We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN TOWN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed twice on business. Once had the standard room and the other time the upgrade which was fabulous. Atmosphere is extremely relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Had afternoon high tea overlooking the strip. No casino, no smoke, valet service always delivered the car with fresh water bottles. Very efficient check in and out. Where else does the waiter knows you by first name at breakfast?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,461
    327
    94
    20
    21
See reviews for
341
1559
154
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The good side of Las Vegas without the bad side. Imagine a very nice hotel with a modern Indonesian atmosphere (w/ quiet omnipresent zen music)... with no crowd in the lobbies, no smell of cigarette, no inappropriate people around. Welcome to the Mandarin Oriental of Las Vegas (aka MO).
- Guest elevators and "everybody" elevators are separated.
- Rooms are squeeky clean (two services a day). However, rooms with two beds include two double beds (not queen beds). Rooms have automation for lighting, curtains. The bathroom is really nice and clean. Large bathtub and shower. Both have both shower head and handshower. Complimentary bath salt. First daily service to clean up the room. Second daily service will prep your beds, fold your mess (yes!), add a nice touch to the tub and bedside with fresh petals and clean glasses/water bottles/ice. No giant housekeeping cart in the corridors in the morning. All is done very discreetly. Towers are nice and lush.
- Staff is very attentive and very VERY nice. I reported one issue at the bar, they did not charge me. If anything does not work in the room, it is getting fixed the very same day (no asking). That happened to me for the tv in the bathroom (yes there is a tv to watch while in the tub).
- Spa is wonderful (please note this is a typical Las Vegas spa where men and women have their own amenities, so don't expect to share the vitality pool or rain forest shower with your spouse and also, not family friendly as kids are not allowed). Once you've used the spa, you have access to all amenities for the entire day until 8:00pm. The Spa Boutique offers exclusive MO products (and they don't overcharge).
MOzen restaurant is average. American breakfast or Mandarin breakfast (healthy version of the American breakfast) are ok. Omelettes or scrambled eggs are a bit oily. Hash brown (or eq.) a bit reheated. Continental breakfast is better. Pastries are freshly baked. Coffee is average (a little bit of aftertaste). Green tea is ok (some find it amazing but I am a very picky green tea connoisseur). Watermelon and orange juices are good. Fresh fruit salad are prep'd in advance and stored in a fridge (so they don't taste as good as they could have if there were made to order).
Mandarin Bar is good for the view and atmosphere (live band plays jazzy tunes). I didn't like the food. It looks nice but is completely tasteless. Nigiri bites have been waiting in the fridge for so long. Slider buns are just ok. Cold BBQ is completely savorless. Lobster roll bites is nicely presented in an open book... again nice... and testeless.
Pool is good. Two main pools and smaller hot jacuzzis. No fighting to get a lounge chair. You are being taken care of when you show up. It is however difficult to find the right spot as the sun hits up back and front (as it reflects on the building made of... glass!). Fresh fruits and water bottles are complimentary (everywhere, not just the pool). During summer, there is pool service. So you can enjoy food and drinks along the pool. Pool service stops end of october. No service in winter.
Gym is good too. Enjoy the view while you run. Get yourself "tortured" by Mary Jane, the coach. Very effective training. She is nice and fun. Two hours free every day: yoga, pilates (mat and reformers), kinetics. All included. Gym has a steam room (one for men, one for women), not as nice as the steam room within the spa (of course not!). But the overall gym is very clean (including restrooms).
Complimentary one-way limo service (from strip view room customers and up). Very useful to go somewhere within a 2-mile radius.
Wifi was included in our room I'd like to add that the wifi service is good. A lot of complimentary wifi service as usually unusable. I was able to watch netflix and amazon from my room. You only need to sign in once for the entire reservation. Well done.
I travel a lot. I'm since quick a few nice hotels including palaces in France. And I have to say that the MO Las Vegas sets the bar pretty high, all at a very competitive price. It is nice and quiet. It is not the "heavy" traditional luxury. It is luxury but in a nice modern way. It doesn't stink like the other hotels around. No smoking. No gambling (and the bad atmosphere that comes with it). I will definitely return in that MO hotel.

