We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped by on the way to Yellowstone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Petes Resort Casino

Save Saved
You added Cactus Petes Resort Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cactus Petes Resort Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 Highway 93, PO Box 508, Jackpot, NV 89825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Jackpot
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Stopped by on the way to Yellowstone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There isn't much to do in Jackpot, but Cactus Petes is a great place to stay. The rooms have plenty of space and the beds are good, It was also very quiet in the rooms. Went to the dinner buffet which had a selection to make anyone have a full belly, The staff there is great and friendly. It seemed that Cactus Petes is more a a regional casino and hotel with a lot of the people there from the area. By far the best place in Jackpot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for stopping in to see us and for sharing your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    69
    25
    18
    12
See reviews for
40
116
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

stayed in tower room which had recently been remolded. room was clean, bed was ok. flat screen tv. coffee maker. a very good value room. casino is nice with lots of gaming, two nice restaurents, and a buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This casino/hotel was a very pleasant experience! If tripadvisor had a higher rating than 5.....like 10 that's what I'd rate this facility! All of the staff was beyond helpful and gracious....the best I've ever experienced at any resort facility.....really!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We couldn't be more excited to hear this! Thanks for sharing your review and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gooding, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

You have several choices for meals. The Canyon Cove has a beautiful buffet with everything you can think of and Friday evenings they offer all you can eat seafood for those of us that are landlocked. The Desert Room has a variety of meals and service is fast. If you want to dress up and have cocktail dining in a dim lit environment they have The Plateau Room and if you don't mind walking across the street there is Poncho Villa's with an excellent Mexican Grill.
The room accommodations are very nice. You can have a suite overlooking the pool or a room near the casino.

Room Tip: All the newly remodeled rooms are very nice and comfortable. The beds are super nice. We enjoyed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm glad you enjoy all of our dining options. Thanks for being our guest and for sharing your review - we're getting hungry just reading it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Reserved 2 rooms for Sammy Hagar and Whitesnake concert. Front desk upgraded us to corner rooms across from each other for $20 each. Rooms were in perfect condition, paint, carpet, bedspreads, lamps and flat screen tv. Bathroom was clean. The only thing negative was the moldy smell coming from the drain. It needed Drano in the sink and tub. Our sisters room across the hall was the same way. Even though it was a busy Sunday because of the concert, it never felt too crowded. Good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade. If you don't get a free one, it won't be much more and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm glad your party had a great time and enjoyed your upgrade. We appreciate your feedback and I'll have our team look into that issue. Thanks for sharing your reviews and for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here Sammy Hagar/Whitesnake weekend.
Very happy with our stay. Had never been here before.
I only played slots and really broke even and my money lasted a long time. Even when it got crowded, i had no Real trouble getting a machine..It was just very noisy.
Other then that busy concert time, at no time did i experience what others did, with Drink servers ignoring me or taking forever with drinks. They were very nice and fast and they appreciated my tips. It made me feel like people don't tip them. Swimming pool was great although a little crowded as concert people started to show up. oh well, it's to be expected. I will return...I had fun.
I LOVED that they had a Quality Band on non-concert days, sometimes you just need a break from gambling...lots of dancers!! BRAVO Cactus Petes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It's great to hear you enjoyed your first visit with us! Thanks for sharing your experience; we'll pass your feedback along to our team and we are happy you enjoyed our live music. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a last minute trip to jackpot because was last of our vacation time. Stayed in a suite last time but this time they could only find us an average room. Not happy. Guess the people there for the concert were more important then people that have been goin there for a lifetime. Oh well....my money can be spent closer to home as I live in idaho falls, idaho. Fort hall is not far and the machines pay better. Will probably not return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear this. When we have large concert events, rooms sell out quickly; I apologize that we couldn't accommodate your room request. We do value your feedback and thank you for being our guest. We hope you reconsider and come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cactus Petes Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Petes Resort Casino

Address: 1385 Highway 93, PO Box 508, Jackpot, NV 89825
Location: United States > Nevada > Jackpot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Jackpot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cactus Petes Resort Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Cactus Petes Resort Casino in Jackpot, Nevada features a 296-room luxury hotel, as well as a 26,000-square-foot live action casino. Guests can enjoy one of five enticing dining options, go for a swim in the Olympic sized pool, or relax at the Jackpot 18-hole golf course. Don’t miss the Summer Outdoor Concert Series at Cactus Petes. This event is held in the 4,000-seat amphitheater and draws legendary musicians for all to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cactus Petes Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Petes Jackpot
Cactus Petes Hotel Jackpot
Cactus Petes Resort Casino Jackpot, Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Petes Resort Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.