing I have ever heard of and experienced! It is mind-boggling that ANYONE, let alone the housekeeping staff, would do something so disgusting and unwarranted. It feLt like I was being filmed on hotel nightmares that should be aired on 20/20.
The saga continues, after emailing the hotel about the issue, the director of housekeeping contacted me and apologized up and down. He even thanked me for my detailed description of the events, which helped them to pin point who was involved. And after " pleading" that we be refunded, NOW PAY ATTENTION: they began the disciplinary process for the parties involved!!! Their housekeeping staff is unionized ie THEY STILL WORK AT ELARA!!!!
So BEWARE. You never know what could end up in your luggage, on your toothbrush, in your bed.

Just know that your stay at Elara could go from RELAXING to REPUGNANT in seconds!!

While I have to say the executive housekeeping manager was very professional, I have not heard a word, NOT even an I'm sorry from general management. Not to mention, my refund was "pleaded" for over a week ago and I still had not received it at the time of my review.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that you had to go through this experience regarding the issues with Housekeeping and once we learned of the situation it was handled appropriately. I am glad that my Executive Housekeeper contacted you about the issue as he wanted to be the one to take ownership of his area. I do appreciate your comments.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip

Address: 80 E. Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club-Center Strip, provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.