We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samosa Factory - CLOSED

Samosa Factory
4604 W Sahara Ave, Suite 6, Las Vegas, NV 89102
(702) 258-9196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kensington, CT
Top Contributor
601 reviews 601 reviews
532 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Tough chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This casual, 9-table restaurant was busy on this Thursday evening, but we lucked out by securing a table. The owner provided menus with us choosing to share orders of lamb spinach, butter chicken and Kashmiri naan. The lamb was tender, but the spinach was on the runny side. The chicken in the butter chicken was on the tough side. Overall our meal was pretty good, but a notch below the best so our search for a great Indian restaurant in Las Vegas continues.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cancel your trip to India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

For anyone who likes Indian cuisine this restaurant will certainly satisfy you. My grown son and I had what I believe is among the BEST Indian cuisine in Las Vegas. The location is unimposing as it is in a strip mall bordering the large shopping district at Sahara and Decatur here in Las Vegas. My son had their Shrimp Vindaloo which is a spiced shrimp curry while I had their Lamb Biryani. We started our meal off with their Masala Fries which was masala spiced potatoes with cilantro served with a special dipping sauce. These were delicious. My son who has not had Indian cuisine prior to this was totally satisfied with his shrimp which is served with rice. We split an order of the garlic nan……the best. Meanwhile MY Lamb Biryani was ENORMOUS and we had to take half of it home which my son enjoyed the following day. A good testimony was the fact that repeat customers kept coming in and either sat down to eat or ordered something to take out. Prices were low and quality was high.
If you decide to visit Samosa Factory do not be put off by the fact that it is in a strip mall and not in a casino. The food was great!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NO FLAVOR! OKAY SERVICE! DON'T GO!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you haven't eaten Indian food before you can go here because you won't be able to tell the difference anyway. This place is small and not that clean. The food is moderately priced but it has no flavor. Its like dropping a few chunks of chicken or shrimp into the curry.

There is one guy serving the whole restaurant. He is probably the owner and trying to cut corners. I totally respect that but that's not the best way for servicing customers. We ordered our food extra spicy. It wasn't spicy at all, it was just plain hot. The spices didn't get inside any of the chicken or the shrimp so it was just white inside.

The garlic naan is really good. The rice is just white plain rice no seasoning. The portions are full of vegetables and no meat. So even if you order a dish to yourself you won't be full. I rarely ever write bad reviews about any restaurant but the quality of food, service and portions is just below any Indian restaurants I have ever been to. Me and my wife wont there and even she (caucasian) throught it was flavorless!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delicious! Plus the owner was so helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We are somewhat familiar with Indian cuisine, but many times are afraid to try new menu items or are uncomfortable asking "what is that?".

We were enthralled to find The Samosa Factory on W. Sahara! The owner was so helpful with his suggestions. We particularly loved the saag (palak) paneer (the best I have ever had.), chicken tikka masala and a wonderful fresh spinach dish. The best was a tandoori bread stuffed with raisins and nuts. The owner described it as "poptarts for adults" and he was right! MY teens particularly liked the lassi (mango and spiced).

There are many vegetarian and vegan offerings, so any one can come and have a wonderful meal. Finally, this meal was also the best quality dinner we had while in Vegas and by far the least expensive!

wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Healthy Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Awsome Place to Take your Taste Bud's for a Treat.Chef Rick Prepares Everything from Scratch If you Like Indian Food you will Love this Place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samosa Factory also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samosa Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.