We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Rock: Turtlehead Walk/Scamble 5 Feb 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area

Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area
3205 Nevada 159, Las Vegas, NV 89161
702-515-5350
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area like an insider
Special Offer
$74*
and up
Red Rock Canyon Tour
Ranked #1 of 685 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Mountain biking, Rock climbing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors can admire colorful rock formations on several hiking trails or on a 13-mile scenic drive.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Red Rock: Turtlehead Walk/Scamble 5 Feb 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arrived nice and early 8:45am ,thought we'd give this 5 mile 2000 feet route a go, we could always turn back, started well but always uphil, as discribed a difficult accent, where it gets steep and rough with many trails the higher you go. we are both in our fifties not terribly fit but got up in 3 hours 10 minutes taking our time and admiring the views. Spent 50 minutes at the top talking to other walkers before decending which although quicker 2 hours, was equally difficult again due to mutiple rough paths near the top, we had a walking pole each which proved invaluable. We took a litre bottle of water each, and although we managed, it was not enough really.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,048
    1,711
    279
    40
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you like to hike or enjoy seeing nature's beauty, then this is a must stop. You can drive the loop to so many hikes that you could spend weeks here and not do the same hike. The rocks are truly red & spectacular!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GRAND CANYON!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I saw on tv grand canyon many many many times, but being at the same place.......I recommend a visit to grand caryon for sure1!!!!! Its one of the nature's miracle

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The mountains are stunning. There are different hikes that you can do and ranges from easy to hard. We did the White Rock La Madre spring loop hike and it wasn't so bad. It took us longer than expected but it was worth it. The la Madre spring is another 0.5 miles hike off the trail. It is OK to miss this spring. It looks like a sewer with clean water and it's not worth walking 0.5 miles uphill. We did not see big horned sheep as well. If you plan to go in the afternoon, make sure that you do the short hike and bring a sweater, it gets cold after 4:30.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful, natural scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you like rocks or the color red, this is a must-see. But seriously, it is very cool. The 13 mile drive has some amazing sights and you should take a look during those long days in Las Vegas while you are waiting to see shows and eat dinner. If you are into hiking or rock climbing, this is also THE place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.