We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!! Old School Vegas with great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5255 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and breakfast
Ranked #67 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!! Old School Vegas with great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great room, great rates, great views and open machines that payout! Got here early and no problem letting us check-in. All kinds of entertainment coupons, food coupons and free play $. A great place to avoid the crazy crowds on the strip and enjoy Vegas!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    132
    50
    15
    8
See reviews for
43
137
45
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

visited las vegas for a memorial of a hometown friend, and the cannery was suggested by friends who live in las vegas. off the beaten path, but drove to las vegas, so had easy access to traveling. rooms were clean, food was good, reasonably priced, however one particular eatery was not conveniently open, at the time we wished to dine there. so we were disappointed. check-in and check- out went smoothly, and yes, I did win while there. would stay there again.

Room Tip: no specific tip, we received as requested a lower floor, and that floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eastside Cannery because we were attending a wedding that was going to be held there. We had the Jacuzzi room and we loved the set up. We were on the 13th floor of 16 total so the high floor gave us a view of the area since two walls of the room were glass and we could see everything. The room did lack so items that I thought were standard. It did not have a coffee maker ( you had to purchase coffee in the deli or cafe), hair conditioner (only shampoo and shower gel in dispensers mounted to the shower wall), qtips or cotton balls. When I asked for them, I was told they could be purchased in the gift shop.

The casino was not very crowded, which was nice. There was a security guard that would check to ensure you had a room key before he or she allowed you to enter the elevators, however, their presence was inconsistent. They were there more during the day rather than the evening. The drinks were reasonable ($1.50 drafts) in all of their bars. There was a band in the lounge on Friday and Saturday that we free of charge to watch and put on a great show. It would have been nice to know in advance that the drink prices are higher when the band is playing. We were a bit embarrassed and emptying our pockets when we were suprised by the higher amount after the drinks were served. The wedding venue was on the 16th floor and just beautiful. The location of the hotel is right across from a shopping center, so Walmart, burger places, pizza places, etc...are all across the street in walking distance.

The weather was in the low 90s so we were a little disappointment with the swimming pool. The deepest part is 3.5 feet, it is not heated and appeared that it was not cleaned daily. The food prices are reasonable, but the quality is not so good. The cocktail servers are very slow. There were times we had forgotten that we ordered drinks and went and purchased some and then she would come to deliver!!!

This hotel had no transportation services and they provide little assistance in helping you get a cab. They had no bus schedule availableand their "preferred" cab service always took at least 40 minutes to arrive. A cab ride to the airport was about $30. Some of our friends took a cab to the Las Vegas Strip and it was about $35 each way. We opted for the city bus. Tropicanna Ave is about a half mile away, so we walked there to catch the 201 to the Strip. For $8 each we purchased the all day access bus ticket (good for 24 hours) which allowed us to ride the RTC to the Strip and back and also allowed us to ride the Deuce, which is the bus that rides up and down the strip. A pretty good deal. The RTC website estimated a 52 minute bus ride but it only took us about 35 minutes each way.

We attended a wedding at the Eastside Cannery. The venue One Six was very nice. The bartenders were great, but the food service was slow. Using a double sided buffet might benefit the venue. They called tables one at a time to eat and the buffet had been open for about 20 minutes when our table was finally called. Once we were called, we waited about another 15 minutes in the buffet line before we even got to where the food started. We probably would have enjoyed ourselves more just waiting at our table and chatting. Once we got to where the food was, we could see that the bride had already finished eating and greeting her guests and they were already on the dance floor while we were just getting to eat. Again, using a double sided buffet would have moved that line a lot quicker.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We would probably never choose to stay in the hotel again, it seemed like it was more for locals that vistors. We really did love our room set up! That would be the only thing to bring me back....or another wedding.

Room Tip: Request a high floor. Our friends on the 5th floor had a great view of the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

They had a very good Friday rate. It's a ways from the Strip, which was OK for us. It still looks good as it's only about 5 years old. The casino is not large, but not small either. The room was are very clean. Beds are very comfortable and it also came with a small refrigerator, which was a pleasant plus. This score would have been higher. However, the the items I will share reflect Customer Service.
1. We arrived after 3 pm and the room was not ready. After 3pm...
2. The did not apologize for the inconvenience.They were not rude, just didn't seem to care...
3. Since they have no official bellman desk, we had to take all our luggage back outside, wait for a to stop parking cars, and have him check in our luggage (since we had used valet to park our car).

Just a lot of inconvenience to the customer when you don't have rooms ready, and it's after 3pm

Room Tip: Higher level rooms give you a better view with south east facing giving you desert mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpholloway, Manager at Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, I apologize for your inconvenience at check in. We strive to provide our guests the best in customer service even when difficulties arise, I am disappointed to hear that we did not display the care and concern that accompanies such guest service in your experience. I have addressed this issue and will continue to do so. Thank you again for the candid feedback.

