We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you go here - all the others aren't even close.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnival World Buffet

Carnival World Buffet
3700 West Flamingo Road, Rio Suite Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, NV 89103 (Paradise)
(702) 777-7757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #718 of 4,078 Restaurants in Las Vegas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night Food, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Paradise
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Once you go here - all the others aren't even close.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just happened to arrive at Rio for gambling fun but we were also hungry. We decided to go eat at their buffet before trying some slot machines. Well - were we ever surprised.!! Not only was the price right, but there was so much variety of every kind of food that we had a tough time deciding what to try next. The service was very good. We got our drinks immediately. Everything was labelled and looked fresh and scrumptious. Everything was hot and wonderful. The size of this buffet is twice as long and big as any of the other ones we tried on the strip. (we tried many)All the food was so good that we really had to be careful. We definitely got our money's worth here ... and then some.! We would return here first before considering any other place to dine while staying in Vegas area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    373
    236
    97
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polk City, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Was much better last month - crab legs weren't very good this month”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I ate at this restaurant for dinner 2 times last month and brought a couple friends 1 time this month and it just wasn't as good as last month. The restaurant was still clean and appeared to be well run regarding paying and getting seated for dinner, but the service was bad....well actually we had NO service through the whole meal. We saw the server when we sat down and got 2 glasses of water and didn't see her again until we were finished with our meal and dessert 1 1/2 hours later. The server finally came by at "tip time" to ask if we needed anything else. We told her, yes, we would've liked more water 1 hour earlier while we were eating our meal and we would've liked our plates cleaned off through the meal and we would've liked a cup of coffee with our dessert 1/2 hour earlier but now that we were leaving after sitting for 1 1/2 hours not seeing her during that time it was too late. The people at the table on the right of us clapped and the table behind us said "yah, we wanted coffee too - 1/2 hour ago". So, guess we weren't the only ones who thought the service wasn't so hot. Regarding the food....it was still pretty good, well presented, all serving areas were kept clean but the crab legs were lame and all the good dishes like the shrimp and prime rib were gone the whole time we went up to get some. When we asked if there would be more, we were told come back and there would be some....didn't happen. Oh well. I'll try this buffet again next visit to Vegas and hope they are back to the way they were last month. Good luck...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Never seen so much selection for a buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The only other buffet that we managed to get to in Vegas was the Le Village Buffet at the Paris Hotel. My husband and I purchased the buffet pass and we ate 3 meals here (we were staying at the Rio) and 1 meal at the Paris hotel. The buffet at Rio definitely had more selection (i.e. Asian, Mexican etc). Definitely you can not try everything in one sitting. The line up was very minimal - about 5 min wait. However, we were there usually late or early for the meals. However, my feeling is that compared to the other buffets in the same chain of hotels, the Rio buffets' lines are less since it is off the strip. Service was good in that it was attentive. The décor is so-so. It's fine but nothing spectacular (Paris had nicer décor).

The dessert selection was good but I was disappointed with the taste of the desserts. Similar to the Paris buffet, the desserts looked more appetizing than their taste. The gelato was probably the best tasting dessert there. They even had coconut flavor which I love.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Best buffet hands down. Champagne included with brunch. Food is delish. Unending variety. I was very very satisfied. :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Used to be one of the best, not anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite places to get a Las Vegas food "coma", but not any longer. We didn't even get "stuffed". The quality has gone way down. I couldn't even chew my prime rib, I tried 2 bites and gave up, and it was just put on the board. Considering the price of this buffet, chose another like Planet Hollywood's buffet, where the cost has increased a few dollars, but still better than this. True, it's a large scale buffet, but bigger doesn't equate better. The only good thing, was the service. We won't be back, even though we can get it comped.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnival World Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Carnival World Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnival World Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.