We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall value - beware public pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145 (Summerlin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #50 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good overall value - beware public pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Property is nice and well kept. The overall value is good, the breakfast buffet, which was included in our room deal was decent. Downside is the pool, which was constantly overrun by hundreds of (sometimes severely drunk) locals who can buy day or season passes for the hotel pool for a few dollars. The pool could have been so nice - but it was obvious that the regular hotel guests mostly had a hard time finding sunbeds.
You can choose this hotel if you don't need the pool. Everything else was nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    362
    140
    59
    27
See reviews for
274
351
40
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are staying at the JW Marriott Las Vegas this Christmas week, and it's truly an understatement to say that the service has been disappointing. They have very little staff working, yet it seems like the hotel is fully occupied. 45-minute wait for breakfast at Ceres with numerous tables empty, no answer when calling front desk or operator 8 out of 10 times I've tried just to simply request towels or things like that. I'm hoping that hotel mgt reads this and learns that you CANNOT run a hotel on a skeleton crew during a holiday season. I am a platinum member and have stayed at this JW three times now and this will definitely be my last. This is the only JW property I have ever had any issues with in all my travels. Management needs a course in Management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melirons, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any disappointment with services provided, We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience directly.
Please contact myself directly at your earliest convenience.
702 869 7302 or melissa.irons@jwmarriottlv.com

Warm Regards,
Melissa Irons
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights at this hotel on business and was very impressed with the overall quality. The front desk staff, valets, and housekeeping staff were all incredibly friendly, professional, and polite. I don't think I have ever stayed in a cleaner hotel. There was not a speck of dust to be found in my room. The bathroom was absolutely huge and very elegant. I spent my last night in Vegas in a suite at a "luxury" hotel on the Strip and was actually disappointed. My room at the JW Marriott was brighter, cleaner, and about the same size at a fraction of the cost!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimmitt, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here two nights this past week. Check-in was painless and quick. We were given a room in the Spa Tower on the fourth floor. Our room was spacious and clean. The mattress was comfortable and firm. The resort as a whole was very quite. I spent one afternoon at the Aquae Sulis Spa, and for most of the time, had it mostly to myself; a very relaxing afternoon. I didn't go to gamble, so I can't review the Rampart Casino. We ate at Spiedini, Rampart Buffet and Ceres. My favorite was the breakfast buffet at Ceres. Cook to order eggs and a variety of delicious food was the perfect way to start our day. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just stayed at the JW Las Vegas , First off the bellman were awesome providing free transportation to the local golf courses, storage of our clubs etc... The room was over sized with a huge bathroom and balcony.The hotel was very modern and very clean. It is attached to a casino which I could not seem to win at.The food is very reasonable compared to the strip at the onsite restaurants. I would highly recommend and thank you to the staff for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The JW Marriott was a welcome, relaxing stay. The hotel and grounds were lovely and the service was excellent. The spa and staff were also great. They have shuttle service to the Strip if you really have to go in, but I would recommend you experience the resort, spa and fantastic golf!

Room Tip: The Spa Tower was very ncie
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having stayed at this property a few years back I decided that I would try it again as a Marriott Rewards member I needed the additional stays to qualify for a points bonus promotion (sad I know but I find the reward programme provides excellent benefits).

First of all as other reviewers have said this hotel is about a 25 minute drive to both the airport, downtown or the strip. During the 7 days I was here I didn't experience any major traffic problems.

Unfortunately on arrival I was given room 4243 in the Palm Tower, with what I was told a view of the Golf Course. Well my expectations were raised to a very high level but as soon as I walked into the room these fell to the floor as it was very dark for a room with a view. Going to the window I quickly identified why, the view of the said Golf Course was completely blocked out by branches of the tall trees that presummably give the tower its name. I looked around for a chain saw but couldn't find one so I called reception and explained my disappointment, to the lady's credit she searched and found another room on the 5th floor which although still having branches I could at least see the mountains and daylight. Rather than me taking the long walk back to the main reception the lady arranged for the valet on duty at the Palm Tower to sort my key out and he also, to his credit, went and moved my bags from my original room to my new room. I was really impressed with his commitment to customer service and noted his name on the comments card I completed at the end of my stay.

The rooms are huge and nicely furnished, there is a large flat screen TV, a walk in closet which has a safe and a ceiling fan to supplement the AC. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and a wet shower plus a separate WC (with phone in case you need to call someone urgently I suppose). The internet worked fine and I found the speed to be more than adequate for my needs.

I would recommend a walk around the grounds that are very well maintained.

Adequate car parking although when busy on Friday and Saturday night the car parking near the tower filled up quickly so you have further to walk, although this can be overcome by using the valet option.

During the first four days of my stay I had a couple of housekeeping niggles that I thought rather than wait to post onto Trip Advisor I would flag to the on site management team and as Frank Idris or one of his team reads the reports, I tried to speak to him. Unfortunately he was in a meeting but in his absence Mellissa came and went through everything with me and I have to say resolved everything to my 100% satisfaction, even following up with a call to my room to ensure everything was OK. She apologised for the issues and was grateful that I had raised them.

Being in the Palm Tower I thought the only buffet, which I walked past everyday, was the Rampart Casino's and because it is out of season it was closed most of the time at breakfast although there is a cafe that serves breakfast next door to it. However, if you want a buffet breakfast take the walk to JW Marriott's Ceres restuarant, their buffet breakfast was excellent, ok not your usual Las Vegas casino 5 station buffet, but very good quality food in nice surroundings and the staff are excellent too.

All in all the property is an excellent choice to stay when in Las Vegas, the staff are excellent and getting to and from anywhere is very easy but I would suggest you do need a car, unless of course you are wanting to chllout and just stay local, play golf, swim, use the spa etc. etc.

Room Tip: If you want good daylight in your room go for at least the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf

Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Las Vegas Resort Hotel located 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip covering 54 lushly landscaped acres in the premier golf neighborhood of Summerlin. The resort features an award-winning spa, Vegas-style casino, 8 restaurants, an 11,000 square foot waterfall pool, and a conference facility with 100,000 sq.ft. of flexible indoor/outdoor function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Las Vegas Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.