We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you like gambling and can tolerate smoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Petes Resort Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cactus Petes Resort Casino to your Saves list
Cactus Petes Resort Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 Highway 93, PO Box 508, Jackpot, NV 89825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Jackpot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place if you like gambling and can tolerate smoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms at Cactus Pete's are great, particularly the recently remodeled Granite Range (3 story building) and make a nice stop for travelers. The casino has all the games you would expect, but is otherwise sub-par by Vegas standards, especially the air (non) filtration system. The Horseshoe is another story however. It's old, the rooms small and badly in need of renovation, or better still, demolition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    87
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
47
142
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I live in Boise, ID, a short 170 mile drive to Jackpot, NV (45 miles South of Twin Falls, ID). My wife is a hemodialysis patient who needs to be within range of her home dialysis center for treatments (otherwise, it's a lot of arrangements for a longer trip). While there are other resort/casinos with in a two-day stay of Boise, Cactus Pete's is our number 1 choice.

First and foremost is the hospitality and genuine "we are glad to see you" welcome we receive. This, combined with four-star amenities and some great room choices make Cactus Pete's a regular getaway for us. (My favorite are the 10th floor spa suites in the Towers.)

The selection of "slot machines" at Cactus Pete's is wonderful! I am not a table game player, so the opportunity to try my luck on a great variety of fun to play (and relatively inexpensive) machines is great fun. We are not big gamblers, but we always have fun. The machines pay well, and we have had some occassions when we have come home with more money that we left with. Even when we don't, it was a good time.

The Food at Cactus Pete's is outstanding. Great quality and attention to detail is always there, no matter if it is the Pizza Hut for a quick snack, or the Plateau Room for fine, gormet dining. (I was raised in the restaurant business, and I know what I'm talking about here!) The Desert Room is our regular stop, for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The service is impeccible as well.

Entertainment at Cactus Pete's may seem a bit limited if you are from Las Vegas, but it is great fun. Our favorite band, Paul Revere and the Raiders, appear at least once a year. We never miss them.

We consider Cactus Pete's a great place to getaway to once every two-months or so. For 20 years and counting, it's been one of our favorite places.

Room Tip: I advise you plan to stay at the Granite Range or Tower Rooms. The Horseshu Hotel across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

outstanding rooms, at lease in the tower. huge towels, great shower, well furnished rooms. great beds, big HDTV. Very quite. Casino nice but machines are a little tight. They also have some pretty good shows.

Room Tip: Choose a Tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I injured myself and needed a Band-Aid and ideally some hydrogen peroxide and/or antibiotic cream like Neosporin. (I tripped next to the hot tub and skinned my leg quite badly.) There wasn't anything like that in the gift shop so we asked the front desk for a fist aid kit. They were rude and said security had to bring it up to our room. They were pretty quick, but they only brought us 2 lemon-scented hand wipes and 1 scented antibacterial hand wipe- neither I could use. You would think a big casino like that would have something more appropriate to offer their customers in need of medical attention. Or at least sell it in their gift shop for triple the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Horseshu is now part of the Ameristar chain with Cactus Pete's. The rate was alot lower and so we choose it. It is across the street from the resort and very nice on the outside. We have stayed at Ameristar's before which are usually outstanding. We noticed some of the Ameristar touches at the Horseshu with quality linens and amenities. The bed however....they need to upgrade the beds soon. Like sitting on a stadium bench, very hard. No box springs just a box. We would most likely stay at the resort next time until they got all the upgrades done at the Horseshu. You register at the resort and we got a players card first for a better rate. Since I am a veteran the players club host told me to mention during check in and I recieved another $10.00 off the room rate. One of the lowest cost rooms of our trip. Guess we can have that hard bed for one night.

Room Tip: Ask if they have gotten all the Ameristar upgrades done and have replaced the brick hard beds. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The 2 Q room we had was so wonderful.. The sheets were so comfortable. Don't know what kind they were. There was plenty of room, big HDTV and the showerhead was fabulous! We almost stayed another day just to be so comfortable but, had to finish our trip. Really nice place.

Room Tip: 8th floor ..2 rooms from elevator. Heard no noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Cactus Petes while on a road trip to California. After some initial difficulty finding the check-in desk, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facility. Our room was spacious and well-apointed. Staff were helpful and friendly. In the cafe, our server and the keno lady were both fun and added to our pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for visiting! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus Petes Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Petes Resort Casino

Address: 1385 Highway 93, PO Box 508, Jackpot, NV 89825
Location: United States > Nevada > Jackpot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Jackpot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cactus Petes Resort Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Cactus Petes Resort Casino in Jackpot, Nevada features a 296-room luxury hotel, as well as a 26,000-square-foot live action casino. Guests can enjoy one of five enticing dining options, go for a swim in the Olympic sized pool, or relax at the Jackpot 18-hole golf course. Don’t miss the Summer Outdoor Concert Series at Cactus Petes. This event is held in the 4,000-seat amphitheater and draws legendary musicians for all to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cactus Petes Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Petes Jackpot
Cactus Petes Hotel Jackpot
Cactus Petes Resort Casino Jackpot, Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Petes Resort Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.