We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One year wedding Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip to your Saves list
Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   80 E. Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Junior Suite Upgrade
Ranked #31 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One year wedding Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Massive rooms, luxurious stay, jacuzzi in the room, large screen projector.
Great views of the strip. It does not have its own casino but the hotel is right across the street from Planet Hollywood and Cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    912
    291
    142
    89
See reviews for
585
1,201
106
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The pool closed at 8 pm. That is too early. Only two ice machines, one on the 50th floor, the other on the 5th. I had to ride the elevator to get ice. My Verizon Hot Spot (which is for internet access) and my ATT cell phone did not get a good signal in my room and were both difficult to use. They both always get get good signals in hotels, especially near airports and in big cities. I speculated that the hotel building was set up to block signals? I do not like to be charged for wifi access that I think should be free so I did not buy the hotel's wifi. Every morning I went for Starbucks coffee it took 30 minutes from the room and back. They need additional staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am a frequent business traveller and typically stay at Hilton chains.

I stayed at Elara (former Planet Hollywood / Westgate Towers) for 4 nights in May 2013 for a convention that had several locations along the strip.

I was upgraded to a corner suite with two King bedrooms facing south and east.
I am not particular about my views, but you may be. South faces the airport and MGM Grand hotels. East (Not too many rooms facing east) faces an empty lot and mountains in the distance. North faces PH Mall and Paris Hotel/Strip. West/North West faces the Strip.

The room was excellent, albeit far too much room for one person, but I appreciated the chance to spread out. It made 4 nights (quite long for Vegas) very comfortable. The full size dining table was a plus as a workspace.

The lobby was in the midst of renovation to move away from the 'red' themes that I have read complaints about, and more towards Hilton or neutral colors it seems.

Some things to note about this hotel that are either plus or minus' dependent upon your requirements for Vegas:
-Elara is situated next to the strip, but not directly on it. This makes in and out via car or tax very, very easy.
-Parking is easiest when you valet. Valet is comparable to other hotels for nightly parking fees and not excessive. Valets during the weekdays were very, very prompt.
-Elara is connected via sidewalks and walkways, and it is reasonable to walk to:
Planet Hollywood (5 minutes), Paris Hotel (5-7 minutes outside), Cosmo (5-10 minutes over pedestrian bridge), Aria (5-10 minutes over pedestrian bridge), Bellagio (10-15 minutes over pedestrian bridge or across intersection).
-Elara does not have its own Casino, and thus, there is no smoking within the hotel; very good for families!
-The Hotel instead opens up to the PH mall. A 5 minute walk through the mall brings you to Planet Hollywood Casino or to the exit at Harmon Ave and Las Vegas Blvd.
-There are a large variety of reasonably priced restaurants in the mall and in the immediate areas around Harmon and LV Blvd.


Elara is not a traditional 'strip' hotel in its newest iteration away from a primarily Westgate condominiums. I found the service at the front desk to be especially accomodating. They were willing to help at any request. Security at the elevators to check room keys was also a plus, as was the promptness of parking and valet service.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business travelers needing a location close to the strip but not requiring a casino. I would also highly recommend this hotel for families, especially if you have kids as the rooms are spacious, and the lack of smoking in the lobby area is a plus for parents wanting to keep kids away from second hand smoke. If you require a Casino, then this is not the hotel for you, unless you're willing to walk 5 minutes to the PH Casino through the mall.

I look forward to my next stay at the Elara.

Room Tip: If you want a strip view, ask for a room on the west side of the hotel. If you are an upgrade elig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had to switch rooms after a few days due to internet connection problems. I have stayed at this property several times before - and every time I am in a room located at the end of the floor (farthest from the elevators), I am unable to find the hotel wifi signal. The front desk was very receptive of this situation and was able to switch my room. Once I was switched to a room in the middle of the hotel, I never had a wifi problem again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August and we are very glad we did.

Location is excellent very central on the strip.

A few things you may not realise.... This is not a regular Hilton Hotel its a Vacation club so there is no Breakfast, No HHonors upgrades ... having said that I booked a Cinema Room suite on the 55th floor which had a great Jacuzzi bath, enormous Cinema screen blind and an amazing view of Vegas. We had a kitchen and even a washing machine and dryer.

It does not have things like casinos, shops etc like the MGM or the Bellagio but it connects straight in to Planet Hollywood which does have some of those things. This suited us as the place is not crammed full like the other hotel's public areas. There is a 24 hour Starbucks which was very handy.

We will stay here next time we are in Vegas.

My only niggle is the TV system it takes patience as it freezes on the menus often.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel and is old and the rooms were not very clean, the wallpaper was coming off in the bathroom and we requested and room with a bathtub which we did not get. When we were ready to check out we ask the bell hop to come get our bags, well they never showed up and we waited for at least 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and I apologize that our Resort appeared old to you. In fact, the building itself is less than 4 years old. We are however, remodeling the rooms to take care of some condition items to keep up with our standards. I will look into why the bellman never came to your room but sometimes it does take between 15-20 minutes for them to make it up to a particular room.

Stephen Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited Las Vegas for a friends daughters wedding had a fantastic time and will definitely visit again.Great position just off the strip, ideal for shopping as well as casino life. If you intend to visit Las Vegas in January as we did make sure to take some warm clothing ! The swimming pool was frozen over, but that did not detract from the great time we had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip

Address: 80 E. Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club-Center Strip, provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elara, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club - Center Strip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.