Kim Holloway
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The weekend we decided to head to Las Vegas was a busy one. All of the reasonably priced rooms on the strip were gone. So I did multiple searches and found good reviews on the Eastside Cannery and decided to try it. I had never been on that side of Las Vegas before and thought it would be a new adventure. I was pleasantly surprised. The location was easy to find and get to. The casino itself was nice and it seemed to have what appeared to be a locals clientele. The rooms were nicer than most of the rooms I have stayed in. Plush beds with extra pillows. Very clean bathrooms and extra large vanity area. A refrigerator was in the room which we always like to have. The wifi was included which we did not use but I thought was great as most hotels tack on an extra charge for that. The views outside our window were amazing!

My only complaint was the food. We stayed at the Casino to eat all of our meals. We ate at their buffet once for breakfast and once for dinner. It was ok but nothing special. It seemed to have almost the same food items both times. No single dish stood out as exceptional. We also ate at Snaps their diner. The lasagna I ordered was bland and tasted like it could have been part of the sad school lunch program. I could not eat most of it. The Mexican restaurant was closed for what appeared to be a renovation. Maybe next time I go the food will be better.

I certainly intend to stay here again. The quality of the rooms for the price is unbeatable!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpholloway, Manager at Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do our best to try and impress first time visitors with the quality of our accommodations and I am glad to hear that in your case, we did just that! I have passed your comments about the food on to management in that department, who are also committed to delivering only the best. We look forward to your next visit when you can try our new Mexican eatery Tres' Oles'

Thank you again,

Kim Holloway
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Your kids will get bored quickly since several amenities like a Movie Theater, Bowling, Chain Restaurants, etc are not to be found. Boulder Highway is filled with Motor Home Parks and is a great stop for Snow Birds, however be aware of walking Anywhere with very dangerous crosswalks and also the Neighborhood.

I Stayed on a Higher Level with excellent Views, Free Internet, Spotlessly Clean Rooms, Great Mattresses, Comfortable Bedding in this Contemporary Property. The minuses were the doors looked like they were covered in Vinyl Plastic Laminate, the Sink was not in the bathroom but the sleeping area - waking up whoever was asleep in the middle of the night. The Entry door was on the same level as your neighbors (think Motel 6) shaking your room every time your neighbors closed theirs. The Pool was the average rectangular box with no real amenities and a slog through the Casino every time you went to the pool from your room.
The bottom line is: Get the Room Cheap - or Free and it's a good deal. If not many times you can hit travel websites and get far more for your money on the strip (if that is where you really want to be). And as far as Slot Machines - they seem to be as tight or Tighter than anywhere, while Tables offer the better OFF Strip Odds.

Room Tip: The Higher The Better - Away from the Elevators and the constant dinging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Eastside Cannery Hotel and Casino

The arrival was bad. They do not have any row to stop right at the hotel entrance. We just wanted to have 30 seconds to put 2 bags out of the car. My girlfriend already had gotten out of the car to supervise them. The very unpolite staff (2) from Valet did not allow us to unload for some seconds. They send us to Valet row, then back again to drive-through-row- then away... In the amount of time they needed for shouting at us and sending us around we would have unloaded the whole car...
So we – 54 yrs. old women had to park far in the very full parking lot and drag and carry our bags from there. They even did not tell us, that there was some pick-up-service with a cart for the luggage, driving all day around the lot...
Check in was quick and good, nice people. The hotel lobby counters are nothing spectacular. Other the rooms: they are so beautifully decorated and brand new. Like suites with a small bar and wall between the room and the sink, extra room for bathtub and toilet. They provide shampoo and shower gel in a dispenser, no small bottles. There even is a fridge in the rooms. They now have flat TV with a good sized screen.
But the beds were awful! They were soft and somehow sagging. I had 3 nights in my room and the 3rd I could not longer sleep in that soft sagging bed, because I had already gotten a severe backache. I spent the night in 2 chairs at the desk, which were harder.
Their casino is nice, some restaurants and delis.
Their pool is not very inviting. It was not heated, nor was the whirlpool warm enough. Free towels are provided at the pool.
The surrounding of the pool was all cement floor and some plastic-grass. There are 4 cabanas and the poolchairs are located in the sun, no shadow anywhere. They do not have a room to undress from the wet bathing suit, we had to use the toilet to get out of our wet clothes.
The rate was ok. Internet in the room is free and fast.

The hotel looks very nice from the outside, it is the next building from Sam's Town. There is lot of lights changing colours in the evening on the outside walls, which makes the hotel look special.

If it were not for the beds, I would suggest to come back – but with beds too soft I cannot. It really is a pity.

Room Tip: 1225 and 1257 were ok, you're above the casino roof with its ACs - you will hear them humming al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpholloway, Manager at Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, the information you provided is invaluable as we continue to seek ways to improve our guests experience. I have shared your comments with our valet staff who are dedicated to providing the best service possible. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again,
Kim Holloway
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel

Address: 5255 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastside Cannery rooms feature incredible views of the strip and the Las Vegas valley. Close to all the excitement you'll find your own quiet retreat in the clean comfortable guest rooms of the Eastside Cannery. All rooms feature new modern decor, 37" LVD TVs, refrigerator, and many more amenities. We are now proud to offer Free Internet and No Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastside Cannery Hotel Las Vegas
Eastside Cannery Casino And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastside Cannery Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.