We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sin City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sin City Hostel to your Saves list
Sin City Hostel
1208 S. Las Vegas Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89104   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I didnt expect much for $13.50 a night..but this was worse then I imagined. I stayed here with a group of friends for 2 nights. The staff have no customer service, the men flirt with you, they all sit around smoking weed and drinking. The bathroom had no soap, hand towel or toilet paper. The bedroom had no lock on it. The bed was well past it's use by date and I'm sure it was invested with bed bugs as I am covered with bites. The wifi was only available sitting outside. The breakfast was toast. However they do organise limos and clubbing activities for most nights. Very dodgy area, don't leave the hostel alone at night. Did not feel at all comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    11
    13
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
5
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a semi-private twin room for 1 night on the way from Utah to LA and all the Strip hotels were super expensive since it was the weekend so we stayed here. The neighborhood is REALLY sketchy at night. We (2 females) got heckled quite a bit and while no one actually assaulted us, which I didn't think they would, it still felt a bit threatening. In the end we decided to drive to the nearby Fremont Street Experience to pass the time rather than walk.

The hostel staff, while nice, were quite aloof most of the time. The semi-private room was accessible through a 4-bed dorm with whom we shared a bathroom. The bathroom was decent enough and the room extremely simple. The beds were not comfortable and the bedsheets of questionable cleanliness BUT it wasn't a horrible room either. I would not stay here again but I would recommend it to young people who are on a very tight budget as it serves its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at Sin City Hostel because I wanted to meet people to share the Vegas experience with and to party with. The hostel met my desires.

It felt like being in the middle of nowhere, which gave it a very cruisy vibe. For a hostel the location is fine. It's a reasonably short bus ride away from both the strip and down town, or a reasonable taxi fare away for the return home after a night of partying.

The staff here are really accommodating and helpful and they try to organise club nights as long as there's enough people around. Friday night goes off - massive limo to a club on the strip with pre-drinks at the hostel beforehand. During the week it's a bit quiet, but once you've made friends you make your own fun anyway and tend not to be at the hostel much.

I recommend that you take a gamble on this place. Happy sinning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

It was over new years so the prices can just about be justified. The room itself , a twin private, backed onto a bigger dorm.
So we shared a bathroom. Which was kept clean luckily. The rooms werent so clean... Under the beds were gross.

The location is not great ... Unless you like walking. You are close to the old strip which is good but a far old walk to the new strip.
The prices were high considering friends of mine stayed at a much nicer place at a casio for the same price. Good staff though and Larry is a nice guy.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Having heard that Circus Circus was $18 a night (if you book in advance) And we paid $19 for here . . .

Rooms weren't very clean.

Location is a bit sketchy - didn't sleep well at allllll as was scared most of night someone would steal my stuff!

Staff are very nice and helpful! Always able to help and chat :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is the worst place i've ever stayed! We booked in for only one night because it was cheap and last minute as we decided to stay an extra night in Vegas, but we still paid far over what we should have done for this awful place!

Our first impressions were not good before we even got to the room thanks to the woman on the front desk. I've never come across someone who is so unfriendly and so unwilling to help. She barely said 2 words while checking us in, when I asked her questions she just completely ignored me and carried on with what she was doing. She didn't even mention payment, so we thought we'd pay on check out, but when we checked out (with a different person who thankfully, was somewhat more friendly), he didn't mention payment either, so we asked and he said the credit card we reserved with was charged when we arrived. We had planned to pay with cash, so were annoyed that we hadn't even been notified upon arrival that our credit card was charged, and we weren't given a receipt. 

Although the hostel is located on Las Vegas boulevard, it is an hour on the deuce (bus) to reach the main area of the strip with the bad traffic, and it was too unbearable to walk that far in the heat. Every other hostel we have stayed in on our travels have had information on how to get around etc. Upon asking a staff member how we get to the Greyhound station (something surely they've been asked before, and clearly haven't bothered to find out), she didn't know. The hostel was located in downtown, not too far from Fremont St and it didn't feel the safest area.

Onto the rooms, we booked into a 2 bed dorm, which could only be accessed by walking through a 4 bed  dorm, and our bathroom was shared with them. We didn't feel comfortable or secure leaving our belongings in the room, as there were no lockers (even though there were in the 4 bed dorm). The room was tiny, and contained nothing but 2 tiny beds, a tiny table and a chair. The whole feel of the room was very dated. The beds were as hard as rock and I can safely say it was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. The bedding clearly hasn't been washed before we arrived because it was covered in hairs. The floor was really sticky and felt like it was covered in sand or something similar. The bathroom was of a good size but half the floor was completely flooded by the shower, and you could hardly even see in the shower the lighting was so bad.

The security in the hostel wasn't good, the common/living area could just be accessed by anyone on the street and the luggage storage was just an outdoor cupboard. 

Find an alternative place to stay, there are plenty around, all with pools (something you need in that heat!), and I'm sure they have air con unlike this one, and friendly staff!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed in the hostel for one night after transferring from another hotel due to expensive weekend rates. Just glad it was only one night. Anyone could just walk into the main entrance or the side door for the common area. There was little amount of info on places to visit and ways to access areas. The front desk staff were unhelpful and clearly didn't want to be there. We left our luggage prior to check in, which got left in a random outside cupboard, which despite having a lock felt unsafe.

Although located on the strip it is in downtown Vegas. Which took up to an hr on a bus (due to traffic) to reach the main area of the strip. The downtown area was dark and felt unsafe at night.

We booked into a "semi private room" which was a small room, located at the back of a 4 bed dorm. Our room connected to the bathroom which was shared with the dorm. However the connecting door could not be locked and our room did not have lockers to put iPod's in etc. The rooms didn't have air con, the beds were like sleeping on a park bench and the sheets clearly hadn't been cleaned as they were mucky and covered in hair. The floor hadn't been cleaned in months and dirty stuck to your feet if you didn't wear flip flops. The shower flooded the bathroom and the light wasn't bright you had to shower in the dark.

The breakfast described as a continental breakfast consisted of a loaf of bread and some butter put on the table. When checking out we were told our credit card had been charged for our stay even though we wanted to pay by cash to save credit card fees.

Overall I would not reccommend this hostel. I wouldn't even let my dog stay in it. The best thing about it was leaving. I just wished we'd chose to pay the weekend rate and stayed in the Wild Wild West for an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sin City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin City Hostel

Address: 1208 S. Las Vegas Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89104
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sin City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sin City Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sin City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.