We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit to the Cannery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5255 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Second Visit to the Cannery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Still pleased to report there is no resort fee at the Cannery. Yahoo!! Our stay was great, loved the room and appreciated the coffee, muffins and newspaper every morning. We spent time in the smoky casino and ate in the restaurants. All good - however this is what happened when we checked in for our second stay and yes, the price we paid was exceptionally low, a real bargain in fact. We were advised that early check-in was not possible because the hotel had been full - 100% understandable. When we returned later two room options were offered so we hesitated, trying to decide which would suit us best. We asked if we could take a look at the rooms and were advised that we could not pre-inspect and further advised that we would have to keep which ever room we chose - in other words, she (or the Cannery) would not allow a change even if we didn't like the room for whatever reason. We felt like obstreperous children checking into at a nice hotel. In comparison, a few weeks later we stayed at the three star Mardi Gras Hotel in Las Vegas for five nights. Early check-in was again not available but the friendly receptionist helped us choose the location of the room and even gave us keys to inspect two of them in advance. When we returned at 2:30pm the room was ready and served us well. No matter what job we do we always have to remember that words continue speaking long after the mouth is closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    185
    66
    23
    15
See reviews for
69
175
61
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

For more than 30 years I have been travelling to Las Vegas of a convention called NAB. This year we decides to stay OFF the strip and rent a car. What a great decision. We enjoyed everything East side cannery provided. It was nice to enjoy a breakfast the was not costing over $20. In fact bill for two breakfasts was under $20.
this is one hotel we are coming back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend after we started hearing that the "discount" hotel we booked was horrible. Upon my friends recommendation, we cancelled our reservations at the other hotel and booked our stay with Eastside Cannery. We didn't regret it a minute! We felt safe, welcome and comfortable the moment we stepped into the hotel.

We reserved a Deluxe King room and were given a Double Queen room. Although we were a little disappointed, this change was ok with us. When we went to check in, the cleaning people didn’t have our room ready so they moved us to another available room to accommodate us. We were very pleased with the desk service.

High Points:
Security in the parking lot and hallways
Air filtration was sufficient to keep cig smoke under control
Room was clean and presented well
Non-Smoking room did not smell of smoke
Room was large and comfortable
Staff was friendly and fast

Low Points:
Restaurants weren't as good as hoped
Wi-Fi was unusable (tried from three devices)
We reserved a room with on King and ended up with two Queens

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We read on TripAdvisor that a security guard stood watch at the hotel elevators but we took it with a grain of salt. We stayed here March 25-28, 2014. Just to let you know, the guard does NOT stay at the elevators full time. Guest staying at the hotel have to use their room cards to activate the elevator to ascend to any floor. Our first morning there we went to the lobby for complementary coffee & discovered it too hot to drink so decided to return to our room, stopping at the ice machine to add ice to cool my coffee. As we entered the elevator with another lady who had a room card, a young man stepped into the elevator without any card. We all 4 got off the elevator on 7th floor & I stopped at ice machine which is close to the elevator. I ask my husband to watch this guy to see if he actually had a room and he didn't. He was trying some of the doors and walked to both ends of the hallway. The other lady went the other way but returned to elevator & told my husband that she was going to the front desk to report this guy. We decided to go to the front desk also & spoke with the desk and the lady that was on the elevator with us. She told us she had been approached earlier by this same guy asking her for money except he wasn't wearing his jacket or back pack then.

We then went across the street to have breakfast at Denny's on Boulder Highway. As I ate breakfast, I could see outdoors clearly & observed a group of 3 persons standing along the sidewalk as if waiting for a ride but they NEVER left. Other persons drifted in and out of the groups. Then a young man appeared & spoke to these people and walked around continuously while also being on a cell phone. After a short time he got closer to most of the people standing around, did the fist bump to most of them and as he did I could see that he also passed off something to three of them. This part of Vegas has a reputation for vagrants and homeless gathering here during the day & who knows where they go at night. If you stand still & observe for 5-10 minutes you will see many of these people inside the Eastside Cannery casino areas. Near the door to the north parking lot we saw a vagrant looking person hit on one of the machines & he was doing a little dance (I would too if I hit). However, we don't gamble so our awareness level was more engaged. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms and restaurant food were mediocre at best. We stayed here to be close to a friend we were visiting. Wouldn't do it again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desert hot springs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I live a 3.5 hr drive from LasVegas and have probably been there 50+ times. I've stayed in many hotels from budget to luxury , from downtown to the strip. Last month I stayed for 2 nights at the Eastside Cannery. It was my first stay there and I definitely will go back. So, what makes it different? You can't beat the price--about $45. I was impressed with the little extras that were provided: a mini fridge in the room, complimentary bottled water, free wifi and no resort fee. It was nice to be able to park right in front of the hotel and not hassle with a parking garage. The room was larger than most in vegas. It was immaculately clean. The beds were comfy and the shower was hot ! Add that to a fabulous view of the mountains and city!! As others have said, if this is your 1st trip to Vegas, you'll probably want to stay on the strip. But, if you've been there and done that, consider the Eastside Cannery!!

Room Tip: ask for a room high up with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a 4* facility and you get some extra luxury.
Because the location is away from the strip, you can book this hotel at a very attractive rate if long in advance.
Very large rooms with flat screen TV, free internet and no resort fee makes this hotel good value but you will need your own transportation.
The casino is just OK but little food facility's on site.
In daytime the hotel looks boring but comes alive in nighttime with nice changing colored lights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The best casino in Las Vegas. Great gaming, good food, great atmosphere. We are locals and go to the Eastside Cannery several times a week. We recommend family and friends stay there when they visit. No one has been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel

Address: 5255 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastside Cannery rooms feature incredible views of the strip and the Las Vegas valley. Close to all the excitement you'll find your own quiet retreat in the clean comfortable guest rooms of the Eastside Cannery. All rooms feature new modern decor, 37" LVD TVs, refrigerator, and many more amenities. We are now proud to offer Free Internet and No Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastside Cannery Hotel Las Vegas
Eastside Cannery Casino And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.