We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm - just awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #1 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm - just awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Apologies for the lateness of this review - I spent so long researching our trip and posting on the LV forums beforehand but have only just got around to writing this review.

I'll try to give you a little background on our trip and then layout the good, the bad and the ugly.

My husband and I stayed at the MO in February 2010 for 8 nights along with my parents. I've been to LV a few times before with my work but this was the first time I was going for pleasure. As this would be the first time for both my husband and my parents I wanted everything to be perfect so did many months of research prior to our trip.

I've stayed at the Palazzo on previous trips and thoroughly enjoyed it so made a reservation there as part of my first research. A few weeks later I also got a good rate for Encore so did a booking there too. While further surfing I found an incredible deal on city and show.com for the MO. The only issue was I had to pay up front and the MO was not yet open so I had no reviews to enable me to make that big decision. Having stayed a other MO's and by asking LV Forum experts I took the gamble and made the city and show reservation. I rang the hotel a few days later and they confirmed the booking for both my husband and I and my parents and asked us if we had any special requirements. I think with tax we paid about £139 a night - bargain in my eyes.

So to the actual trip......
We landed at McCarran, grabbed our hire car and headed to the MO. Contrary to later reviews we found the entrance to CityCenter and the tunnel to the MO very easily although some taxi drivers during our trip did struggle.
As we pulled up we were greeted by the top hatted bellboys who asked our last name and radio'ed our arrival up to the main reception. Our bags were quickly whisked away although we asked for our golf bags to be stored - "no problem Mr XXX" came the quick response.
We were escorted upstairs in one of the three elevators that leads from the lower lobby and shown to the reception desk. We were very warmly greeted by our names and informed that my parents had arrived safely the previous day (they came a day earlier than us and left a day earlier) and were settled in. We were then given cold towels and jasmine tea presented beautifully with an orchard. A quick check in later (5 mins max) we were shown to our room.
A quick tour of the amenities followed and we were left to unpack. A few moments later the light for our valet closet went on and we opened it to be greeted by an MO bag which upon inspection contained golf balls, a presentation box of spa oils and a wonderful hand written note from the lovely girl on reception who had checked us in. In the few minutes it had taken for us to be escorted to our room and shown around she had written a card saying what a pleasure it had been to meet us, check us in and that she hoped we enjoyed our golf and spa treatments - something we had discussed briefly during check in - wonderful service.

Our room was beautiful and although not big by LV standards was perfectly adequate for our stay. I loved the valet closet which turned out to be handy as we had to use it to access our room on two occasions (more about that later).
The bed was extremely comfortable although the sheets were still a little new - a few more wash cycles and they would be perfect.
The bathroom was great with good lighting, perfect for applying my make up and the amenities provided were excellent especially the hair straighteners. The bath was great - perfect to lay back and soak in.
The wardrobe section of the room was good too although it was a little tight for hanging space for our eight days.

Now for our slight problem - in our first three days we got locked out of our room three times - the first time in the afternoon and we were let in by security within 5 mins and our keys reset but the second and third time it was close to midnight each time and a major inconvenience as we had to wait for security for 15 mins each time. They arrived with a machine to reset the lock but when that failed I showed security how to open the valet closet and reach through to open the door. Not wanting this to keep happening as there was obviously a fault with the card reader on the door, I called the Duty Manager who was extremely apologetic and offered us an upgrade to a Premier room. He even arranged for all our belongings to be transferred to the same place in the new room. The next morning we left early and returned later in the afternoon to collect the keys to our new room. It was fabulous! Whilst I appreciated the cosiness of the standard room I loved the bathroom and closet space of the Premier room.

We ate a few times in MOzen, used the bar and had afternoon tea and all were fabulous.

So apologies for the long review - here are the good, the bad and the ugly:

THE GOOD
The service is just fabulous, everytime we left or arrived we were greeted personally by everyone we passed.
Attention to detail.
The afternoon tea - just yummy and very sophisticated
The reception being on the 23rd floor kept riff raff from gawping around the hotel
The lack of casino meant for an oasis of calm and feeling of tranquility
The spa - hot stone massage was brilliant
Cucumber and cilantro margarita in the Mandarin Bar

THE BAD
Just the lock issue

THE UGLY
Nothing at all

In summary I cannot recommend the MO highly enough if you want a peaceful, professional, service rich oasis of calm in Las Vegas. We're returning in November and I cannot wait!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,307
    314
    89
    19
    21
See reviews for
309
1463
147
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Mandarin Oriental a good choice for Las Vegas

We stayed here for 2 nights this week and really liked the hotel..

