We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shop around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Star Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added West Star Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Star Hotel and Casino
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Highway 93 & Poker St., Box 775, Jackpot, NV 89825   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save $$$
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Jackpot
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shop around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If price and you're just looking for a place to crash for the night are the most important thing, this will work. If you shop around and see something for a few dollars more and you can spare the money, you might want to spend the money. This place is about 10 years (or more) beyond needing an update. The buildings colors outside, the carpet in the halls/rooms, the furniture, and the bar/casino all need updated. The bed was lumpy but I still slept well. The room was large. I did not fear for my life like another reviewer. If I would have went to Cactus Pete's website (not on priceline) and saw their room was $20-$30 more I may have went that route. To be fair, the staff was nothing but friendly and helpful. I barely heard my neighbors, the building had better soundproofing than many other hotels I've stayed in. My room had coffee, flat screen TV, and plenty of soaps/shampoos. If you are on a tight budget, this place is acceptable.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. We use these comments to improve and upgrade the facility. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When checking in the hotel did not have our reservation. We showed the person at the desk our print out receipt showing the room had been paid for as well as the contact information with the vendor we booked the room with. We were told we would need to use our credit card, and latter they would see if they could work it out. Not wanting to be charged twice from the lobby I called the booking agent and they called the hotel, in a few moments we were allowed to check in without our card being charged. No idea why the front desk would not have done this, as no one else was checking in at the time. We felt this lack of wanting to help set a bad tone and poorly represented the property. We did find the rooms to be dated, but clean and no issues. on the night we stayed only 5 other cars parked in the lot, so we had a quiet stay. Once front desk is properly trained and focused on the client the property can receive better reviews

Room Tip: Off the road so no noise from traffic. Stayed on 3rd floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am sorry that there was confusion at check in and the inconvenience to you. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was in Jackpot City after a long drive , checked in at the West Star Hotel, stayed in the town for 2 nights , the room was very well kept and maintained and clean.The king size beds were comfortable . The staff was very friendly and even gave me extra pillows and towels late in the nite and of course cannot forget the coffee.

Since it was my first visit to Jackpot , the front desk helped me a lot with their good knowledge about the area , to sum it up It was a good value for money. I have to visit Jackpot city again in July and have made my reservations with them already. If you value your money and are looking for good sleep and decent place , then I would surely recommend this motel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your review is so important to us as we work to offer great services and comfortable accommodations. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The walls in the bath room were dirty the ceiling over the bed had something on it! It was just yucky! The front desk wasn't knowledgeable about check in! Won't go again! This was our get away from the kids and I will go to cactus Pete's next time

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I am so sorry that your accommodations were not as clean as expected. I will forward your comments to the manager so corrections can be made. We apologize for the inconvenience to you. We do appreciate our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

this place is horrible. I would not suggest anyone even with a animal staying here. We never slept all night. people running thru halls, banging on walls and at 3 am we heard two pops which sounding like gun shots and then the police arrived. we packed up by 4 exhausted and hit the road which made for a long day driving.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments, the items you mentioned are not typical of our facility. We apologize for the inconvenience of being disturbed with noise. Your comments are important so we know of this experience from the guest point of view.
We are a safe hotel, please give us another chance to show you we are a good place to stay.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Trying to save a few bucks for just a one night stay, we took a chance on the West Star based on previous reviews and were not impressed. Basically, we couldn't get past the horrible carpet in our room. It may have been actually clean, but was incredibly stained all over. The rest of the room was acceptably clean. Since prices are not online I called ahead, but when we showed up were quoted a higher price. Ended up paying $55+tax. Can't see how it could be rated better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Public Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have a new owner and improvements are ongoing. Your comments and concerns are very important to our success. We will address the issues that you mentioned.
We appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Have stayed here in the past as they take dogs and stopped again out of habit. Pleasantly surprised as under new management and has been upgraded with flat screen T.V., refrigerators and free WiFi. Our room newly painted and spruced up. Pleasant staff and very clean. Stayed one night on way to Ca. and again on the way home a week later. Good value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your return visits. Our new owners and management is upgrading to make the property clean and comfortable with great customer service.
Your business is important to us and is appreciated.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Star Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Star Hotel and Casino

Address: Highway 93 & Poker St., Box 775, Jackpot, NV 89825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Jackpot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Jackpot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Star Hotel and Casino 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your West Star Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Star Hotel Jackpot
West Star Motel
West Star Hotel And Casino Jackpot, Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Star Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.