We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! (Visited April 2013 )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding! (Visited April 2013 )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental and it was just outstanding. From the minute we arrived by taxi at the hotel we were greeted by the doorman who then immediately contacted reception on the middle floor who again greeted us before we even reached the desk. The hotel room was fabulous with a view of the strip. As it was my husband's birthday they had left chocolate covered fresh strawberries with a note in the room. Lovely huge bath, sheer luxury. The room was remote controlled with lighting, air con, music, TV, blinds that opened to show the fabulous view and had the best bed I have ever slept in anywhere. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast there and also had a few drinks in the bar where the view again was out of this world. For anyone who has not been lucky enough to visit Vegas, a hotel without a casino can be lovely as you can have a little quiet time in a place that is buzzing 24-7. We enjoyed a lovely meal on the roof terrace. The hotel has a fabulous spa which offers lots of treatments. As for Vegas itself, got to be one of my favourite places. The scale of everything is huge and the Bellagio fountains beautiful which dance to the wonderful music played, what a magical experience. We loved going to Pawn Stars shop (as seen on TV) worth the wait to get in. Also loved the visit to the white wedding chapel, in an area which was a surprise to us! Visit the famous Las Vegas sign which you need to get to by car/taxi as this is in the middle of a highway. Dining at Excalibur was great. Never seen so much food and Desert for breakfast WOW! TIP: have a limit on what you want to gamble and allow for spending in the local outlet which is a nice afternoon out. The strip is bigger and better then you can ever imagine. Downtown (original Vegas) interesting but preferred the strip by miles !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Welcome back to paradise was our welcome when we stepped out of our car as we arrived at the MO and yes it was. All staff knew we were returning guests. I arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport in their car and we were meeted and greeted by the driver at arrivals and taken seemlessly to paradise. This was our second visit to the hotel and am pleased to say that nothing has changed the hotel still maintains high quality everything. No casino/no smoking is a big plus. The rooms are fantastic, housekeeping is second to none. The pool area is great, comfortable loungers and the pool staff can't do enough for you. Unlike some hotels on the Strip where I have heard they waited for 30 minutes to have a hostess offer a drink service not here I think we must waited all of 2 minutes to be served. The pool staff were always bringing us iced water and in addition throughout the day offered samples of their smoothies and iced grapes - nice touches. Personally I can't see us staying anywhere else when visiting Las Vegas. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewallsonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights last week and I can say visually one of the nicest hotels on the strip, it punches with the Aria and Cosmo, no doubt at all. The rooms are amazing, so detailed and clean, soft beds (tiny, but soft) with a beautiful layout. The staff are sharp and professional with every issue you could imagine, nothing is too much trouble. . . . But this hotel is for a certain clientele, a client with a lot of money and maybe in an older age bracket, not looking for the "party/ casino" style of Las Vegas. Upon returning to the hotel after say midnight, you almost feel like a naughty kid sneaking home, cause the hotel feels empty and the staff almost seem confused to see people return at a late hour. But the biggest down fall is a design flaw with the lift system, to check in you must get into one lift to the 23rd floor where you check in, then get in a different lift to go to your room. Now to leave you must go back up to the 23rd floor, change to a different set of lifts and then go down to the ground, very annoying and impractical. Apart from that, nice hotel for the right person :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are much better, because it means less distance you have to come up to go back down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRNewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I loved this hotel, it has a prim location on the strip, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. the Mozen Bistro on the 3rd floor is really good. the pool and spa facilities are gorgeous. However my favorite part about the hotel is the there is no casino meaning that you dont have a million tourists tramping through the hotel.

Room Tip: Strip view suites have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Checking in at the 23rd floor aerie and then meandering through the sumptuous common spaces to your ultra-luxe room, you get the feeling that if the MO isn't heaven to the strip's Sin City hell, then it is at least a fine purgatory.

I just stopped in for a night this weekend, having spent the previous few nights at the Hard Rock where I was staying to see a show. My aim was to get some solid R&R before heading back home to the East Coast, and the MO definitely delivered on those expectations.

It's worth noting that every local to whom I mentioned my plan, from taxi drivers to staff at other hotels, agreed that the MO was the best hotel in town, and would be their choice for a quiet weekend away. That kind of local rep, in a service town, from other service professionals, is the best endorsement you can get.

So lets just start from the axiom that this is the best hotel in town, because that is the clear consensus. It is worth the modest premium you'll pay over other rates in town. By the time you weave through a 2 hour check-in line at the Bellagio, you will be kicking yourself for being stingy. There is no comparison on the strip. What follows, then, is quibbles and nits in comparison with other superluxe properties globally, and not in comparison with other Strip stalwarts. Ok, well, there is one LV comparison worth noting - the rooms aren't the biggest on the strip. So if you prefer quantity to quality in your square footage, you might be underwhelmed.

But what you lose in pure square footage, you gain in total immersion in great design and uncanny need anticipation. For example, you sit down at the desk, you see the state of the art media connectivity panel. You think "gee, I wish I brought my 1/8" cable." Before you have a chance to utter a mild expletive, you notice an upholstered container labeled "cables" and inside? Exactly what you were looking for the first place you would look for it!

I had this experience throughout the suite and throughout the stay. Outlets right where you are looking for them, towels right where you reach when your eyes are filled with soap, mirrors where you want to see yourself (and not where you don't), light switches in perfect locations. A yoga mat - in the closet! A hair iron - how happy would my wife have been to see that? A dedicated teapot for their wonderful teas. They have thought of *everything*. Even something they didn't have - a blackberry charger - they just gave me a claim tag and charged it for me overnight.

The pool deserves special mention, because it is calm, beautiful, and has a great 8th floor view. If you are looking for a pool party, please go elsewhere. There are two long and narrow pools and a hot tub. The gym is all dark wood with great equipment and overqualified staff. The bar on the lobby level reminds me of the American Bar at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo in sophisticated feel, only with better food and higher quality drinks. The bar tenders are knowledgeable and friendly. I had a gin martini and the "Golden Leaf" which was delicious.

My package included continental breakfast at the Mozen bistro, a very nice little cafe overlooking the City Center.

No question this is five stars. No other place in Las Vegas has the same combination of luxury rooms, location, and service. If you want to feel above the fray, looking down on the poor souls baking in the hellish heat of the strip, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank screwjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is clean and quiet, nice relaxing atmosphere, great service and wonderful spa. Just what we needed after day of enjoying Vegas. There were couple delays with wallet parking, but other than that it was superb!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iris7259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel sits midway between the North and South ends of the Strip. It is non smoking and has no casino or mall , which is a huge advantage however there are plenty casinos within easy reach. The hotel and its rooms are beautifully decorated and the pool area is especially tranquil with attentive, helpful staff. All the food we had in the hotel was of the highest standard. The lift system ensured privacy and security for hotel guests. We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel , especially our room which was extremely comfortable, quiet, elegant and had fantastic views of the strip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 18,766 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 11,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 10,395 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#9 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 12,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only six triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of CityCenter, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing