We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the location, ready for a refurbishment, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #90 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Liked the location, ready for a refurbishment, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you're expecting this Westin to be a top-of-the-line luxury hotel, you might want to lower your expectations a bit. It's looking a little worn around the edges (little things like wallpaper peeling off the bathroom walls, grout falling out in the shower, and carpet that's worn and ready to be replaced). However, it's a perfectly fine place to stay and the rate I paid made it a good value (I've never stayed in another Westin for as little as $118!). Rooms weren't very soundproof; lots of noise in the hallway came right in and it's Vegas, so there WILL be noise in the hallway at odd hours. The location is quarter mile off the strip, which might be a pro or a con depending on your perspective. I kind of like being away from all the tourist congestion, so it was a "plus" for me. Parking lot seemed small for a hotel this size, but I never had a problem finding a space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to address any areas to improve our commitment to our customers. It would be great to welcome you back to the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    658
    345
    163
    122
See reviews for
166
462
121
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Las Vegas is known for a lot of things; fakery, in whatever context, high amongst the adjectives used to describe the town. That adjective also happens to perfectly describe this hotel. First impression – and second, third and fourth impression – were overwhelmingly negative with deceitful hotel management with an extremely poor sense of guest relations consistently making a bad situation worse. Quite how Tony is qualified to ‘manage’ this hotel is beyond this reviewer. Bottom line? Avoid. Don’t let the location fool you: it is the rooms themselves you stay in and the four – yes four – rooms this reviewer saw were WELL below usual ‘Westin’ standards. Spend your hotel dollars elsewhere.

Mrs Eyes Wide Open and this reviewer decided to book here based on the usually stellar reputation of Starwood’ ‘Westin’ brand thinking ‘it’s a Westin.. What could go wrong?” A lot as it turned out. And based on their action(s), time and again, management did not seem to care.

Well run, efficient hotels worldwide – and in fairness, Westin’s are generally well run - know their ‘bad’ rooms. By that term I encompass everything from broken fixtures to a leaky shower to moldy tiles in the bathroom. Well run, efficient hotels also work to repair these things. This Westin however decided that covering up myriad problem(s) was a more effective strategy, though forgot that guest outcomes may well be affected by taking the cheap option. Multiple times.

Further, unlike most reviews written on Tripadvisor that review ONE room, we were unfortunate enough to see four. Why? Incompetence and just plain bad hotel guest service. This review takes FOUR rooms into account. And when I say they uniformly failed to meet what most stereotype as ‘Westin’ standards – whatever that conjures up in your mind – this reviewer saw a large body of evidence.

Rooms themselves? First impression of three of the four rooms seen was an overwhelmingly – in the literal sense - powerful pou purri smell: think cheap candle from a 99c store stench. It was truly gag worthy. When that finally disappaited, it was replaced with a musty, moldy, mildewy smell powerfully radiating from the bathroom. A closer inspection found that the bathroom tiles had various stages/levels of mold/mildew seemingly BEHIND them. The shower was clean, but the smell was literally IN the tiles. The hotel couldn’t be that silly and use the over-powering pou purri aroma to mask the smell could they? Well, yes actually… The smart thing would be to remove said tiles, bleach and re-tile. Nope, this hotel decided to use 99c Store air freshener. We decided breathing in mold/mildew was not good for one’s health and decided to seek a new room. For perspective I have written 35 reviews and NEVER asked to be change rooms. Well run hotels, after receiving this complaint, would normally try to be very accommodating… Well, no….. Nothing. Just the offer of another room.

Mrs Eyes Wide Open and this reviewer were bracing for pou purri when we unlocked the door to Room 2 and were happy to report no overpowering scent. So far so good. The air conditioning unit in room however was bizarrely set to 61 degrees (yes, 61 you read that right) which is far too cold/inefficient/expensive for the hotel so we turned that off. And the noise that replaced the in room A/C was the noise of an idling jet engine that was/is the hotel tower’s air conditioning unit going full throttle conveniently placed outside our room window on 3rd floor. This reviewer likes to sleep in ‘normal temperatures’ like 70~72 and can do without an idling jet engine outside the window so decided to – again – seek a new room. By now, 45 minutes in, we speak to ‘Tony’, the apparent manager on duty, who decided to blame previous hotel guests for setting the in-room A/C to 61… No mate. Try again… He then blamed house keeping…. No mate. Try again. This reviewer was not born yesterday and quite frankly, did not appreciate his efforts to palm off blatant efforts to cover up room deficiencies on previous guests or house-keeping. It does illustrate however, how this hotel operates: blame someone else.

Remember my comment above about hotels knowing their ‘bad’ rooms? Here, well run, efficient hotels really spring into action and help guests out. Two bad rooms tend to normally set a bad tone. Hotels that are well run tend to pull out all stops! Here? …….. No. No apology from Tony, just a shallow denial against my accusations of cheap cover ups - an offer an another room…
Room 3 and the door opens…. To that lovely, overwhelming ‘scent’ of pou purri. Yes folks, the highly intelligent people that manage this hotel decided to move us to another room with mold/mildew seeping from the bathroom tiles. To be fair, if the odor from the first room was an 11/10, this one was a mere 5/10.

We gave up.

And you should too. Mrs Eyes Wide Open and this reviewer just dealt with it. We were tired of their games, lies and downright deceit. The process had by now taken well over an hour. You don’t need to settle for this and would urge you to stay elsewhere. Lastly, the cab driver(s) in Las Vegas are in general a knowledgeable lot. When even they say ‘You picked a bad place’ you know your reputation is sealed….

