We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cultural experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort

Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort
500 East Washington Avenue, at Las Vegas Blvd. North, Las Vegas, NV 89158 (Downtown)
702 486 3511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 685 things to do in Las Vegas
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by missionaries in 1855, this fort is considered the birthplace of Las Vegas.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice cultural experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Took my boys to see this, only a handful of other patrons, front desk clerk was very informative and helpful, nice place to for reading and experiencing how people lived in the old west, children under 5 would be bored but my boys liked the fort gate, the wagon and the rustic look

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Field Trip for Cub Scouts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

There isn't a ton to see or do here, but the cost is only $1 and it is a great place to take Cub Scouts for a Nevada History field trip. One event that I NEVER miss at the Fort is Nevadaween (the last Saturday of October). The fort is full of pioneer games and activities for the kids...butter making, soap making, Civil War battles, etc. The cost is ridiculously low and you could easily spend 3 - 4 hours with the kids there.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg,canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying in old Vegas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Being a person always staying on the strip I was really shocked hoe much I would like staying here. We went with people who had a 13 month old and it was perfect . It was 105 and they could handle it we stayed at the golden nugget and I would say it was great tried to get an up grade but that didn't't happen maybe next time coming from wpg. To Phoenix then Vegas expect a bit more

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

It has good information and relics of the history of the LDS church in Las Vegas. There is no proselytism. There is a good video that explains things. You take yourself on a self tour, basically.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Interesting history of Las Vegas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

For $2 admission, you can't go wrong! As non-gamblers, we were happy to spend our time here rather than in the casinos. Also, your $2 goes much further and for a worthier cause than on the slot machines. If more people visit (we were the only ones there) then maybe they could fix the heating/ventilation ducts that clanged every time the system kicked in.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort also viewed

 

Been to Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.