We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Las Vegas to your Saves list
Super 8 Las Vegas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4250 Koval Lane, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

This property is going downhill fast.
The hallway stinks, side door lock is broken, one of ice machines did not work, and the other only dispenses a handful of ice at a time to registered guests. The bathrooms don't have any ventilation, so the smells linger for hours. In the room the overhead light was not working (though that got fixed, only took an hour and 2 calls to the front desk), the radio alarm refused to produce any sounds, and A/C was so noisy it was hard to sleep.

This Super8 used to be a perfect budget option close to strip just a couple of years ago, but no longer.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    338
    268
    89
    75
See reviews for
187
265
139
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

The Super 8 in Las Vegas works for us because it is an uncomplicated experience and, in Las Vegas, hotels typically are absurdly complicated. The room is very average -- a queen-sized bed that is adequately comfortable, reasonable space in the bathroom, and a room size that, while not spacious, is also not cramped. Some positives included WiFi service that was lightning fast and a casino next door that serves somes darn good microbrews. The big factor that leads us here when we are staying in Vegas is that we can get to our hotel room in under five minutes. At the big Vegas casino/hotels, you will spend at least 20 minutes walking from your car to your hotel room and typically more. If you are passing through Vegas (as we were) or you do not want to deal with the complications that are par for the course in big Vegas hotels, the Super 8 might provide a good alternative.

  • Liked — Convenient access, very fast WiFi
  • Disliked — Towels are typical for Super 8 - you will not get a big, thirsty towel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

If you vacation for the hotel amenities, maybe this isn't for you. I, however, loved it.

This Super 8 is right off the Strip - it took me 11 minutes to walk to the Flamingo Hotel, where my convention was. It's a $5.00 cab ride with tip (unless traffic is bad). So all the hotels, restaurants and attractions are right nearby. There is a pool but I didn't use it. It's not a luxury pool, but it could be fun for a family to play in.

The restauarnt next door, Ellis Island (I think) was highly recommended by the locals (cab drivers) for great, cheap steak and has a bar and small casino. There is a 7/11 on the corner for odds & ends. Free wireless internet in the lobby, which is roomy and comfortable. Coffee available 24/7 and individual coffee makers in the rooms.

Great, helpful friendly staff. Airport shuttle. Air conditioning works well. Plenty of towels. Bathrooms large enough and clean, with fantastic water pressure. I had no complaints at all and can't imagine why you'd spend more. At $55 for a single room, it's less than half of most hotels in Vegas!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

My family stayed at the Super 8 while attending our sons graduation from UNLV. We are from West Lafayette, IN and though we have visited Las Vegas several times over the past years we have always stayed on the strip. This year we wanted something close to the strip, but not in the middle of the hussle and bussle. The Super 8 was wonderful. The rooms were large, clean, and well maintained. The shower was great and the hot water seemed endless.

I will also speak on the friendliness of the staff and front desk people.

Great experience and I intend to go out next year 2008 in March for another celebration and stay at the Super 8.

Thank you.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the rooms and location to the mall.
  • Disliked — everything was good
  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

Stayed 1 night May 2007, selecting Super 8 Koval Lane based on some reviews on TA and I was desperate. I needed ease of access to the strip for some meetings – and had a place on the strip for the other nights booked – but could not get the first night because of a major conference being held in LV. I called the Super 8 but they told me they would only make a room available on the weekend if I booked 2 nights – so I kept searching and lo and behold, Travelworm had 1 night available at the same Super 8 so I booked it on Travelworm. I arrived early, left my bags and was told my room should be ready by noon. It was not – in fact, it was not ready until 4 pm. I was eventually given a room with queen bed for a price of $139.00 per night plus tax – prepaid on Travelworm. That was a steal for the weekend I was there! The room was basic and clean. Toiletries were of a low-end motel quality. The motel seemed to attract some “interesting” guests – like the woman who slept for hours outside my door early in the evening, then woke up and called someone on her cell. Same woman was thrown out of the motel at about 2 am; she was outside my door again pounding on the door across the hall screaming. Security told her that her husband had checked out early that day and she had to get out and she would not go as she had no money and no where to go. Needless this made an interesting one night stay – my first and last at this Super 8.

  • Disliked — Where oh where do I start
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Stayed in this Super 8 for a night with spouse and child. We had some initial problems with the sink, but that got fixed when I managed to reach the front desk. (You need to wait for a while until someone actually picks up the phone!) It was an okay place, and they let us park our car even after the checkout (our flight was in the evening). The intersection of Flamingo and the strip is 3 blocks away, so we walked.

If you simply need a place to sleep and store your luggage, this is an ok place. If you want anything more, this may not be the place to be in.

I'll definitely try other hotels next time, but would not rule this one out completely.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

We chose this motel for it's position and low price - and we weren't disappointed. For an 'off strip' motel it is in an excellent position - just a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of The Strip (Bellagio, Caesars, Bally's & Flamingo). It was clean and comfortable and certainly good value. If you're just looking for somewhere to stay without any frills, then I would definitely recommend staying here.
Don't miss the fountains at Bellagio!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Las Vegas

Address: 4250 Koval Lane, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Las Vegas 2*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World's Largest Super 8 just 1 block off the Strip! Newly Remodeled offering 24 Hour Courtesy Airport Shuttle, 24 Hour Heated Pool and Hot Tub, Free WI-FI, Free Parking, Free Local Calls,Interior Corridors, Pet Friendly Rooms Available, In Room Coffee Makers. Award winning Ellis Island Casino and Brewery is located next door. Ellis Island features a 24 Hour Restaurant, BBQ and Metro Pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Super 8 Motel Las Vegas Strip Area
Super Eight Las Vegas
Las Vegas Super 8
Las Vegas Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.