We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at how lovely the rooms were!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncoast Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suncoast Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9090 Alta Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Vegas Special
Ranked #86 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprised at how lovely the rooms were!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We have family that lives near this hotel and have eaten at the cafe several times. We have always been pleased with the food and service in the cafe. On this trip we found ourselves in need a hotel room for 1 night. We choose the Suncoast because of the low price and close proximity to our family. When we arrived in the rooms I was so surprised at how lovely they were. They have possibly been remodeled recently. We had 2 rooms, one on the 3rd floor and one on the fourth floor. In comparision to most hotels the rooms were quite spacious. The rooms had large flat screen T.V's and granite countertops in the bathrooms. The bathroom was two rooms with the shower and toliet separate from the vanity and sink. The room included a iron and ironing board. On the downside no coffee maker in the room. Of the two rooms, the room facing the pool had very nice views and the room on the opposite side had a boring view.
The website I booked the room through gave us free breakfast in the buffet. I'm glad it was free because it was not very good! I would not eat there again.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — Stay away from the buffet
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    245
    79
    30
    16
See reviews for
135
187
52
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

I had a decent stay here. I love the location -- nowhere near the Strip or Downtown (but you could get to either in 20 mins by car), close to Red Rock Canyon. What a treat to look out the window and see golf courses and mountains instead of more hotel towers and neon lights.

The room was huge, clean, nicely furnished, but (oddly) had very little light available at night. Floor to ceiling windows make it very bright and cheery by day, but there are just a few dim lamps in the room. Strange.

Large plasma TV with an OK selection of stations. Internet connection was advertised but mine didn't work. The "technician" they sent up to help was useless - barely knew what a computer was.

Other amenities? Fitness room was adequate, nothing more. No steam room, spa, etc., which I missed. Swimming pool was OK, but nothing to write home about.

Food ranged from so-so to pretty good. The buffet was a notch or two below average for Vegas. The coffee shop was blah. They have some good graveyard specials (on paper at least) but I didn't try them. The food in the Italian restaurant was just OK. On the other hand, Primo's (the steakhouse) was fabulous -- excellent food, superb room, good prices. One of the best meals I've had in Vegas ever.

They seem to have all the bases covered when it comes to gambling, but service is rocky. One night I sat down at a blackjack table, put $100 down and asked for change, but the dealer just kept on dealing and never cut me into the game. So I walked away. Complained to the pit boss but she didn't seem too concerned. Guess stuff like that happens a lot. Service in other parts of the casino was similarly spotty. Do they want our money or not?

Poker room was good, but I like the one at the Orleans better -- more atmosphere (maybe because it's older).

This place definitely draws the geriatric crowd. I arrived on Monday and not until Thursday night did I see any appreciable number of people under 50, and even then it was mostly seniors.

This place provides a good base of operations if you want to be away from the Strip and choose your forays there for yourself. It's also very close to the new Red Rock Casino, which is spectacular but four times the price. Stay at the Suncoast, hang at the Red Rock, and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Suncoast is a mediocre hotel with shabby furnishings and unfriendly staff. The hotel room are a strange layout with old furnishings. While the housekeeping staff kept it clean, it did not feel like it. The front desk staff were not very helpful nor friendly. Most of the guests were over 65, which is a plus or minus depending on your viewpoint. Lastly, the hotel offers a hotel shuttle, but it only goes out two or three times a day, which is not very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

A nice clean casino with affordable restaurants. However, the service you get from the hosts and managers are nothing short of "Unacceaptable". Being one of the newest casino in Summerlin area does not give management the right to have a chip on their shoulder. Unlike other casinos who treat their guest as if they would want to be treated, the Suncoast management don't care if one has a pulse as long as one bring in revenue to their casinos.

Their compensation for players is "Zero". You can be sitting there for 5 hours and end up with a $10 buffet voucher, which they will write it off on their expenses. I stop an executive host to ask a question about the table action and he purposely ignored me and walked away. I have been to this casino in the past and swear to my family and friends that I will never make the drive and step in this casino AGAIN. Suncoast management should understand that they are not the only casino in Vegas and they are not close to being the best. I would rate them bottom of the barrell.

Suncoast management: Go back to the basics and treat customers well and they will come back for more action.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

What a great place. Cant wait to return. Huge, clean rooms. Some of the nicest employes i have come across in Vegas. Drink service was great and the waitresses have some very sexy outfits. Numerous dining options with great graveyard specials. Gift shop sells liquor and is very reasonably priced. Suncoast was first class in every aspect of my stay from valet parking to checkout. If you are looking to stay off-strip, this place would be hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

We go to Las Vegas once a year and have stayed at different hotels, but the last 4 years we have stayed at the Suncoast and we love it. The rooms are huge and the view is wonderful. It even has a big bathroom and you don't find that too often. We always ask for the mountain view and it overlooks the pool, golf course and the beautiful mountains. It is breath taking. The hotel is not that far from Red Rock Canyon. The hotel staff is very friendly. We have never had a problem there. They have great restaurants. Several to choose from. We love eating at the buffet or the Mexican restaurant. They are pretty reasonable. They have a 64 lane bowling alley and other areas for kids to enjoy. Most anything you need you will find there. If not there are nearby stores. They have a shuttle that will take you to and from the strip free of charge if you are a guest at the hotel so you won't have to bother driving there. They have plenty of good slots, tables and even bingo. They also have movie theaters. We feel very comfortable and safe when we stay there. They have plenty of security. You can't go up the elevators in the evening unless you show security your room key. When you check in they give you fun books and they have discounts in them. Like I said we love it and we are looking forward to our trip this year. We would highly reccommend this hotel if you like being away from the really busy districts like the strip.
Larry & Sandra (from Mobile, AL)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

If you like a safe and friendly hotel/casino, this is the place. If you are tired of the Las Vegas Strip, this is the place to stay. Surround by golf courses and mountains, only 20 minutes from the Strip, you will love the Suncoast. The rooms are huge, the bathrooms classy, huge towels, great beds, I can't say more. The gambling is economical, but you can still make big bets and win. This was the best Las Vegas experience I have had. The food in the buffet was good, the Oyster Bar fantastic and of course the ice cream shop had great variety - especially carb-free frozen yogurt. Everyone as polite, happy and willing to help - EVEN the dealers. The locals patronize the place and I bet because of the odds and double deck black jack, why not. Being safe is also very important to me, and I never felt uncomfortable or threatened. The big shopping mall and golf courses are a blast!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suncoast Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Hotel and Casino

Address: 9090 Alta Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suncoast Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suncoast Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Las Vegas
Suncoast Hotel Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncoast Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.