We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok Sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushisamba

Sushisamba
3327 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Grand Canal Shoppes at the Palazzo, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)
+1 702-607-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushisamba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 3,754 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese, Brazilian, Peruvian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Strip
Description: Only at SUSHISAMBA will you find a unique blend of Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian cuisine, music and design. Hearty moquecas and colorful seviches are served alongside more inventive dishes, including Tuna Tataki and Wagyu Gyoza. Complementing the menu are signature cocktails made with exotic spirits such as shochu and cachaca and an acclaimed sake list, as well as wine, beer and champagne. Equal parts imagination and history, the SUSHISAMBA experience is truly unique.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just ok Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I love Sushi but wasn't thrilled with this restaurant. The food was just ok - and overall, for Sushi - extremely overpriced. Lunch for 2 - few simple rolls $100.(before tip)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    273
    125
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Delightfully Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I went here with a co-worker for an early dinner (6:30-ish). We had no reservations, but were welcomed and seated right away. The decor is quite different...not sure how to describe it. Very eclectic, maybe. My co-worker wanted sushi and quickly settled on the chef's choice. I don't eat sushi, but spotted a New York Strip that sounded good enough. The waiter encouraged me to be more adventurous by mixing and matching some of the kebobs with meat, chicken, fish, etc. I migrated back to the strip.
Our edamame appetizer showed up right away and was delicious. We had cocktails, capairinhas, which we thought would probably not be as good as those we had enjoyed in Brazil. They did not dissapppoint. I can't speak personally about the sushi, but based on how often my co-worker said "ow, wow!", it must have been really good. She confirmed during and after dinner that it was awesome. The steak was one of the best I have ever had. It came on a large plate and was sliced thinly so you can eat it with chopsticks if you choose. There were three dipping sauces with it and a side of rice, collard greens, and black beans. They were all very good. The steak was prepared true Brazilian style with simple salt and pepper seasoning. I used some of the sauces, and they were very good, but I went back to enjoying the steak with its pure, simple seasonings. The only dissapointment came when we ordered after-dinner coffees. They were very weak and not very hot. I would definitely go back for dinner, but would pass on the coffee.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tasting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Nice tasting menu with lot's of variations. Bit over crowded place and quite noisy for business dinner purposes. Good service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary`
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Foodgasm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

What an absolutely fantastic place! We had a stellar server who selected our meals and paired wine/saki for us and it was without a doubt the best dining experience we have had. The food was delicious and she picked so many things for us that we wouldn't have normally tried e.g. the duck. It is a bit loud but the food and service makes up for everything. Do not miss this 5* experience!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Choose this over Nobu if you love sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Food was great! Very creative and tasty rolls. Atmosphere was good and service was good. Tables were a little crowded - you felt right on top of each other. Over all it was a great experience and would go again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushisamba also viewed

 
Las Vegas, NV
 

Been to Sushisamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushisamba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.