We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it! Far from strip, poor service, and ghetto area.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower

Save Saved
You added Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Not worth it! Far from strip, poor service, and ghetto area.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Worst hotel I've been too! Stayed in a deluxe with two queen beds. Poor customer service. They had no wifi included, a charge of 12/day/device! Registration was difficult to locate. Concierge was not helpful or friendly. The room had a view of a wall, garbage from other stays were still present, plates from room service outside our doors were not picked up for 2-3 days! Had the option to upgrade but for 20/day so did not. Was a ripoff. Really far from the strip (about 30-40 mins walk), walked a long way but the area is ghetto and dangerous. Saw two fights in the open, panhandlers asking us for change-even within the hotel casino!!Take the Deuce bus $7 for 24hrs ride all day.Only benefit was cheap room service, can get something as low as $8. Overall, I'd say either pay more for the Vegas experience and be closer to the strip or go cheaper to a small hotel like a travel lodge close to the strip with free wifi, if on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you choose to stay. But it still more worth it to choose a better hotel then at that pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,208
    2,585
    1,525
    493
    305
See reviews for
1053
2151
338
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I usually stay at one or two star hotels, as we booked out travel from Ottawa to Las Vegas we had a buget hotel in mind, ( I would rather spend time doing activities than spending my vacation money on a hotel) I was very please with the Stratosphere, the hotel staff were very nice. The hotel itself was great, a bit far from the major downtown action of the strip, but closer to Freemont Street experience. My room was elegant, they even upgraded my room for free, and i did not even ask. It was clean and quiet and the staff were always there to help out a new tourist. I would recommend this hotel any day,

note: if you are new to Las Vegas tell the taxi driver to take Paradise to the Stratosphere it will cost $15, we took the highway at the taxi drivers opinion of the fastest way to get there and it cost us $36

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you are going to Vegas to party and you don't care what the room is like, because all you need is a bed to crash in and a way to wash away the sin through glazed eyes the next morning; then this hotel will do ... except that it's a good half hour walk to the actual strip and you are NOT in a good area to be walking around at night anyway.

From experience (15 years ago & pre-bankruptcy) we thought that this hotel was a really nice place to stay! As avid travelers, we should have known better and were seriously disappointed with our choice! After paying extra for a so-called upgraded room it would be frightening to see what a standard room is like! We did however get a great view of Las Vegas mountains if we stood right in front of the window - but they may as well have been portholes on a cruise ship. About 3 feet wide (air conditioner width) it made NO SENSE someone would design a hotel with tiny windows when you have these awesome views beyond!

The photos they use in all of their literature to sell you a room is NOT the room they give you. We joked that it's not even the same hotel as the windows are much bigger in the advertisements.

The place smells old and funky and the bathroom is ridiculously small. You have less than the basics not even a coffee maker. We found the customer service fairly rude and exceptionally unhelpful from front desk and the lines for checking in and out are loooong, expect up to 40 minutes plus waiting in line ... oh, and then you have to pay a FEE for that experience as well!!! (read on)

We heard EVERYTHING in the hallways and neighboring rooms ... the shower; the toilet 'operations', the tv; telephone conversations ... etc. The air conditioner was stuck (broken) on high, but it felt like 74 degrees the whole time. Well, at least our sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable.

They have a budget rental car office on the second floor but if you don't speak Spanish, good luck renting from them. And FYI, the Starbucks in the casino charges exorbitantly. Like .95 cents for an extra caramel syrup in a caramel frappe! Welcome to Vegas, right?

That said, upon check out, this is what our bill looked like : Room charge + room upgrade + 21% taxes + $9.99 mandatory cleaning fee + $2.75 check-in fee + $16 check-out fee + $23 resort fee ... per person + a $50 convenience fee <-- Huh?!! (We called and had that one removed as they couldn't tell us what the "convenience fee" exactly was - *cough* *shady* * cough*!) + $12/day for internet + $19 to go up into Stratosphere Tower ... and I am sure I am forgetting other fees, we were completely bewildered! Then, we also found out that a buffet for two was included in all these fees we did not know about but of course front desk refused to remove the charge they added and yet failed to mention telling us that "we should have known what we were paying for when we bought the package" ... unbelievable!

We obviously had the worst of the worst experiences and maybe we just bummed out on everything, like the worst room in the worst location with the broken air conditioner and the tiniest bathroom and they forgot the coffee machine and the closet doors and to spray air freshner and clean the shower head and they ran out of normal sized windows 15+ years ago; but when we tried to change rooms it was obvious that the hotel management just REALLY didn't care. This was a double slap in the face when we received the bill.

In summary, this hotel on all levels of accommodation and service was just AWFUL!

Room Tip: Ask for the actual rooms advertised! If you want to be able to sleep go to the end of a hallway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWarnerLasVegas, Front Office Manager at Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Readers-
Management at the Stratosphere Hotel also uses Trip Advisor reviews to help improve the service and product we provide our guests. Contrary to what the reviewer might have you believe, our hotel is not in bankruptcy and we have actually reinvested and remodeled extensively during this economic downturn. The room charges cited in the review, with the exception of the internet cost, are all inaccurate. Our bills are simple and read like any other hotel with room and tax charges – there are no charges for cleaning or checking in or out. Our daily resort fee is $7.50 and entry to the Stratosphere tower is covered by this fee. Any incidentals you choose to charge to your room will also appear on your bill. Please read all reviews with an open mind before making your hotel decision for Las Vegas as most guests tell us they are very satisfied with the value we offer.

