We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall

Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Street, Jean, NV 89019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jean
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will never stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Check in was very slow. Room was very dirty. Carpet stains, cigarette burns on bed spread, mold in bathroom, faucet and toilet had hard water stains, rust, etc. Could not wait to leave. Could not wait to leave, did not sleep well. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    34
    23
    16
See reviews for
18
49
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was a quick over night stop on our way to the Grand Canyon. We too have stayed in Primm and found it crowded and unbelievably dirty. We took a chance and made reservations for the Gold Strike, in Jean. We got in rather late but the ladies at the desk were very friendly. Our room was very inexpensive so I was concerned. We were very pleased with our large room! It probably had two beds in it at one time, but there was only one queen and a great chair and ottoman to lounge in. No tub, just a shower, but the bathroom was clean. We were surprised that the slots still give coins! If you need a room out in the Vegas, State Line area I would recommend this hotel. Easy parking, place to eat and a clean room, at a great price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice place to stop. I use to stop at Primm but found the Hotels very dirty. This was a nice change. Staff was friendly, room was nice.Plenty of parking. They still have coin machines which took me back. Everyone seemed happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice pool. Nice free red bull energy drinks. Free arcade games. Free room from time to time. free winnings at the nickle slots. All you can eat for less then a price of a combo meal at a fast food joint.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I loved the old casino machines and the free drinks are awesome! Our room was quiet and clean. Although we did have a plumbing problem at 1 am it was quickly resolved and we were comped 2 buffets and the 25 room. The pool looked very nice although I didn't get to swim but i will next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the South
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have no problem with "out of the way" places (and we did not stay there, so I am not speaking of the hotel). I do not think that this is a casino I would want to frequent. They were NOT busy when we were there, though I saw not one cocktail waitress. They also still have COIN payouts. WHY? Who wants that?

The only other things around were a Justice Court, a post office (? heard there were no real residents of Jean) and a women's penal facility.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Well - the Gold Strike. My wife and I have stayed here several times. I've got to tell you, first off - if you're looking for a fancy hotel, this ain't it! If you're looking for a good value with nice service, read on!

Staying at the Gold Strike - this place is a real value. On busy weekends in Las Vegas, often on holiday weekends, you can find a decent, clean room for $50-55. The check-in staff is very helpful. The lines to check in are rarely long. How many major hotels in Las Vegas can say that? The rooms - aye, got to tell you - nothing fancy here. Beds are less than average - box springs. Televisions are nice but no flat screens to be found. Nice chair with ottoman. Nice big room, two bedside tables. Bathroom - nothing fancy. Hair dryers are there but iffy. Showers are fine. Rooms are fine and average. Housekeeping service - nice people. Willing to give you whatever you need for supplies. I wish the North Tower was open still - it had better views. South Towers have views of a non-descipt pool and an oddly small parking lot - huge parking lots elsewhere, though. Must be views of the desert on the other side.

Casino - first of all, like everything at the Gold Strike, dated and smokey. But is there a a true non-smoking room in Nevada? The service in the casino is very good - nice, friendly people that seem glad you're there! We've encountered some of the dealers before and some remember and greet us warmly. Not a lot of slots but some of everything. Wish they had craps on Tuesday through Thursday but such is life. They used to have more slots and have a lot of space in the west side of the casino that could occupy more slots. Low limits on roulette make that fun.

Buffet - okay, we're back at the average level here. It kind of matches the rooms - adequate but nice service. Reasonably priced. The fried chicken is good. The prime rib is better than you'd expect - pretty good, really! Good potatoes, good desserts that could be better.

Parking lots, big, close to the casino but there is consistently broken glass near the building in the parking lot facing the highway. There is, however, a nice grassy area there if you want to give your a dog a quick walk. Speaking of walking, I think a great walk or jogging path if you're looking for some exercise would all the way around the parking lot. No joke - for a hotel of this small to average size, the parking lot is huge!

Comps - this place gives some of the best comps in the Las Vegas area. You earn points and free nights pretty quickly and the reservations agents are very helpful. Also, the cashiers are very nice.

Last, and possibly least, they have free video games including Galaga and Ms. Pac Man for you 80's fans out there.

I'd recommend the Gold Strike we almost always at least stop there - good place to go.

Room Tip: Not sure if there's a really good room at the Gold Strike but they are clean, in my experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 1 Main Street, Jean, NV 89019
Location: United States > Nevada > Jean
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 812
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Strike Jean
Gold Strike Hotel And Gambling Hall Jean, Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.