Oh: What about Room 4? Well, this reviewer stopped in when the previous occupying guest had checked out and smellt the bathroom tiles. Mold/mildew. And housekeeping was just readying the pou purri…

Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
It is extremely disheartening to read comments such as yours. It is our hope that each guest feel at home while here and we truly regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and we will work with the team to determine the best course of action. Thank you for sharing your perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino and Spa. The service was wonderful. I got in early, and I was given a room as soon as one was ready. Michael at the front desk was very helpful, assisting me in coordinating the arrival of my friend. The room was clean and comfortable - consistent with what I expect of a Westin property. I got a great Starwood rate. The hotel is just around the corner from the strip and much more affordable. It is an easy 15 minute walk to Ceasar's Palace and the Forum Shops. There is a great little sandwich shop/convenience store with a Coca Cola theme next to the Westin on the left hand side of the front desk if you are facing away from front desk toward the street. It has made to order fresh sandwiches, beer and wine, bottled water, etc. A great value, too. The Stage Door is a convenience/liquor store on the way to the strip (opposite direction of the Coca Cola themed convenience store) that has pre mix margaritas, chips and salsa. Just to let you know.

I really enjoyed the quiet pool area. Very comfortable lounge chairs, music, a bar, and a view of three casinos on the horizon. It is a small pool but very enjoyable. There is also a hot tub.

This is a 100 percent smoke free facility. You may not smoke in the casino area of the bar. Love that.

The room had two small complimentary bottles of water. It also had Starbucks coffee for the coffee maker as well as tea. There was turn down service with chocolates. Very nice!

I strongly recommend the Westion Las Vegas Hotel, Casino and Spa.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 15th floor, which is the "Starwood" floor. I was in room 1558 and liked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Whether you are staying close to the hotel or taking some time to explore the area, we are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your comments and suggestions. It was a pleasure to have you here at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I returned to this property because it is one of our corporate properties and the choices for Vegas are not great. I must say this time back I was a bit more impressed and felt it was in better shape than before. The room was very comfortable and we especially liked the bed.
It is just in a weird location 2 blocks off the strip. You have to walk past some creepy types on the street but I believe it is safe. We did it several times.
What I would not recommend is their only restaurant. The breakfast buffet was below par and overpriced. Most places on the strip have overpriced buffets of poor quality.
I am back in October and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Your continued loyalty is appreciated. I am thrilled you enjoyed the recent renovations in our guest rooms and it is great you found the room comfortable. In addition to walking to the Las Vegas Strip, our guests can access the monorail located across the street or take alternate transportation methods available just outside the hotel. Our concierge desk personnel are available to assist with any questions you may have. For future trips to the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa, we offer an SPG Breakfast Plus package, which includes discounted rates, continental breakfast in Suede as well as a discount for services at Hibiscus Spa. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First trip to Vegas in the summer and in was torrential down pours! We did a short girl's trip for 2 days and stayed at the Westin. It is located one block from Ballys. Very easy access to the strip. You can walk into the side door of Ballys right into the sport book lounge. The rooms at the Westin were very comfortable. They had the "heavenly" beds. I could have stayed in the bed all day. Our room had 2 queen beds, small refrigerator (you can empty out and use if for your own beverages), robes, fluffy towels, and a big flat screen tv. The room did have a resort fee for each day. That is typical of most resorts on the strip. That fee needs to go. We had room service for breakfast and one late night snack. Ordering was a bit tricky. The room menu pricing did not match what showed up on our bill. Beware of a 20% fee for room service. The hotel had a small casino in house. I loved it because it was SMOKE FREE!!! I'm so tired of smelling stale cigarette smoke. I spent most of my slot time at this casino. I could breathe. Bar pricing for drinks was average for the strip area. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist us. Due to the miss communication over the menu pricing for room service, the hotel gave us a credit for the late night snack bill and took off our resort fees for each day. I could not complain. I will definately stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: basic rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
It is great that your first trip to Las Vegas included a stay with us. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy so much during your time here even though the weather may not have cooperated! I am happy to learn you were able to spend time at our onsite Casuarina Casino and enjoyed the comfortable atmosphere. It was wonderful to have had you here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a great 2 nite stay. The hotel is very close to the strip. Parking was easy and the room was nice. The breakfast buffet was awesome, and no long wait like everywhere else! If you love the strip but want to escape it also this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa. It appears our location worked well and we are delighted you were able to take advantage of relaxing retreat away from the Las Vegas Strip. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Only one block off the strip, its location is central to everything. The hotel provides smoke free environment, as soon as you walked in the lobby you can smell the aroma of Westin's signature fragrant. The room is spacious and the Heavenly Bed is super comfortable. However, the room is not super clean and their furniture could use some TLC. Their staff are friendly and helpful. Decor in their restaurant is not spectacular but food was excellent. All in all, it's a good convention hotel to stay at if you want to be in Vegas but be away from all the smoke, noise and crowds that most Vegas hotels offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are delighted you were able to enjoy your stay at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa. Your comments and suggestions are appreciated and we will work with the team to ensure our commitment to customer service is our highest priority. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa

Address: 160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino & Spa is located 1.5 Blocks east of the famed Las Vegas Strip, Forum Shops, the LINQ, High Roller observation wheel and Miracle Mile mall, just minutes away from Las Vegas Convention and Sands Expo Centers, UNLV campus and 5 miles from McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino And Spa
Westin Las Vegas
Las Vegas Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.