Sarah Bilello
Hotel Manager
Sarah.Bilello@stratospherehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingleside, texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I visit Vegas yearly in the fall. This year we stayed for the first time at the Stratosphere from Dec. 5-8. It had a very good price of $59 per night. We had a great time and liked the hotel very much. We stayed in the premier rooms that had been recently updated. The room was nice and had a king bed, flat screen television, huge bathtub and was spacious.

The hotel is not really on the strip anymore as most of the hotels are located further down the strip espcially since the Sarah is now closed. However, the hotel is pretty close to downtown--probably 45 minutes to walk and 10 minute bus ride. We did go downtown for one of our days there and took the bus from right in front of the hotel.

Food--the buffet is very good for both dinner and breakfast. Breakfast has everything as well as eggs cooked to order. The price was not bad--about as much as the IHOP across the street once you factor in beverages (IHOP prices $4 for coffee.)

Gambling--we played slots and found this hotel to pay off better than downtown as well as on the strip. We played one day downtown, one day on the strip and one day in our casino.

Shows--We bought The Mentalist tickets through travelzoo.com and got a very good price. He has an amazing show. The last night we were at our hotel, the offered guests staying at the Stratosphere free tickets to Frankie Moreno in the main showroom. Tickets were completely free or you could opt for front row seating for $20 per couple. We did this. What a show, Frankie and his band are OUTSTANDING...He is like a young Jerry Lee Lewis. We had a great time. Also if you stay at the hotel, you get free unlimited trips up the tower. That was a cool freebie.

Service--Casino bar service was pretty good. The waitstaff came around all hours of the day and offered drinks including water.

Overall, I would say we had a nice time in Vegas. We would be willing to stay at this hotel again and did not mind being off strip. We have stayed at the following other hotels: Rio (several times), Harrah's (several times), Gold Coast (not again), as well as Freemont and one other associated with Harrah's.

Room Tip: Premier Rooms are nice and have been recently upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here last year. It looked beautiful and I was excited. We're not your typical twenty somethings though. We don't stay out all night partying, so a hotel room was important.

First, it's too far fromt he main part of the strip. To get to the main part, it took a good 20 minutes or longer, depending on when the Deuce stopped and walking was about that long. The hotel itself looks nice, but it isn't all it's cracked up to be.

The AC didn't work. We tried to change rooms, but they couldn't switch us. It was HOT and miserable to sleep at night. The fan run on the AC but no air came out.

The rides were GREAT! It's a bonus that it's free to go up since you're staying there. We took advantage of that. I

The casino was okay and the little diner was okay for breakfast. We usually walked towards the other end of the strip to Denny's to eat.

CVS is close, so we went and bought alcohol, pop, and water from there to keep in the hotel room.

Overall, I wouldn't stay again. It wasn't very clean either.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We recently went on a family vacation to the stratosphere in Vegas.We booked our trip online at Allegiant Air. The room was a lot smaller than we thought it would be. There were some housekeeping issues that were bad. We found the food in Roxy's diner excellent, the service was also top notch. We also had a meal in the restaurant in the tower that was absolutely the best meal and service I've ever had. Staff was very helpful and courteous. If you can upgrade your room, I would highly recommend the Stratosphere.

Room Tip: Thet will ask you to upgrade your room, i suggest you do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I've stayed at the Stratosphere a couple of times now and probably never will again. Stayed in a presidential suite for a wedding party and one of their regular rooms on another trip. The rooms are a good value. Good size, fairly modern and clean, plus they're about half the price you'll pay for anything in the center of the strip. However, if you plan on hanging out on the strip it takes too long to get there. Even though this is technically on the strip it's miles away from the hot spots.

You either have to take a taxi which is probably $15 each way or walk to the closest monorail stop (behind the old Sahara) which is probaby a 10-15 minute walk through an increasingly shady part of town, then spend another 15 minutes on the monorail, then probably walk another 10-15 minutes to get to the place you want to go to. I was meeting a friend at New York New York and it honestly took me an hour to get there taking that route. I once made the mistake of walking to Mandalay Bay early one day and it took us almost 4 hours, two meals and countless drinks to get there. I was so tired, drunk and broke by the time I got there that I had to take a cab back and passed out at like 8PM. I will never try to walk 10 vegas blocks again.

If you're travelling with kids and aren't into the whole strip scene then it's not a bad place to stay. I think it's the closest place "on the strip" to Freemont St if you're planning on going there. It also probably has more activites (rides, shows, pool, etc.) than many of the expensive places on the strip, but I wasn't interested in any of them.

Oh and their TV channels suck unless you're into Chinese news.

The one highlight for me was a Mexican restaurant in their little strip mall area. It looks like a hole in the wall Tex-mex place, but they had really good inexpensive Mexican food. Avoid the lines at the McDonalds and go around the corner to that place. They also serve more traditional breakfast items, but I didn't try that.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the strip. Higher floors have better views obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower

Address: 2000 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino And Tower Hotel Las Vegas
Stratosphere Las Vegas
Stratosphere Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.