We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Classic Vegas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cortez Cabana Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Cortez Cabana Suites to your Saves list
El Cortez Cabana Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   651 East Ogden Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Huntsville, Ontario
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Cool Classic Vegas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Here for 3 nights recently, cabana suites are new and funky, formerly Ogden House Apts. Kind of old vegas meets miami south beach decor. Awesome room, clean and comfortable. good spot to recharge while experiencing vegas and fremont street 1 min walk away. 24hrs security outside, helpful friendly staff. Rooms much better than the tower across the street, M&M bowl in the lobby was a good touch. Ice on main floor only. Great value great room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
79
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Seneca, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great boutique hotel and you can find excellent deals online. Some may consider the rooms a bit small but the art deco look is fab, plus our bathroom layout was great and way huge. Front desk staff and security are extremely pleasant & helpful and the rest of the El Cortez staff at your disposal as well. Internet is not included but there's no resort fee and internet fee is cheaper than most Vegas properties' resort fees are. No big deal - take your tablet/laptop over a block to Beat coffeehouse and get some great java (or a beer!) and use their wifi.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are great but if you want to splurge try one of their Design-a-Suites: chic, cool, kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed Downtown quite a few times & have passed by the old El Cortez. I always cringed thinking about how old the rooms probably were. Fast forward a few months & we found a really good deal pop up on Orbitz for the Cabana Suites. I did some research & was really surprised at how nice the rooms looked. I decided to book the room & crossed my fingers. Upon arrival, we had to check in the main hotel which was fine but it was kind of a pain having to walk across the parking garage & across the street with our things to the Cabana Suites. There was a guard on duty the whole time because there are some...interesting characters that roam downtown. This made me feel at ease. The receptionists in the Cabana Suites were so helpful & sweet. Room was great! Very modern design which I loved, bed was comfortable & the room even had a mini fridge for us to keep our drinks in. I will stay here again & again, the location is perfect & the room was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in a Cabana Suite room - funky fancy old motel room - awesome bathroom but room itself is small (old motel refurbished.) Have to go outside of casino to get to room across the street but makes for a quieter stay. I'd say worth the price difference if you wanted Strip fancy during the week but value drops on weekend rates compared to other rooms in main casino.

Room Tip: decent value for midweek stay, value declines compared to other rooms at property on the weekend if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here before and the staff has been very accommodating. This time the check in ladies decided to loose a customer over a mistake that was made through the booking. The hotel had plenty of rooms available and they asked for an additional $20.00 per night for a room with two beds, as it was originally booked. They could have very well made the guest happy and offered the upgrade for free to keep their guests happy. I won't be staying and gambling there again. Thank you hotels.com that fixed the issue instantly and got me booked to a better and cheaper hotel. Hotels.com staff always go above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadley rille
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i've been to vegas over 100 separate trips. citycenter sucks!! got a fabulous deal on this from vegas.com. the cabana suite rooms are spotless!! flat sceen. nice lobby with guard. can not say enough good things. stay here!! you will love it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to Vegas for the weekend, and wanted to stay one night on the strip and one night off the strip. Our second night we chose to stay at the El Cortez Cabana Suites hotel near Freemont street.
This hotel was only a block away and the Cabana suites at the El Cortez were done up in a 1930's/40's retro style. Bright colors, comfortable beds, flat screen amenities, very chic and romantic! The front desk clerk (there 24/7) was friendly and helpful with area recommendations. The rooms were fun, comfortable, and we would definitely stay there again.
We booked through Expedia to get the best room rate ($30 for the night in our case, I'm sure rates change throughout the year).

Room Tip: We we on the 3rd floor and the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. Very romantic. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cortez Cabana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Cabana Suites

Address: 651 East Ogden Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Cabana Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your El Cortez Cabana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Cabana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cortez Cabana Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.