We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great staff, that's about it though.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip to your Saves list
Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   80 E. Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Junior Suite Upgrade
Ranked #29 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location and great staff, that's about it though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

All the staff was excellent. The location is perfect as it is in the middle of the strip but not in a casino. Very nice lobby. The rooms are okay though they are getting a little tired. Lots of scuffs and marks on the furniture. Well used for sure and the hallways are dark and dirty. Our jacuzzi tub was broken and the hotel ran out of hot water during our stay as well which was a disappointment. Having to pay extra for wifi is annoying. I was told when making my reservation that there was complementary Starbucks which was not true. We were there for 5 days but the pool was closed all but one. One of the more off putting parts of the experience was getting transferred to a high pressure time share sales pitch following my reservation. That alone has put me off Hilton brand. All in all, there is potential for an excellent experience though I am not sure I would risk it again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate the kind words regarding our team as they work extremely hard to provide the best experience possible for our guests. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your room and that you were told you would receive complimentary Starbucks. I will be sharing your comments with my Sales team regarding your experience and I appreciate your comments.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    1,103
    342
    164
    100
See reviews for
731
1,452
128
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Almost every hotel in Las Vegas is located pass a casino, so the crowds are often in every corner and the noises of the slot machines, aside of the tourism hours, could reveal to be annoying. So, comes Elara hotel as a great option to be either very near to the Strip (it connects to the Miracle Mile shopping mall and Planet Hollywood), but also calm, without casinos and, as so, the crowds. It has a 24/7 Starbucks in the lobby (great finding to jet-laggers), and good access to taxis, rental companies, etc. Our room was located in the 26th floor, with great views. Better options invlude rooms up to 50th plus floors. We definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Asked for a room with a view..as it was our 10th wedding anniversary and it surpassed all my expectations !!! Jacuzzi in bedroom, huge walk in shower...fab dining area..massive lounge..Also great pool area with lush cabanas..and lovely bar area..what more could you want ...all staff encountered were extremely helpful .Would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Check in took 30 minutes at 9PM at night. The counter staff seemed to have great difficulty with several guests' issues. Room was ok, but had no coffee cups. Charge for internet. Hotel signs for self-parking and then locating lobby ate poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize it took so long to check in as this is not normal to have to wait for that long. We do charge for the internet but we also have complimentary options in our Business Center and at Starbucks.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked a quiet room. Checked in Nov 2 late due to flight looking forward to a 5 night stay. Very noisy room. I asked to move and told could be done next day when 372 rooms would become available. Next day they refused to move us. Didn't get a good night sleep once despite ear plugs. When checking out told that next time we shouldn't book a room when they have a convention. Next time?
Oh, the sock over the smoke detector on the ceiling was an unusual and disgusting touch.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I understand the importance of a good night’s sleep and I apologize that there were some noises that were bothersome. I will be sharing your feedback with my team so we can discuss the opportunities where we can do better and thank you for your comments.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here while attending a convention and really enjoyed the experience. We arrived around noon, and had to wait until later in the afternoon for our room to be ready which really was no big deal. Our room was a corner junior suite on the 52nd floor and it was spectacular. It really isn't the 52nd floor as there are no floors between 39 and 50, but it was still very high up with a great view. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was probably the best I have ever had, wanted to take it home. The room was very quiet, and everything was as it should be.
In terms of location the hotel is very well positioned, right next door to Planet Hollywood and the hotel opens directly onto the Miracle Mile shoppping area. We used the ABC store there for our drink and snack purchases, definitely cheaper than the hotel store. The 24 hour Starbucks on site was a nice touch. The pool area was very nice, but the water was a little too cold for early October, even if it was still 90 degrees. Service was excellent and I would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've stayed here 2 times now.
First was for my stag and it was awesome. I cannot say enough great things about the staff and the rooms during our stay here. I really like this hotel to me it feels very modern & masculine (black toilets, red leather couches, & pop art.)

We booked 2 JR suits, they were huge & across the hall from each other. For 10 of us this place priced out better than any other hotel on the miracle mile (No Hotel Fees either). Getting a full kitchen, laundry room, living room with projection screens, & 2 full bedrooms was exceptional.

I stayed here the first time during May Long Weekend - the pool was amazing also! Lots of sitting areas, great DJ, and bar.

The second time was for Halloween with friends/couples so we all had our own rooms.
I only have 2 complaints and that's why I can't give this place a perfect score.

This last time around, the room next to us was a large suite. We had a side room that could open up to the suite. On our 2nd night the larger suites guests checked in and they were so loud! Clearly a stag and they were having a blast, which is great but, it actually felt like they were in our room. I think hotel staff told them to shut their music off, which they did, but every time they were there we could hear their conversations, or they woke us up, or we were just very aware of them. So maybe not the most soundproof hotel if you get a room like mine.

The second negative is the wifi situation.. It's so strange that it's not included. I payed the $10 for a day and it didn't work in our room. I had a better connection at Starbucks in the lobby. Which isn't convenient when you have 4 other groups staying on different floors and you are trying to stay somewhat connected.

I travel a lot and not being from the states I hate having my iPhone on as much as I had to here. I try to utilize wifi as much as possible when I'm away from home & I sorta expect it to be available & convenient when I am staying in a hotel.

That being said everything else is pretty great here. No resort fees rock and the pool is awesome.



Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip

Address: 80 E. Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club-Center Strip, provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.