The room: Opulent and decadent and with a beautiful bathroom. I did not like the beds, but that is a matter of opinion. Some probably will love them, I found them too soft. We had room number 1609 with a beautiful view of the strip down to Paris
I loved the closet room, nice to have enough space for clothes.
Every morning they bring your news paper in the valet closet, so you will not be disturbed.

The pool area is really beautiful and is divided into two sections where one is for adults only and the other has two large lap pools with really nice sun loungers and excellent service. They set you up with mineral water and towels and comes around every hour with smoothies or ice cream samples.

We had breakfast in the room in the morning, and they set a complete table for 4 up with flowers and small juice samplers.

We also ate lunch at the Mozen. I had the Bento box and My husband had the Kobe Burger – both good and the children menu was also really good with fish options – which our youngest loves.

The reason I cant give this a 5 star rating is the fact that they forgot the promised welcome gift for the children, the container for bath salt was empty and dirty, the bathtub had large black streaks on the outside and they also forgot to subtract the credit included in our rooms rate at check out. All was fixed when we told them, but make sure you check your bill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Firstly .. the rooms.....everything works, everything automated, curtains, television, lights all from a touchpad by the beds!!! The beds are like a comfy marshmallow and VERY difficult to get out of in the morning - especially when you have a floor to ceiling glass window with a view of the 'eiffel tower'!!! AND .....now the best bit........the staff here cannot be improved upon.....polite, friendly without intrusion and an overall air of calm and peace in the middle of Vegas ...AMAZING!! They will go out of their way to assist you with any request.....we decided on an impromptu renewal of views at the little white chapel with Marilyn Monroe present - Joe the concierge went out of his way to organise and communicate with us every step of the way. Oh......and did I mention the best spa ever with a couple suite with tub and view of the strip!!! AND the best massage ever........ I just hope the 'secret' of this hotel doesnt get out to quickly!!!!!!! We want to be able to book rooms again and again!!!!!!
PS - my husband has a medical condition requiring a ventilator machine at night - within seconds of our arrival and it being mentioned an electrician was knocking a tthe door to set it up for us ensuring wires etc concealed.......PPS ..... I will leave those who stay to 'discover' their way of making sure your shoes are cleaned and papers delivered without any disturbance to you at all!!!!!!!
THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL 5 DAYS
Sue and Colin from England

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Brand new hotel. Maybe the best hotel rooms in the country. Everything controlled in the room by touch pad (lighting, drapes, TV, music, temperature, etc). Very quiet and calm. Pool is very nice and while not huge certainly large enough for the hotel guests. Excellent service. Great breakfast and a spectacular lounge on the 23rd floor with a great view. We enjoyed the calm of the hotel after being on the strip at night for dinner and shows. Had dinner at Twist and it was just ok---maybe we were not in the mood for such a sophisticated dinner. Dinner the prior night at Bartolotta at Wynn was much better. Lots to do in City Center which is all just next door to the Mandarin.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed 4 nights, one and a half days of which was business. Lobby on 23rd floor of 47 story bldg, hotel below, residences above. Rooms are amazing. All is controlled from a touchpad on night table. Built in furniture is stunning. Bathroom great but couldn’t get tv in mirror to work. Service is really special, always smiling and very helpful. Many employees are from former Mandarin Kahala in Hawaii, which was sold, jobs were offered to re-locate to Vegas. Breakfast was superb, it helped getting $50 in vouchers per day toward breakfast booking through Amex FHR. Not enough loungers at pool on weekend, arrive early and put down a magazine. Men need a jacket at Twist, the restaurant on 23rd floor. Will always remember attendant at spa coming in to steam room with an ice towel for my head.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Plain and simple, the best place to stay in Las Vegas if you want the best,, From the staff to the beds everything is impeccable. Past reviewers complained about the sheets, I guess they never experienced excellent quality linens and a good ironing. Red flower amenities for the bathroom is one of the nicest choices. This is 5 star +. Now the spa,,, again, the best ever. The haman is very good..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skonicke
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed in an executive suite. It had a lot of widows and great views of the strip. The pool was south beach chic and a great place to relax and have quiet time. The gym was great, they actually had pilates reformers and offered several classes in pilates, yoga , and kinesis.

We found the concierge extremely helpful. They offered great recommendations and VIP listing to most of the popular hot spots.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only six triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of CityCenter, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.