We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven,In A Sea Of Madness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Larbert,Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Haven,In A Sea Of Madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We (me,my wife and twelve year old daughter) had a three night stay here,after spending eight nights at the Palazzo further up the strip.(See separate review).
We stayed in a Cityscape Suite,which was absolutely stunning.
We particularly liked the automated lighting,blinds and air con system,that we found very easy to use.
Also,the beds are heavenly,the bathroom is outstanding,the lounge is comfy and the bedroom is extremely bright and airy.
Apart from a problem at check in (which was more than compensated for by the arrangement of a late check out),
our entire stay was exceptional.
The staff could not have been more helpful,whether it was at the reception,poolside,or at Mozen,where we enjoyed a meal that could not be faulted.
We genuinely did not want to leave the hotel during our stay,but should you venture outside,the location is hard to fault.
In summary,if you want the hustle and bustle of a casino hotel,you'll stay elsewhere,but if if it's 'a haven,in a sea of madness' that you're after,I couldn't think of a better place to be.



Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,009
    405
    115
    22
    22
See reviews for
416
1,900
183
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We rented a cabana at the pool here during our last trip to Vegas. It was $350 food/beverage minimum on the day we rented it (Wednesday). The entire day was perfect. The cabana was nice and relaxing as was the pool. This is a very quiet pool not rowdy like many others. The food and drinks were all really good. We were there most of the day and had no probably meeting the minimum with 3 people. We will definitely return to this pool again. You have to have a cabana or be a guest to go to the pool here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Refined elegance surrounds you, and a sense of calm comes over you when staying at the Mandarin. We stayed two evenings, the weather was great for the pool for lounging, and eating/drinking by the pool. The staff is super attentive - it a high-touch luxury hotel.

I stayed last year as well, and we equally impressed with the food and service. I stayed both on the strip view and city scape view - I preferred the strip view, which I think they charge more.

Expedia has deals for Mandarin, and often they will match the prices - so it's worth researching the prices on other 3rd party sites.

Highlights;
Free movie channels
Salt bath and able to watch the news from the tub
compy beds!!!!
3rd floor restaurant
spa/pool/outside pool area
high-touch service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst on a road trip and I have to say it is hands down, the best hotel I have EVER stayed in! From the moment we drove up to the valet parking, up to the delightful and peaceful reception desk, we enjoyed every second! The receptionist was attentive and the fact that we had not stayed here before, she was amazing and upgraded us to a City Scape room free of charge!

The room itself was to die for! We also spent a day by the relaxing pool and all the staff were lovely and made our day so so relaxing.

We felt sad for leaving but will certainly return when we can. Our thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so memorable. Couldn't recommend more!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to City Scape
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Understated and relaxed whilst still central on the strip.
There is no casino here so different vibe to other top hotels.
Pool and service first class.
Room well appointed if a little small fir US standards.
Booked on a deal so good value.
Only fault was that breakfast too small and not enough of a base for all day pool party!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights for a quick getaway. Overall, a wonderful stay. As others have mentioned, so nice to stay at a quiet, non-gaming hotel for a break from the noise and chaos of the strip - yet so close to the action when you want to be a part of it.

Since there are countless detailed reviews, I will sum up:

Service:
Second to none. Everyone seems intent on making sure your stay is perfect. Alexander at the front desk was wonderful and made sure we had the exact room/view we wanted.

Rooms:
Strip View room is plenty large for two, with a large, beautiful bathroom. Beds are incredibly comfortable with the best linens anywhere and several pillow options to please everyone. Plenty of space for clothes, and the valet closet is a nice touch. The hotel is very quiet, but (especially on weekend nights) noise/music/motorcycles can be heard late at night from the strip below. (Even from as high as the 22nd floor.) Didn't bother me but if it bothers you, you might want to ask for a quiet room location (which I imagine would be a non-strip view room).

Views:
Strip View rooms look out over the strip - one side looks toward Aria, Cosmopolitan, Paris and on down the strip. The other side offers views towards New York New York and Mandalay Bay, plus a view of planes arriving and departing from LAS. Contrary to room photos on the hotel website, you can no longer get a Premium Strip View room with a view of Paris Hotel's Eiffel Tower because Aria has erected a large digital sign in between. If you want an Eiffel Tower view as shown on the website, you need to book a Strip View room and ask for an 03 or maybe 05 room.

Housekeeping:
Wonderful. Guest rooms and the entire hotel are immaculate. Turndown service is so nice and includes bottled water and filled ice bucket, as well as replenished towels and bath amenities.

Dining:
Sadly, can't give the dining a great review this time around. MOzen Bistro was only OK this time. We are both lunch and breakfast there. The service was good, food was alright. It took them three tries to poach eggs hard (i.e., not runny) for Eggs Benedict. My husband's meal also came out wrong the first time. We had appetizers at the Mandarin Bar (great views, by the way). Service, food and drinks were very good there.

Spa:
Gorgeous, immaculately clean, with many amenities, several steps up from the usual hot tub/steam room. My treatment was very good. The only problem was, they overcharged me and my husband to the tune of $150. When my husband brought the matter to their attention, they blamed a computer glitch (they said their system automatically and incorrectly applied weekend pricing even though it was Thursday). OK. Nobody is perfect. However, they didn't bother to check to see whether other guests were over charged due to the same glitch - I had to call separately after the fact to have my charges corrected.

Despite the small glitches, we will likely choose MO for our next Vegas visit, and will continue to recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during a work conference, the hotel is as good as you would expect from a mandarin property. Beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are large and well designed, and wifi is very fast. Only downside is getting a taxi quicky, they tend to avoid the hotel for some reason and head to the other dumps nearby. This is not the cheapest 5 star in Vegas, but you don't have to put up with a Casino (like most 5 star hotels) or any cigarette smells.

Great hotel, I'll be back again to this little oasis.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only six triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of CityCenter, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.