We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Fell In Love With The El Cortez!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Cortez Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Fremont St, Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Corpus Christi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We Fell In Love With The El Cortez!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had to write a review about our wonderful stay at the El Cortez from Sept 8th - Sept 13th 2011 in room 1501.
I wanted to say that we are regular Texas visitors to Las Vegas and have stayed at The Venetian, Ceasars, Harrahs, MGM Grand, The Golden Nugget and many, many more. Out of all the places we have stayed in Vegas, The Cortez was the very best! We are now devoted customers, and cannot wait to come again!
Our room was lovely with a wonderful view. There was actually a coffee pot in the room!! An apparent no-no at other hotels in Vegas. How nice it was to be able to stay in our jammies and have coffee in the mornings while we enjoyed looking out the window. Not to have to get dressed and go in search of coffee, or to have to order cold coffee from over-priced room service, was a blessing!
The housekeeping ladies were wonderful and saw to our every need. Our room was always clean, and a nice and cool sanctuary when we wanted to get away from the bustle of Vegas. They were always nice about giving us extra coffee packets if we needed them.
We had dinner at The Flame. What an experience! That was our 1st night and we were so tired from traveling! We loved the low lighting, the exquisite piano playing, the wine, our excellent waitress, and the romance! (we are in our 60’s, married for nearly 50 years, by the way!)
We had wine in the newly remodeled bar while we watched football. The nicest bartender!! That was lots of fun, with everyone hollering for their team.
The gambling was fantastic, even though we did not leave as winners, the games were fair, with low minimums. Great blackjack!! We went down Fremont and played at a few other places, but always ended up back at the Cortez. No one else compared. So, it is also our favorite place to gamble.
We had several low cost, and a couple of free, meals in the café, from points earned while playing. Wonderful, yummy food in the Café!
The free shuttle to the airport was a blessing! Right on time and the most delightful driver!
We even enjoyed the hot dogs at the sports book. (only thing I would suggest on those is that they steam or warm the buns), but they were SO tasty!
After staying at all of those higher $ places, we were a bit nervous about trying the El Cortez, but we needn’t have been. It was absolutely delightful. We no longer care to stay on the noisy, over priced strip. The Cortez will be our place, now!
My ONLY complaint, and it is not really a complaint, is that the computer station at the elevators where we printed our return boarding passes, messed up, and I had to pay more money to get them printed, since my time kept running out. No biggie, though! It was great to have a place to get them printed! (I think it was my fault it kept messing up!)
Every employee was delightful, and I did not run across any problems with any of them. All were friendly and helpful, and I only wish I had thought to get names so I could praise each one, individually.
The El Cortez reminds us of the old Vegas that we loved when we were younger!
Everything was super clean. Our room in the main tower on the 15th floor was huge with a seperate sitting area and a great view of Vegas, the mountains and the Stratosphere needle. The bed was super comfy and the AC was ice cold! Bathroom not fancy, but clean, and functional, with great amenities! There is no pool, but that is not a biggie to us.
We highly recommend the Cortez, especially to older couples like us who have tired of the noisy, over-priced strip, and remember they way Vegas used to be.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main tower are large, and well appointed. I cannot say about the other rooms, or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    349
    176
    69
    64
See reviews for
87
281
164
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTHERN OHIO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

That's their slogan and you can tell. I mean that in a good way. They are celebrating their 70th anniversary this year and if you like nostalgia you'll love this place. Was pleasantly surprised by my room - wasn't expecting much but the room was large and comfortable. Furniture was old (dark wood) even a drop top desk! Loveseat and coffee table, window in bathroom. I love old, but clean, comfy rooms and this one was.

Staff is young and friendly, except for the the guys at the bell desk. These guys were great!but looked as if they had worked there since Bugsy......!! Really nice gents, had that old time polite, helpful demeanor.

Casino is small but fun. Restaurants, food, very good. Excellent Chocolate Martini!

We booked a package here because with airfare it was cheaper than airfare alone. But if you took advantage of their summer promotion the room would have been free. ($25/night with $25 food credit). We like downtown and for the money this place was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The original Vegas Hotel. I recommend everyone stay downtown. If you want to hear the sound of real money coming out of the slots and play on cheaper tables this is the place. Remodelled rooms. Great restaurant with great prices and service. Great time

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Old Vegas on Budget.. that sum's up the review. nothing fancy like the strip but if you are serious about gambling and earing your comp dollar, you may want to check this place out. This place is filled with middle age and up, value oriented middle class folks and occasional young folks lured by cheap rate. We stayed in the Cabana suite, decored with lime green, silver and black. I guess they are aiming for some kind of botique hotel status. Bathroom is huge and everything else seems to be up to par. It's not exactly my taste but it's something different. Don't worry about the security, it's all good. If blackjack is your game, plenty of tables with $5 min bet. If you are staying in downtown for hardcore gambling and never ending comp drinks, this is your joint. Yep.. you can be a high roller, in a low ball casino. If this is your first visit to Vegas, go to the strip.

Room Tip: ask for away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My friends and I have stayed at the El Cortez several times. The low minimums on the tables and the low hotel prices give us a lot of extra money to gamble. The rooms are quite nice for the money. If you goto Vegas for the old style gambling experience and don't expect the Ritz, you will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was appealing to stay at the El Cortez because of the low rate that was offered. With the 100 temperature, we would have liked somewhere with a swimming pool. The room rate was good, but we were turned off when we checked in. It was extremely slow checking in, even without a long line. The lady at check in seemed to hate her job, either that or she just doesn't like people.
We had heard that everyone should stay at the older part of Vegas once. We probably won't do it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The El Cortez - is our 'go to' hotel. Sure we stay at different places just to check things out and see what's happening around town when we visit - but the El Cortez remains our no-frills, no overpayment, meat and potatoes hotel/casino.

Its small, its pretty simple - and it works. Everything is clean, the dealers are fun when you have a chance to talk with them and enjoy yourself!

The diner is what you'd expect - no frills - and it works perfectly fine...!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Address: 600 Fremont St, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas.With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book.Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cortez Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.