We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! (Visited April 2013 )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #1 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding! (Visited April 2013 )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental and it was just outstanding. From the minute we arrived by taxi at the hotel we were greeted by the doorman who then immediately contacted reception on the middle floor who again greeted us before we even reached the desk. The hotel room was fabulous with a view of the strip. As it was my husband's birthday they had left chocolate covered fresh strawberries with a note in the room. Lovely huge bath, sheer luxury. The room was remote controlled with lighting, air con, music, TV, blinds that opened to show the fabulous view and had the best bed I have ever slept in anywhere. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast there and also had a few drinks in the bar where the view again was out of this world. For anyone who has not been lucky enough to visit Vegas, a hotel without a casino can be lovely as you can have a little quiet time in a place that is buzzing 24-7. We enjoyed a lovely meal on the roof terrace. The hotel has a fabulous spa which offers lots of treatments. As for Vegas itself, got to be one of my favourite places. The scale of everything is huge and the Bellagio fountains beautiful which dance to the wonderful music played, what a magical experience. We loved going to Pawn Stars shop (as seen on TV) worth the wait to get in. Also loved the visit to the white wedding chapel, in an area which was a surprise to us! Visit the famous Las Vegas sign which you need to get to by car/taxi as this is in the middle of a highway. Dining at Excalibur was great. Never seen so much food and Desert for breakfast WOW! TIP: have a limit on what you want to gamble and allow for spending in the local outlet which is a nice afternoon out. The strip is bigger and better then you can ever imagine. Downtown (original Vegas) interesting but preferred the strip by miles !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,802
    372
    104
    21
    21
See reviews for
395
1,767
173
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Welcome back to paradise was our welcome when we stepped out of our car as we arrived at the MO and yes it was. All staff knew we were returning guests. I arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport in their car and we were meeted and greeted by the driver at arrivals and taken seemlessly to paradise. This was our second visit to the hotel and am pleased to say that nothing has changed the hotel still maintains high quality everything. No casino/no smoking is a big plus. The rooms are fantastic, housekeeping is second to none. The pool area is great, comfortable loungers and the pool staff can't do enough for you. Unlike some hotels on the Strip where I have heard they waited for 30 minutes to have a hostess offer a drink service not here I think we must waited all of 2 minutes to be served. The pool staff were always bringing us iced water and in addition throughout the day offered samples of their smoothies and iced grapes - nice touches. Personally I can't see us staying anywhere else when visiting Las Vegas. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights last week and I can say visually one of the nicest hotels on the strip, it punches with the Aria and Cosmo, no doubt at all. The rooms are amazing, so detailed and clean, soft beds (tiny, but soft) with a beautiful layout. The staff are sharp and professional with every issue you could imagine, nothing is too much trouble. . . . But this hotel is for a certain clientele, a client with a lot of money and maybe in an older age bracket, not looking for the "party/ casino" style of Las Vegas. Upon returning to the hotel after say midnight, you almost feel like a naughty kid sneaking home, cause the hotel feels empty and the staff almost seem confused to see people return at a late hour. But the biggest down fall is a design flaw with the lift system, to check in you must get into one lift to the 23rd floor where you check in, then get in a different lift to go to your room. Now to leave you must go back up to the 23rd floor, change to a different set of lifts and then go down to the ground, very annoying and impractical. Apart from that, nice hotel for the right person :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are much better, because it means less distance you have to come up to go back down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I loved this hotel, it has a prim location on the strip, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. the Mozen Bistro on the 3rd floor is really good. the pool and spa facilities are gorgeous. However my favorite part about the hotel is the there is no casino meaning that you dont have a million tourists tramping through the hotel.

Room Tip: Strip view suites have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Checking in at the 23rd floor aerie and then meandering through the sumptuous common spaces to your ultra-luxe room, you get the feeling that if the MO isn't heaven to the strip's Sin City hell, then it is at least a fine purgatory.

I just stopped in for a night this weekend, having spent the previous few nights at the Hard Rock where I was staying to see a show. My aim was to get some solid R&R before heading back home to the East Coast, and the MO definitely delivered on those expectations.

It's worth noting that every local to whom I mentioned my plan, from taxi drivers to staff at other hotels, agreed that the MO was the best hotel in town, and would be their choice for a quiet weekend away. That kind of local rep, in a service town, from other service professionals, is the best endorsement you can get.

So lets just start from the axiom that this is the best hotel in town, because that is the clear consensus. It is worth the modest premium you'll pay over other rates in town. By the time you weave through a 2 hour check-in line at the Bellagio, you will be kicking yourself for being stingy. There is no comparison on the strip. What follows, then, is quibbles and nits in comparison with other superluxe properties globally, and not in comparison with other Strip stalwarts. Ok, well, there is one LV comparison worth noting - the rooms aren't the biggest on the strip. So if you prefer quantity to quality in your square footage, you might be underwhelmed.

But what you lose in pure square footage, you gain in total immersion in great design and uncanny need anticipation. For example, you sit down at the desk, you see the state of the art media connectivity panel. You think "gee, I wish I brought my 1/8" cable." Before you have a chance to utter a mild expletive, you notice an upholstered container labeled "cables" and inside? Exactly what you were looking for the first place you would look for it!

I had this experience throughout the suite and throughout the stay. Outlets right where you are looking for them, towels right where you reach when your eyes are filled with soap, mirrors where you want to see yourself (and not where you don't), light switches in perfect locations. A yoga mat - in the closet! A hair iron - how happy would my wife have been to see that? A dedicated teapot for their wonderful teas. They have thought of *everything*. Even something they didn't have - a blackberry charger - they just gave me a claim tag and charged it for me overnight.

The pool deserves special mention, because it is calm, beautiful, and has a great 8th floor view. If you are looking for a pool party, please go elsewhere. There are two long and narrow pools and a hot tub. The gym is all dark wood with great equipment and overqualified staff. The bar on the lobby level reminds me of the American Bar at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo in sophisticated feel, only with better food and higher quality drinks. The bar tenders are knowledgeable and friendly. I had a gin martini and the "Golden Leaf" which was delicious.

My package included continental breakfast at the Mozen bistro, a very nice little cafe overlooking the City Center.

No question this is five stars. No other place in Las Vegas has the same combination of luxury rooms, location, and service. If you want to feel above the fray, looking down on the poor souls baking in the hellish heat of the strip, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is clean and quiet, nice relaxing atmosphere, great service and wonderful spa. Just what we needed after day of enjoying Vegas. There were couple delays with wallet parking, but other than that it was superb!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel sits midway between the North and South ends of the Strip. It is non smoking and has no casino or mall , which is a huge advantage however there are plenty casinos within easy reach. The hotel and its rooms are beautifully decorated and the pool area is especially tranquil with attentive, helpful staff. All the food we had in the hotel was of the highest standard. The lift system ensured privacy and security for hotel guests. We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel , especially our room which was extremely comfortable, quiet, elegant and had fantastic views of the strip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only six triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of CityCenter, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.