We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of David Copperfield

David Copperfield
3799 Las Vegas Blvd S, MGM Grand, Las Vegas, NV 89109
7028917777
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: David Copperfield has been hailed by audiences and critics alike as the greatest illusionist of our time.He’s the first living illusionist to be honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He was knighted by the French government. He received a Living Legend award from the Library of Congress. He’s won over 21 Emmy awards for his groundbreaking television specials, and he holds 11 Guinness World Records. Sound impossible? David Copperfield built a reputation on making the impossible look easy.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Gonna be honest here....dont wanna be the barrier bad news but surprisingly I was disppointed. I've always been an admirer since I was a young chld and thought he was an amazing magician on tv. Attended with my daughter, and I was sharing stories with her about watching DC make the Statue Liberty disappear etc... I've now seen a fair amount of magician and this show was pretty average nothing mind blowing or provided a wow factor. Maybe its the delivery however not happy we spent a bundle with nothing really spectacular to remember! Overrated IMHO

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    498
    264
    145
    124
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“True Illusions right in front of your eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

You won't believe what David does right in front of your eyes, I came in a skeptic and expecting to see evidence of wires and slight of hands. Didn't happen. He is a true professional that is passionate about his craft - and he works his entire theatre so no one is disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I plan to see him again! We are total magic fanatics. He didnt disappoint.
The only part that we didn't think was
Acceptable was the prices for drinks and snacks. We already paid a decent price for tickets. Should charge $20 for a Bailey's and coffee.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Has been a lifelong dream to see the man live and he did not dissapoint. Simply amazing it had me walking out wondering how the hell he did some of the show. Will be back next visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“David Copperfield lives up to his reputation - must see for anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I saw David Copperfield a second time in June 2014, after seeing him in August 2013. He had a very long, new magic piece, at least 20 minutes long, which I will simply call the 'alien' piece, although the story itself is another one about his father. It was creative and different, although I don't think as strong as the magic that got removed to make room for it.

His illusions overall are very good to great, especially the car, and his closing illusion involving many audience members (I will not say more, because a good part of magic is not knowing what to expect). He uses numerous people from the audience throughout the show, although if you are in the back you are not too likely to get picked. This show seemed to be hampered a little bit by him picking people whose first language was not English, who seemed unable to follow instructions and/or play along with him as much, because they seemed a bit lost. Copperfield was a good ad-libber dealing with them.

He does one effect using the audience's smart phones, so bring it if you have one and want to be a part of that. However, don't use it to take pictures - his security is present and will stop you if you take video or pictures. Also don't come late - he playfully had fun with some late arrivals, so you might get picked on a bit if you are late (in addition to missing great magic).

Copperfield is mind-boggling the first time you see it, which you should do, even if magic is not your most favorite entertainment. He is a great illusionist. Drinks and snacks are available for purchase at your table. There is a magic shop in the MGM Grand that you should visit too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Copperfield also viewed

 

Been to David Copperfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Copperfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.