We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different to Do While in Las Vegas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Neon Museum

The Neon Museum
770 Las Vegas Boulevard North, Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 387-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$250*
and up
Scooter Car Tour of Downtown Las Vegas and the...
Ranked #16 of 267 Attractions in Las Vegas
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1996, the Neon Museum is a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, studying and exhibiting iconic Las Vegas signs for educational, historic and cultural enrichment. In addition to an approximately two-acre Neon Museum campus, which includes the outdoor exhibition space known as the Neon Boneyard, the museum also encompasses a visitors’ center housed inside the former La Concha Motel.Guided tours are available seven days a week every half hour starting at 10 a.m. and run all day with the final tour departing at 8:30 p.m. The Fall/Winter Night Tour showcases our restored signs within the Neon Boneyard along with our recently installed illumination for our unrestored collection.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Something Different to Do While in Las Vegas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are losing a little too much $$$ in the casinos or want to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the Strip, take a step into the past by visiting The Neon Museum, also known as the Boneyard. Here you can see many of the old signs that helped make Las Vegas famous. We visited The Neon Museum on a cold afternoon in late December. Even though it was chilly, the tour guide had such interesting stories the time passed by quickly. He had a lot of history to impart and it was fun seeing signs (or partial signs) of Las Vegas landmarks. I espeically liked the Stardust and Liberace Museum signs (see attached pictures). There is one from the Las Vegas Club that was a good picture taking opportunity. They even have old signs from restaurants and products--liked the one for aspirin!!! You need to buy tickets in advance as the tours fill up--they were sold out the day we visited as they were turning people away. Parking is a bit tight so I recommend getting there early. The Neon Museum is not too far from downtown Las Vegas but is not in a particularly good part of town so I recommend driving or taking a cab there. You will know you are in the right place when you see a neon shoe as well as the facade for the old Concha Hotel, which is now the visitor center. I've been going to Las Vegas for years but this is the first time I had the pleasure of visiting this museum. I would definitely recommend it to other visitors as well. Enjoy!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    202
    72
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A trip down Vegas history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As a photography and Vegas history buff I've been looking forward to checking out the Neon Museum for at least my last 2 or 3 trips. Previously it was just the 'boneyard' but with the new renovations and the new Customer Service center building that just opened last fall the new Neon Museum and Boneyard are a must see. Tickets need to be purchased online, and then on the date of your tour just show up about 15 to 30 minutes before your start time. The tour itself takes about an hour or so, and you'll learn tons of interesting stuff both about the hotels that at one point held the signage and about the Vegas history surrounding them. Bring a camera, and comfy shoes, as you'll be strolling around, and standing around while your tour guide goes over fun facts of the various artifacts. For the $15 price - which is a 'donation' to the center it's absolutely worth it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited the museum in mid November on a 10.00am tour. Getting there was quite straight forward. We were advised to get a cab as the area you walk in isn't a tourist area and quite run down,,,we didnt; we caught a bus down town (approx 30 mins) and walked which took us 10 minutes on N Las Vegas BLVD. Admittedly the area isnt great we saw a few street homeless people who surely must fear us more, they did not approach us. We came across some needles nearby the museum (just be aware of that for walking purposes). Not concerned about the area and the weather was great we also decided to walked back.To be honest we found the tour time we picked a tad too early, being a little hungover we got up later than intended so were a bit rushed skipping breakfast. We arrived a few minutes early (dont be late as you will miss your tour) and very dehydrated lol (take water with you). The tour is based outdoors so would be very hot in summer visits. Our guide was great and really informative giving us plenty of photo opportunities without rushing us. It really is amazing to see all the signs and to listen to the history and stories behind them and it is great to know how they are rescuing and restoring some of these iconic "landmarks" which you will see dotted around Vegas. Heading downtown afterwards with greater insight into the history of it is a must. My partner wasn't keen on going but was really glad he did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Tour/Attraction in Vegas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is hands-down THE BEST attraction/tour in Vegas! Check out Groupon or LivingSocial for discounted tickets. I believe my girlfriend paid $36 for two people. I would have definitely paid more. The money goes to the Neon Museum non-profit org to refurbish the neon signs from "old" Vegas. It is a true time machine. Their goal is to "light up" as many signs as possible and hopefully run evening/nighttime tours in Summer 2013. The tour runs approximately one hour...it is guided by volunteers who are true subject matter experts on the history and art of neon signs. Be sure to bring your close-toed shoes, as there is broken glass lying around. I took hundreds of pictures here. My friends took pictures of individual letters to make a beautiful collage of their last name for framing. If you are a history buff, or simply appreciate art, this is the tour for you. This is a must-see for any Vegas vacation. I'll go back each time I visit Vegas!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Las Vegas History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The docent led hour long tours are informative. It is interesting to learn about Las Vegas History and see all the old signs. It is a tour I would highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Neon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Neon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.