We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fremont Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Fremont Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fremont Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Fremont Street, Between Casino Center Boulevard and 3rd Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Vegas Fun Special
Ranked #89 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been spending the last month travelling in Nevada, California, and Arizona. Out of the more than 20+ hotels we have stayed at, this ranks at the bottom.
Good points - free parking, valet service, good location on Fremont St., cheap
Poor Points - VERY, very small room, outdateds, smokey (I couldn't breathe!; my clothes smelled of smoke), uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Fremont Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We appreciate your very candid response and apologize that your room was less than you expected. The Fremont caters to all guests, both smokers and non-smokers, and have areas that are smoke-free, including our restaurants and an assortment of non-smoking hotel rooms. As part of Historic Downtown Las Vegas, one of the charms of the Fremont Hotel is its history, the quaint feel of Las Vegas with a modern touch – all for a great value. We appreciate your comments, and they are being shared with management, including the General Manager. If you decide to stay with us please contact the executive office and we will be sure to accommodate you in a non-smoking room. Again, thank you for your response and as there are many choices for you to stay in Las Vegas, we hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    176
    96
    28
    22
See reviews for
54
177
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Chose the Fremont for the $29 mid-week rate. Room was quite small. Bed was nice as was everything else except the bathroom. First, tiny tiny tiny. No amount of counter space which they try to make up for by having a small ledge above the sink. But the ledge actually makes it impossible to even see the faucet handles without bending over. The toilet has to be angled from the wall to make it fit. The shower head hits you about chest height. The sink drain plug was not working so I had to manually open and close the sink. And finally, the bathroom switch was a "single" meaning you have no control over the loud vent working whenever you go in the bathroom. The "noise" is always on. Not going back when there are many other hotels nearby for about the same money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahwatukee, arizona
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We go to Las Vegas to gamble. Mostly we play table games, have been since the 1970's. We appreciate the 'old school' properties that still cater to gamers. The dealers are friendly, the wait staff is friendly, the drinks flow freely, the management is pleasant, watchful, and approachable. (One of my big Vegas gripes - at the 'upscale' strip properties, some gaming management is very snobbish). Yes the property is not 'hip' and a little worn around the edges, but try getting a buffet comp, at say the Paris, after hours of gaming - good luck. While waiting for the dinner buffet to open we killed some time on the penny slots, and made like $225 in 20 minutes. Of course this is the exception not the rule, but it's nice to know at least you have a chance. We even signed up for the players club here: Kudos to Arlene at the B-connected desk - you were awesome; and got enough time killing slot play action to qualify for free lunches! The buffet by the way was standard, but thoroughly enjoyable, partly due to the quality, friendly staff. A great experience and we'll game here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a great experience, of course we were only at the hotel to sleep the rest of the time we were at the casinos, but the rooms were great, clean and friendly staff. Staying downtown was great and love the vip lines over the crowd was great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend for our 20th anniversary and the hotel insisted we had to leave a $50 deposit on our credit card, that they could not accept cash. They gauranteed us it would be refunded after check out. It has been 3 weeks and we are still fighting with them for it and now we are having to file a dispute through our bank. I know this isn't an isolated case either because 6 other rooms were occupied here on the same dates by our family members who were there to celebrate with us. All 6 others are still fighting for their deposits as well. My husband has a coworker who goes to vegas once a month and he said that he and his wife quit staying there after having their money stolen 3 times by the fremont. One other problem we had was that the people next door were smoking pot the entire time and no amount of complaining got them to do anything about it. Do not bring children here!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I visited Las Vegas over the Thanksgiving holidays. The Fremont Hotel and "The Fremont Experience" were wonderful. The hostess at their B Connected Club is the absolute best and friendliest I have ever met. She stayed on top of everything! When a kitchen fire delayed meals at the Grill Restaurant, she gave us a $50.00 credit to use. The lobster was wonderful, the atmosphere cozy; so we celebrated Sheri's 49th birthday in style! The room was quiet and very clean with a wonderful mattress. We felt 100% safe as we investigated neighboring casinos and night life. This is our second trip to the Fremont, and there will definitely be a third!
jsutton

Room Tip: The front desk is very accommodating in helping place you in the most comfortable room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Been to Vegas twice before and didn't realise this place existed. What a surprise. The location was great, the price very affordable and o much going on within easy walking distance. The room was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom needed a bit of TLC but it was clean and had a great shower. Only thing I didn't like was the smoke in the casino area, but that's because my state is non-smoking indoors so not used to it. Did find other local casinos that had better ventilation but I wasn't there to gamble so just had to deal with it on the way through to the wonderful Dunkin Donuts!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the stairwell as the door is quite noisy when closing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fremont Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremont Hotel and Casino

Also Known As:
Fremont Hotel
Fremont Hotel Las Vegas
Fremont Las Vegas
Address: 200 East Fremont Street, Between Casino Center Boulevard and 3rd Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#89 Top resorts Hotel in Las Vegas
#90 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fremont Hotel and Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Fremont Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremont Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.