We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool for old skool Vegas enthusiasts....surrounding neighborhood is less than desirable... be Careful!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Neon Museum

The Neon Museum
770 Las Vegas Boulevard North, Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 387-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #60 of 568 attractions in Las Vegas
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1996, the Neon Museum is a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, studying and exhibiting iconic Las Vegas signs for educational, historic and cultural enrichment. In addition to an approximately two-acre Neon Museum campus, which includes the outdoor exhibition space known as the Neon Boneyard, the museum also encompasses a visitors’ center housed inside the former La Concha Motel.Guided tours are available seven days a week every half hour starting at 10 a.m. and run all day with the final tour departing at 8:30 p.m. The Fall/Winter Night Tour showcases our restored signs within the Neon Boneyard along with our recently installed illumination for our unrestored collection.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cool for old skool Vegas enthusiasts....surrounding neighborhood is less than desirable... be Careful!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Been to Vegas 12 times..always wanted to go....hit the mob museum first one block from Fremont st...then walked 6-7 blocks thru a crackhead/homeless people infested area...thought I was goin to get jacked for sure....Arrived in one piece and had a great time but got a cab back... I realize the city rents them the space for one dollar a year...now I can see why....deserves a better locale!! Two thumbs up despite the walk from hell....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    149
    46
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Interesting history of Las Vegas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a great way to spend an hour in Las Vegas. Seeing the signs and hearing some history brought back a lot of memories of past trips to LV. I wish the one working sign in the boneyard was turned on for the tour. The other signs that have been repaired are on display around the city for free. We drove around at night to see them. Be sure to make your reservation ahead of time. Our tour was sold out and people were turned away.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“As close as you can get to some Las Vegas history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Neon Museum features neon signs from old casinos and other businesses displayed outdoors.
Las Vegas casinos are modernised frequently and the old neon signs were dumped somewhere and slowly being destroyed by exposure to the elements. Local council and some aficionados started the museum in the late 90's and slowly gathered and restored signs in order to preserve these iconic pieces of Las Vegas history.
Important historical pieces in the boneyard include the signs from the Caesar's Palace, Moulin Rouge Hotel, the Stardust, and many others.
Tours of the boneyard must be arranged via email (18$ pp) prior to your visit, but there is talk of making it a full-fledged museum in the nearby future.
The Neon museum is one of the few places where you can see some real Vegas history, and the guides do a great job at giving you lots of background information on this very young and weird city.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best $18 I spent in Vegas. But not everyone will like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you come to Vegas to get "wasted" and party non-stop then this attraction will likely not appeal to you in the slightest! If however you want to find out more about the history of Las Vegas and the World famous neon signs then this is well worth a visit.

The first thing to say is that you must book in advance via their website. All tours are escorted and depart at set times. It is not a large place and an hour seemed just about right.

If you don't have a car then the 113 bus (Cashman Center Stop) will get you close.

Our guide was excellent and her enthusiasm for the museum and the history of the signs / Las Vegas was obvious. Don't want to say too much and spoil the stories for you!

They are restoring the signs gradually and some are on display already from just north of the museum along Las Vegas Boulevard up to Fremont Street. They also have plans to run evening tours in the summer when those signs that still work will be illuminated.

Well worth a visit if you have any interest in the history of Las Vegas, just don't expect white tigers, pirate ships, dancing fountains or exploding volcanoes!

I know some people think $18 is pricey but I was happy to pay in the hope that I might be helping preserve these signs for future generations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Cool Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a lot of fun. We went in the late afternoon and took the tour. The various neon signs have a lot of great stories. The tour guide was really entertaining and knowledgeable. She mentioned a few signs on the way from the museum to Freemont Street that we checked out on our way back. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Neon Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Neon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Neon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Neon Museum to your Saves list