Room Tip: Strip view is better as they don't face the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am very particular about selecting a hotel. In Vegas, my last candidates were Mandarin and Four Seasons, and I picked Mandarin. I am very happy about my decision. The location is good. It is about the middle part of the Strip. No casino, no smoke - the hotel is classy, quite, and smells nice all over. Unlike other typical Vegas hotels, this hotel entrance is very small and hidden.
1. Lobby is at 23rd floor. All rooms are below that. Pool is 8th floor. Smaller but classy. Fitness center is very nice. Free access to the hotel guests. The locker has a steam room. Spa is also on 8th. Used the facility only for $50 without treatment. It is the best spa I ever tried!!
2. Hotel is next to the high-end shopping mall called Crystals which is connected to Aria hotel. Tram (free mono-rail) to Bellagio is there. It is clean, safe and convenient.
3. Stayed at City Scape Suite. This is not considers to be a Strip View room, but actually we can see a good part of Strip. This is a corner suite so further away from the elevator. I did not hear any noise from other rooms/hallways. We are at 17th floor. Still heard some noise from the street at night, but it was pretty nominal.
4. The room has 3 TVs - bed room, living room, and bathroom (in the mirror). Bathroom has a deep free standing tub, two sinks, a separate shower booth. They provided nice bath salt for bath. Ceiling to floor window with window treatment controlled by TV screen throughout the room. You can also use TV remote for many things such as "Privacy" signs, wake up call (for example - set time to open one side of window treatment), etc. Safe is large enough for laptop and the outlet is inside the safe as well for the convenience. There is valet closet next to the front door. Use the closet when you do not want to face the house keeping, night time shoe shine etc. Two times per day house keeping services. At the turn down, they left a bottle of water on each side table every night.
Unless you like a typical mega Las Vegas hotel with lots of people, casino, activities, and noises, your would enjoy your stay at Mandarin.

Room Tip: From CityScape suitem you can see the strip. From the bathroom, you see Aria hotel but the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betws y Coed
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment we pulled up our car - to be helped out of it by a wonderful valet Mario who couldn't do enough for us - we were treated like kings.

We were hot and dusty, having just arrived from Death Valley at the end of a 2 week road trip. The valet insisted he could sort out our belongings, but as they were scattered all through the car, I didn't want him to. Nevertheless, he insisted a few more times that he'd be happy to throw out the trash etc for us. He really set the tone for the entire stay.

Check in was seamless, and the chinese tea and cold towel very welcome. As was the personal service, showing us to our lift, followed by the porter showing us around the room's gadgets and facilities. The concierge was very helpful, and all in all we felt that the staff were genuinely keen to help.

The room was lovely. My only gripes were that it would have been good to have normal tea provided, along with the herbal tea bags, and some milk for us Brits who like a proper cuppa - I suppose we could have asked for it though. Also, a small bottle of water was provided each day, but there were larger bottles in the mini bar which we used first before realizing there was a charge. It would have been good to have had more free water. Free WiFi worked well.

We paid extra for a strip view, but to be honest the view wasn't that great (from 19th floor), and there was noise late into the night from a karaoke bar opposite. Next time, I'd go for a cheaper room with a view over the back as it would be quieter.

The pool was nice, small but luxurious. We missed out on the free pots of goodies, but did receive iced water.

Getting anywhere on foot in Las Vegas takes a lot of time and hassle, from the MO we had to go up stairs through a shopping mall, out onto a walkway, past lots of beggars, and down stairs again just to walk along the strip. Not easy, and can get frustrating after a while

As others have said, this place is an oasis of calm away from the craziness of the strip. Walking in there is like a breath of fresh air. Having walked through the lobby of the Bellagio and seen the huge lines at check in (not to mention the contemptuous attitude of the concierge when I asked her for directions) surrounded by hundreds of tourists walking around, we were SO glad we chose the Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: The view of the strip isn't that great, and it's noisy - I wouldn't bother paying extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Loved this place! better then the other hotels we have stayed at in Vegas! I will stay again! very quiet and personnel very nice..the view of the strip from our room was the best,food was excellent.So we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the MO for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. It is without doubt the best hotel that we have ever stayed in (and note my husband travels a lot with work hence spends many nights in various hotels).
The service is fantastic. We certainly did not encounter any 'unfriendly' staff - quite the opposite. The hotel itself is beautiful and very calm compared to the rest of Vegas - yet it is very centrally located.
We also stayed in the Bellagio for a night and comparatively, the Mandarin is definitely superior.

We would return again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

An oasis of calm & great service in a desert full of unrelenting noise & greed.

A bit harsh on Vegas perhaps, however having stayed at many of the Las Vegas elite hotels, this one stands out from all the rest; 'Service' is engrained & provided with enthusiasm regardless of tip. The fact this is a relatively small hotel with no Casino means no line at check-in, no smoke infusing your clothes & little noise other than that wafting in from the other hotels around it.

The pool is brilliantly serviced too, with very comfortable sun-beds, free cold water, frozen grapes & the odd chilled ice cream brought to you by attentive staff ...so not like the money-grabbing hotels it competes with. So much so I probably spent more here than I would have done otherwise, however did so with a smile because I wasn't being ripped off.

Rooms very comfy, technology great, all very nicely appointed, with great views.

Gym is new, well equipped & included in your stay (again unlike others).

Restaurants & bar are upmarket & not too pricey compared to others - we certainly got top quality without paying top dollar.

When we wanted the rest of Vegas we just walked down the strip - when we didn't we just walked back again, shut the door & calm awaited.

We will be back every time, provided it remains true to its current service ethic.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only six triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of CityCenter, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;